17 November 2011
Review

The new BMW 3-series improves on its predecessor in every quantifiable way, but can it deliver the driver reward that BMW is famous for? Steve Sutcliffe drives the 2012 BMW 328i to find out.

Read our BMW 3-series first drive review

Join the debate

Comments
3

23 January 2013

I think it looks great, Smile a bit impractical perhaps but it never hurt coupes to be impractical. Reminds me of the Audi Steppenwolf concept of a few years back.

Really bold design and the interior is better than i expected too.Smile

31 May 2013

The new 3 series looks angry: "get out of my way,  don't you know I'm running late." I would feel uncomfortable if I sighted the new 3 in my rearview mirror and would either move out of the way or rush to the nearest BMW dealer and buy my own king of the road. This car certainly has far more character than its predecessor. I must congratulate BMW Design in conjuring an imaginative new look.

I personally would go for the 335i because of the smoother engine. The opulence of driving is not to be compromised!

 

Velocity is poetry in motion. Steve Johnson.

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Caterham Seven 420R Donington Edition
    First Drive
    25 July 2017
    Limited-edition road-legal Caterham track car is a superbly enthralling drive, with enough creature comforts to be used on the road as well. Even more addictive than most of its rangemates
  • McLaren 570S Spider
    First Drive
    25 July 2017
    McLaren has created its most attainable drop-top by removing the roof from the 570S coupé, but none of the car's talent has come away with it
  • 2017 Range Rover Velar
    First Drive
    23 July 2017
    The Range Rover Velar is the most road-biased car Land Rover has made. So does it still feel like a proper part of the family?
  • Seat Ibiza
    Car review
    21 July 2017
    A model upon which Seat has staked its future, the new Ibiza must now deliver
  • Honda Clarity FCV
    Car review
    21 July 2017
    Honda’s fuel cell flagship reaches its second generation, but is the world ready?

Latest videos