14 March 2018
Review

The new Mercedes-Benz CLS is here. Now in its third generation, the 2018 CLS continues where its forebears left off: a large coupe-like four door that competes with the Audi A7 and BMW 6 Series Gran Coupé.

Here, Matt Prior tests the range-topping model, the AMG 53, which features a new 3.0-litre six cylinder engine with not just a turbo, but an electric supercharger and a mild hybrid system too.

What’s it like? Fast, refined and, as we’ll see, not without a dose of AMG character. Would you pick one over its rivals? Click here to subscribe to Autocar's YouTube channel.

More content:

Why the Mercedes-Benz C300de could be the saviour of diesel

Mercedes-Benz A-Class starting price confirmed as £25,800

Join the debate

Comments
13

14 March 2018

A turbo, an electric supercharger, an electric motor, battery and enough computing power to lauch a Space X rocket. What can possibiliy go wrong?

On a serious note all this tech and the maintenance costs will take it's toil on future values

 

typos1 - Just can’t respect opinion

14 March 2018

Almost impossible to maintain after the warranty duration.

 

14 March 2018

The mini Arc de Triomph looked familiar.

I quite like the overall look of the car, but the tech sounds very complex, even for a technophile like me.

"Why is http://www.nanoflowcell.com not getting more media attention? It could be the future... Now!"

14 March 2018

The mini Arc de Triomph looked familiar.

I quite like the overall look of the car, but the tech sounds very complex, even for a technophile like me.

"Why is http://www.nanoflowcell.com not getting more media attention? It could be the future... Now!"

14 March 2018

Hi there! I really enjoyed the review by Matt Prior. I also really like the song or melody used in the introduction of the video. Could someone by any chance message me what the name of this song is or where I might be able to find it? 

14 March 2018
Tech is the ongoing ruination of the character and durability of cars.

This no doubt seems very clever to those who make it, but the 6.2 V8 is in a different league of appeal.

And unlike my now 10 year old 6.2, this will be unusable, unrepairable and therefore worthless in 10 years time.

15 March 2018

Why do all the exterior shots show a car driving in what looks like a nice Mediterranean sping but all the in-car shots of Matt show him driving through snowy weather? So the exterior scenes were taken from the Mercedes press kit?

17 March 2018

Agree, such a weird video!

Matt doesn’t even acknowledge this incongruity - can only assume the snow wrecked their own exterior shots so they had to substitute for some supplied ones.

It’s also weird that the long awaited and very welcome return of the straight six to Mercedes is overshadowed by the 48v hybrid tech. Should have brought back the straight six years ago.

15 March 2018

yup - the different weather on them outside shots compared to the inside shots messed with my head. Shame the new cls doesn’t come as an estate - but nobody bought the old one so it’s understandable

16 March 2018

That happened when the SLC was given a lousy engine and NO power and called the AMG SLC43  The SLk has been abandoned by Mercedes and we will never see a V8 SLK again I fear   BMW AUDI will continue and Merc will fall behind.

Pages

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Suzuki Swift Sport 2018 long-term review hero front
    First Drive
    22 June 2018
    The Japanese hot hatch is all grown up in terms of character, technology and price, but is it still a fun-loving kid at heart? Let’s find out
  • 2018 Mitsubishi Shogun Sport 4
    First Drive
    21 June 2018
    Shogun Sport name returns to the UK, attached to a seven-seat 4x4 that, Mitsubishi hopes, deftly combines practicality, comfort and toughness
  • Ford Fiesta ST-Line 2018 long-term review hero front
    First Drive
    21 June 2018
    Does this version of Britain’s top-selling car have the substance to match its style?
  • Audi Q8 2018 first drive review hero front
    First Drive
    20 June 2018
    Range-topping SUV is short on the styling and performance pizzazz needed to make it a Range Rover Sport-toppling style icon, although it’s an accomplished luxury car
  • BMW M5 2018 long-term review hero front
    First Drive
    20 June 2018
    We rate the new M5 as best in class. Will we think the same after three months with it?

Latest videos