From £18,31010
Our favourite sub-£30k sports car gets the engine it’s always deserved as part of its first run of updates

Our Verdict

Here is the fourth-gen Mazda MX-5 - the definitive small sports car

Fourth-generation MX-5 heads back to Mazda's roadster's roots, surpassing its predecessor in every area

What is it?

The Mk4 Mazda MX-5 has only been with us for three years but already it’s cemented itself as a legend of the family.

We love it for its attainable thrills and back-to-basics character. And, apparently, so does almost everyone else, as is evident by the two-seater’s growing number of sales, which totalled a not-unimpressive 39,773 in Europe last year. But while it’s successfully serving as the plucky halo car for Mazda by appealing to the mainstream, for some keen drivers it has yet to really reach its full potential.

The reason relates to its powertrains. With just two engines available from launch, a 1.5-litre unit offering 129bhp or a 2.0-litre version with 158bhp, the car has never been able to garner the attention of those after something serious, something that offers performance in a sports car package to rival the mainstream hot hatches.

The car has looked underpowered next to mainstay models such as the 197bhp Ford Fiesta ST, and Mazda knows this. In fact, it’s always known this, because executives now admit that they put the car to market in 2015 with the intention of further developing the 2.0-litre unit for more power. Now, the time has nearly come for these planned enhancements to be introduced to the road as part of a wave of updates.

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • BAC Mono 2018 UK first drive review - hero front
    12 November 2018
    First Drive
    Momentously fast single-seater's competition DNA runs far deeper than...
  • Mitsubishi L200
    Mitsubishi L200
    10 November 2018
    First Drive
    Mitsubishi's popular pick-up has been given a rugged revamp after just...
  • Hyundai Kona Electric 2018 road test review - hero front
    9 November 2018
    Car review
    Hyundai’s affordable electric crossover has the numbers to shake this market...

From 1 September, the MX-5 will come with a telescopic steering column offering 30mm of welcome reach adjustment and optional Apple CarPlay, enhancing the car’s appeal. The entry 1.5 model will also get a few small mechanical improvements to offer 1bhp more, at 130bhp — although that’s not exactly something to shout about.

The 2.0, on the other hand, grabs headlines with a longer list of upgrades to offer a much more substantial 23bhp, with peak output now a rather healthy 181bhp. The changes to realise this new performance include lighter pistons and conrods, a wider throttle body and enlarged port area, as well as a bigger-bore exhaust valve.

There’s also a lightened flywheel to enhance the motor’s responsiveness and it contributes to an increased hunger for revs, with that peak power output arriving at 7000rpm and the limiter now set at 7500rpm — a respective 1000rpm and 700rpm higher than before.

What's it like?

Where better to test the effects of said upgrades than the twisting, winding and highly technical string of Tarmac that slithers around the Carpathian Mountains of Romania, the Transfăgărășan Highway? This 50-mile route offers a mix of silky smooth surfaces and rough, cambered bends, with the latter providing a surprisingly accurate simulation of the good ol’ British B-road.

On such surfaces, the high-spec MX-5 we test, in a European specification that’s close to the UK’s Sport Nav+, deals with the challenging surfaces well — no surprise given that there are no chassis changes to the updated car. This top model uses Bilstein dampers and gets a standard-fit strut brace, helping to give the MX-5 its sharpest, most alert responses. It glides over the crests and dips of the Transfăgărășan, but the dampers ensure the body remains in check and leaves us wondering if anything firmer would be able to keep up with this unstoppable momentum.

Finally, this chassis has an engine to keep up because the 181bhp 2.0 feels considerably better matched to the package than its predecessor. The motor is zingy, offering a slightly better mid-range punch but significantly more enthusiastic top end — so much so that it feels unnatural to stay in the same gear for so long without bouncing into a rev limiter.

Once familiarised, you quickly realise the engine likes to remain spinning above 5500rpm to offer its best, so working the tight six-speed manual becomes an even more rewarding joy. But its improved elasticity allows us to cover great distances of technical sections in second gear, with the driver able to help the revs rise more quickly by encouraging the limited-slip differential (standard on 2.0 models) to send more torque to the inside wheel and enable manageable slides on corner exits.

Should I buy one?

Ok, so there’s still not enough storage space, cabin room remains tight and motorway journeys will feature plenty of wind noise (even with the roof up). But the MX-5 is affordable, honest and, as a driver’s car, now a truly tempting package, thanks to its new 2.0 engine adding newfound vigour to its rear-wheel drive purity.

We loved it before and we love it even more now. So if you’re in the market for a sub-£30k roadster, the MX-5 2.0 really needs to be on your shopping list. Because this is where the fun’s at.

Mazda MX-5 Skyactiv-G 2.0 specification

Tested Romania Price £22,295 On sale September Engine 4 cyls, 1998cc, petrol Power 181bhp at 7000rpm Torque 151lb ft at 4000rpm Gearbox 6-spd manual Kerb weight 1105kg Top speed 136mph 0-62mph 6.5sec Fuel economy 40.9mpg  CO2 156g/km Rivals Toyota GT86, Subaru BRZ, Abarth 124

Join the debate

Comments
20

30 August 2018

I would so like to get another MX-5! The review makes me want to dash to the nearest dealer cash in hand! 

30 August 2018

Love this. Proper old school fettling. Other manufacturers would just turn the wick up on the turbo, but Mazda changes the engine internals to make it spin better and then helps it breathe better.

PHB

30 August 2018
Took the hard roof version for a spin and loved it a lot (used to own a top grade 2008). The engine revs so much more freely it's almost like a little mazda rotary, the noise too! Sadly in top spec with recaros and brembos it is way too expensive so I will just wait until they hit the used market.

30 August 2018
PHB wrote:

Took the hard roof version for a spin and loved it a lot (used to own a top grade 2008). The engine revs so much more freely it's almost like a little mazda rotary, the noise too! Sadly in top spec with recaros and brembos it is way too expensive so I will just wait until they hit the used market.

Where? Is it out already?

30 August 2018

Or sub-£23k? What is the price? (£7k is quite a difference!)

30 August 2018

Bought the mark 3.5 version for my wife some time ago for her 30th birthday for all the hard work she put in helping me set up my business and in all the  years and 87 k miles it has never put a foot wrong except for a couple of blown light bulbs.

I will be getting this new one for her and we will pass on the old one to my eldest daughter as it has become part of the family.

Best affordable sports car in the world and utterly dependable unlike a few german marques I could mention.

Wonderful

30 August 2018

Left me confused too. Anyway car finally gets a higher powered engine it deserved. Also, leaves a bigger gap between the engine options!

typos1 - Just can’t respect opinion

FMS

5 September 2018
xxxx wrote:

Left me confused too. Anyway car finally gets a higher powered engine it deserved. Also, leaves a bigger gap between the engine options!

 

Confused?...You...? With sage thought and new content richness like that, we all await your next post with eager anticipation! TWIT

30 August 2018

It has a telescopic steering column with 30mm adjustment not a telescopic rack. The UK price is £24,795 for the softop and that info has been available for three weeks now. Keep up at the back Autocar.

Softops available late September, RF well into October.

30 August 2018
drumtochty wrote:

It has a telescopic steering column with 30mm adjustment not a telescopic rack.

Yeah, thats what I was gonna say, a telescopic rack ? Sometimes I wonder where Autocar ges its journalists from, some dont seem to have even basic automotive knowledge.

XXXX just went POP.

Pages

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • BAC Mono 2018 UK first drive review - hero front
    12 November 2018
    First Drive
    Momentously fast single-seater's competition DNA runs far deeper than...
  • Mitsubishi L200
    Mitsubishi L200
    10 November 2018
    First Drive
    Mitsubishi's popular pick-up has been given a rugged revamp after just...
  • Hyundai Kona Electric 2018 road test review - hero front
    9 November 2018
    Car review
    Hyundai’s affordable electric crossover has the numbers to shake this market...