Mazda MX-5 - front
Motorsport

Opinion: If you're in search of cheap thrills, head for the hills

Motorsport is generally a pricey hobby, but not if you go hillclimbing

23 October 2020
Mercedes-Benz A-Class - front
Merc is scaling back after expanding hugely through small cars
Tester’s notes

Matt Prior: Car makers should prioritise profit not volume

Mercedes is making the right moves in trimming its whopping 36 model lines. It's just a shame that the cost is the manual gearbox

23 October 2020
Michael Schumacher helmet
Mick Schumacher gifts a helmet of his father’s to Hamilton
Motorsport

Racing Lines: Why GOAT discussions lead to plenty of bleating

After equalling Michael Schumacher's win record with Nürburgring victory, is Lewis Hamilton the greatest ever?

22 October 2020
Land Rovers
Test included Defender P400
New cars

Steve Cropley: In defence of being a car journalist

Our man sometimes has his doubts about the utility of his trade, but this week's fare convinces him we have our uses

21 October 2020
Fernando Alonso
Alonso has tried all sorts since leaving F1 at 2018’s end
Motorsport

Opinion: Return of the racing all-rounders

Fernando Alonso is showing the benefits of drivers switching codes

16 October 2020
Whizzo Williams
Whizzo Williams never much fancied racing retirement
Tester’s notes

Matt Prior: How soon is too soon to call it a day in motor racing?

Hang up your helmet after one F1 title if you like, but our man prefers indomitables like Whizzo Williams

16 October 2020
Red Bull F1 car
Honda’s involvement in F1 stretches from 1964 to the Red Bulls of today
Motorsport

Racing lines: F1 faces existential crisis after shock Honda exit

Engine manufacturer's withdrawal adds to a growing list of concerns over the sport's future

15 October 2020
Articles list continues below advertisements
Ford Focus Active - front
Focus Active was a rescuer whose stay was too brief
New cars

Steve Cropley: Two Fords, two winners from the Blue Oval

Our man enjoyed a whirl in two new Fords and an even better garage

14 October 2020
Tommi Makinen
Motorsport

Mäkinen has the Midas touch in WRC

As Toyota brings its World Rally Championship effort in-house, what does the future hold for Tommi?

9 October 2020
AMG Saloon - rear
Tester’s notes

Matt Prior: Why executive AMGs go the distance

Yes, they can cut it on the track, but cutting miles is their real strength

9 October 2020
BARC
The BARC also runs Thruxton, along with Croft and Pembrey
Motorsport

Racing lines: The racing club bearing the cost of Covid

The British Automobile Racing Club (BARC) runs more than 30 of the UK’s best racing series, but for how much longer?

8 October 2020
Bentley Mulsanne - front
New cars

Steve Cropley: The Bentley Mulsanne remains a choice vintage

Although there are signs of it showing its age

7 October 2020

Pages

Advertisement
Advertisement

Find an Autocar car review

Advertisement

New car news

Motorsport news

Jenson Button
"It’s not just my name on the side of the truck. I enjoy being involved"
Motorsport

Jenson Button on life after F1, sim racing and being a TV pundit

24 October 2020

First drives