18 May 2017
Review

The all-new Volvo XC60 has a touch act to follow. Remarkably, the old Volvo XC60 sold in greater numbers in 2016 than in any previous year, despite being a nine year old design and facing competition from the likes of the new Audi Q5 and Mercedes-Benz GLC, plus the Land Rover Discovery Sport and BMW X3.

But here is that all-new XC60, looking obviously new and yet reassuringly familiar at the same time. Beneath the skin it sits on the same platform as the XC90 and S and V90, so has a range of four-cylinder, 2-litre petrol and diesel engines. 

This is the 232bhp D5, which comes as standard with all-wheel drive and an eight-speed automatic gearbox. Find out what our tester Matt Prior thinks of Volvo's new 4x4 in the video above.

Join the debate

Comments
2

19 May 2017
That is what you say when you see one...another Volvo,not in a bad sense but in a respectful way,you may not like the brand,but you respect what it stands for,innovative,solid.

Peter Cavellini.

3 June 2017
It looks even worse moving than in photographs. A bit like a sinkhole. Which, if there were any justice, would more frequently open under jeeps. Volvo should stick to making cars, they produce such fine estates which are far superior to this crappy jeep.

I don't need to put my name here, it's on the left

 

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Vauxhall VXR8 GTS-R
    The VXR8 GTS-R is a limited-edition model that marks the demise of the V8-powered Vauxhall… probably forever
    First Drive
    22 August 2017
    There will only be 15 made, but is the GTS-R the final hurrah for the infectious Vauxhall VXR8? We've had an exclusive drive
  • Alfa Romeo Stelvio
    The new Alfa Romeo Stelvio. We've tested it on UK roads for the first time
    First Drive
    18 August 2017
    First tilt on UK roads reveals a chassis almost as absorbing as the Giulia’s, though the Stelvio’s comfort and quality levels may disappoint SUV clientele
  • Car review
    18 August 2017
    Amid a broader vRS refresh, Skoda has built its most powerful Octavia yet to take on the established order
  • Jaguar F-Type Convertible 2.0 i4 on the road
    First Drive
    16 August 2017
    Having been previously impressed by the agile four-cylinder F-Type, now is our chance to try it in the UK and in open-top form. But can this entry-level Jaguar sports car hold off the impressive Porsche Boxster?
  • Aston Martin V8 Vantage AMR
    The Aston Martin V8 Vantage AMR is a swansong for the Vantage - but the first model to sport the AMR title
    First Drive
    16 August 2017
    Aston Martin's swansong for its venerable Vantage sports car allows it to bow out with its head held high, yet the performance AMR sub-brand's first outing leaves you feeling short-changed

Latest videos