22 March 2013
Review

We test the new Aston Martin Rapide S, putting the revised car through its paces and revealing what's changed from the previous generation.

Join the debate

Comments
7

23 March 2013

I have to say, when I saw photographs of the changes made to the front grill, I was horrified, but the video footage of the car on the move give a different, more attractive front end and I now think it was a success. 

As for that engine, well, it is magnificent! A NA 6.0 L V12 with 550bhp is very impressive, sounds glorious and allows this car to have that dual purpose.

Its by far the best in its class. 

23 March 2013

I've covered a lot of miles in the DBS, which is a lovely motor with a good solid 'agricultural' manual gearbox which, is my preference in GT cars.  Shame the interior, across the range, still looks awful IMO. The dials and buttons have always been a bit of a let down: too many small buttons, poorly laid out and there's something about the dials that has never appealed to me. 

The overall architecture of the interior is fantastic, but everythng else could do with a radical overhaul; vents, buttons, dials, steering wheel, stalks etc... everything!

In spite of my criticisms, and having driven every other car in this sector, the DBS still remains my fantasy 'lottery win' daily driver and and maybe the Rapide S should I need to go shopping...in the South of France.  There's just something about the big British GT that no other car can replicate. 

23 March 2013

And that is some car!

(couldn't they just pop an extra 2-3 inches into the wheelbase though to make it a more realistic saloon?)

 

 

You're not stuck in traffic - you are traffic!!

TBC

24 March 2013

Never having driven, sat in, or even seen a Rapide, it is difficult to clearly praise or critcise it. However, having read several reports, the common critisism seems to be the lack of space in the rear. This would lead one to believe that the car is marketed at those with a young family, but, at that price point, this market segment, one would assume, is relatively small. As others have pointed out, a longer wheelbase, or better use of interior space could push the Rapide into the 'sporting limo' market, and thus improve sales.

24 March 2013

Always thought the Rapide was one of the better looking Astons, but not anymore - because of that big gob!

Cyborg

28 March 2013

Doesn't do it any favours, make the front look ordinary,like a French car?,a dark Blue,Green even would be better.

Peter Cavellini.

31 March 2013

But what's the point?  Are buyers in this market looking for oversteer (cheap) or technology and refinement (expensive)?

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Lexus LC500
    Car review
    20 October 2017
    Futuristic Lexus LC coupé mixes the latest technology with an old-school atmospheric V8
  • Maserati Levante S GranSport
    First Drive
    20 October 2017
    Get ready to trade in your diesels: Maserati’s luxury SUV finally gets the engine it’s always needed
  • Jaguar XF Sportbrake TDV6
    First Drive
    19 October 2017
    The handsome Jaguar XF Sportbrake exhibits all the hallmarks that makes the saloon great, and with the silky smooth diesel V6 makes it a compelling choice
  • Volkswagen T-Roc TDI
    First Drive
    19 October 2017
    Volkswagen's new compact crossover has the looks, the engineering and the build quality to be a resounding success, but not with this diesel engine
  • BMW M550i
    First Drive
    19 October 2017
    The all-paw M550i is a fast, effortless mile-muncher, but there's a reason why it won't be sold in the UK

Latest videos