From £30,740
Kia's seven-seat plug-in hybrid SUV is big, but is it also clever? We found out

Why we ran it: To see if a plug-in hybrid family SUV can justify its eco credentials

Month 5 - Month 4 - Month 3Month 2 Month 1 - Prices and specs

Life with a Sorento PHEV: Month 5

A seven-seat PHEV sounds like it would be useful, but what was the reality of family and working life over 7650 miles? - 12 January 2022

A pal said to me recently that doing ‘ordinary’ well is hard. And that’s the quandary facing the Kia Sorento: it’s meant to cope with everything life throws at it and has to do that reliably, but without scope for the big Kia to be wacky.

Ever since the Mk1 Volvo XC90 and the Land Rover Discovery 4, seven-seat SUVs can no longer redefine the sector. Those cars got there first so they were the pioneers, in the mainstream at least. All that the likes of the Sorento can do is to refine the formula and that’s where it gets tricky.

The Kia has certainly fitted into our family life effortlessly (mostly – more on that later) but is it a car that we’ll look back on with particularly fond memories? Has any journey been seared into our consciousness?

The answer to the first question is yes. Its adaptability and practicality have surpassed expectations, with the sort of space and storage solutions that meant our family holiday this summer was pretty effortless. Of course, we filled the boot and could have done with a trailer or roof box as well, but that’s more a reflection on the Ward clan’s need to take enough clothes for a full wardrobe change every half an hour.

The cupholders in each rear door and the decent cubby space up front ensured everything was easily to hand and not buried under 15 pairs of boxer shorts. No, this is not sexy (neither the pants nor the practicality, come to think of it) but it’s the sort of thing that matters when your car needs to cope with ordinary.

The seven seats were also handy. They were easy to fold flat and the kids could pile in there without too many issues and were happy when they were installed. Top tip: only put the ones who can do their own seatbelts up in the rearmost seats, as it’s a back-snapping stretch to lean in. If I’m honest, we didn’t use those seats that often, but that’s a reflection of us, not the car. There’s certainly no fault with the Kia’s engineering. And it’s a tribute to the Kia boffins that it’s got seven seats in the first place. There aren’t many PHEVs with seven seats, on account of the batteries taking up vital space, but because the Sorento’s 13.8kWh battery is under the front seats, the full MPV/SUV experience is possible here.

Back to top

We did have a small issue with one of the middle-row seats refusing to fold flat, but a trip to our local Kia dealer soon put that right.

Annoyingly, that wasn’t the only reason we ended up in the garage, because Apple CarPlay had some serious bugs. The connection kept dropping out, with zero consistency as to when it did it, so it was difficult to be specific about when it might happen. Plugged in, wireless connection, listening to podcasts, just using Google Maps – every single scenario got ticked. If you’ve read my previous reports, you’ll know the Sorento went into the dealer to try to fix this. Boongate Kia in Peterborough reported no issues and told me to connect wirelessly.

It was fine for a week but then slipped back into its old habits, to the point where I simply no longer made phone calls on the move because I was worried that either the phone or nav signal would drop out. Technology is meant to help, but in this case it wasn’t reliable enough to be trusted. And because our Sorento was a 2 trim level, we didn’t have an inbuilt sat-nav as a back-up.

But as for our earlier second question: has any journey stood out? Did it travel with as much effortlessness as its practicality would suggest? The answer is no. Chiefly, the reason lies in the car’s refinement. Sure, it’s no handling dynamo, but few family SUVs are. No, where the Kia comes more unstuck is how coarse the 1.6-litre petrol engine sounds. Most journeys start on electric power and it’s fine for that. But the way the petrol fires up, with a good 2500rpm on board, sounds incredibly coarse and serves only to emphasise how rough it is compared with the electric part. In a car that’s otherwise likeably effortless to drive, it’s a pity.

As with most plug-in hybrids, our fuel economy was hugely affected by how often we could charge up. With a charger at home, we managed that quite often, but as soon as it was depleted, fuel economy plunged. The best we saw was 63.3mpg over a number of short runs, while the worst was 32.2mpg. Despite all the hullabaloo around diesel, if you need to do decent miles and tow, there are still few better options.

So what’s the overall verdict? On a certain level, you can’t argue with the practicality of it, as it really has been an effortless, and cheap, workhorse: we managed 40 miles on a single charge on one occasion so it’s possible to keep running costs incredibly low. But the coarse petrol engine and the Apple CarPlay fault take the shine off.

Back to top

Ironically, the Kia’s less ordinary character f laws have hurt its rating. Told you it wasn’t easy being normal.

Second Opinion

I was really surprised by how basic the Sorento’s infotainment system was. Here’s a car that starts at £45k and doesn’t even get built-in sat-nav. For that, you’ll need to spend another four grand on the 3 specification. Kia has evolved massively since its UK introduction as a value-focused brand and has what I think are some of the best-looking cars on the road right now (EV6, anyone?). Clearly it has also learned how to charge for seemingly the most basic options, like a true premium car maker.

Tom Morgan-Freelander

Back to the top

Love it:

Design details There are some lovely design touches inside and out, like this bit of the dash. Feels expensive, too.

Loadbay hero We bemoan SUVs, but they can swallow a skipload of stuff when pressed into action.

A handy alert The only noise that was useful: a polite bong to let you know the car in front is pulling away.

Loathe it:

Ring-a-ding din All the other bongs. Even after six months and countless miles, they were still bloody irritating.

It’s there somewhere The charging port is near-impossible to find at night. A teeny light would be handy.

Final mileage: 8166

Back to top

Back to the top

Our SUV has an arthritic seat and dodgy Apple CarPlay. Over to you, local dealer - 5 January 2022

We are lucky so-and-sos these days: cars just don’t really go wrong. They fit in with our lives and rarely complain.

Tell that to someone from the 1960s, who would spend precious minutes on a cold winter’s morning trying to de-ice the carbs. Or the rigmarole a farmer from the 1950s would go through trying to start their CAT D2 with a donkey engine that was needed to fire the main diesel motor in a process that took about 15 minutes. Just to start actually driving.

Even when things do go wrong, they’re not really fundamental to the main operation of driving. Take our Kia Sorento. Recently, the Apple CarPlay connection hasn’t been the most reliable and the offside middle-row seat wouldn’t fold completely flat. Irritating, both, but hardly likely to affect a journey. ‘Overheard in Waitrose’ could have been written for this.

Still, podcasts need listening to and large objects need shifting, so off to the local dealer we headed. Boongate Kia in Peterborough was the destination and, aside from an initial hiccup, the service was excellent.

I booked the car in easily, explained what was wrong to the service reception and waited while the technicians diagnosed the problem. This was where the only issue occurred: I was told the dealer’s laptop wasn’t talking to the car so they couldn’t diagnose the CarPlay issue. Annoyingly, the MD’s car (the only other Sorento there) wasn’t on site so they couldn’t test it on that.

This meant that it had to be booked in again but this time they’d sorted me out with a loan car (a base Picanto – what a great machine to potter about in), so I dropped the Kia back in and they set to.

There are no wires involved in the diagnosis process these days. The technician plugs a sender into the port by the steering wheel and that then wirelessly communicates with an iPad. According to the Kia mechanic, it makes things so much easier because he can remain mobile and test things around the car without being tethered to it.

Back to top

Boongate Kia ran a full check but strangely found no faults. This particular model year is meant to be wireless only for CarPlay so they think it might be because I’d plugged my phone in. I’m not convinced as I tried it both plugged in and solo, but equally, it has not gone wrong since so fingers crossed that whatever glitch was there has been wiped.

As for the wayward seat, that was down to a twisted wire that had got caught underneath it. No one is really sure how that happened, but now that it’s been freed off, it’s run faultlessly – to the point where it was able to be pressed into service for Tom Morgan-Freelander’s recent house move.

Overall, the experience with Boongate Kia was really pleasant. I didn’t have to pay a penny, which is always a bonus, and the way they accommodated me changing the car collection time, bringing it forward by a couple of hours, was very impressive. The dealer had even given it a quick blast with the jet wash before I picked it up.

You hear some horror stories about some retailers, but this was mercifully easy. The Kia experience continues to impress.

Love it:

Utility belter The everyday utility is really beginning to appeal. Nothing seems to fluster the Kia.

Loathe it:

It’s there somewhere There’s no light on the charging port, so on a dark winter night it’s a stab-and-hope process.

Mileage: 8061

Back to the top

Fill yer boot - 1 December 2021

I’ve resisted the urge to ‘tip’ for over four months, but a recent clearout meant I could resist no longer. And it revealed a fault with the seats that had previously gone unnoticed: the offside middle won’t go flat, so it was even more of a feat of origami to fold all the rubbish into the remaining space. It’s booked into the dealer shortly, so a fix beckons.

Back to top

Mileage: 7371

Back to the top

Life with a Sorento PHEV: Month 4

Beating the odds - 3 November 2021

I’m not one to brag, but will you just look at that figure! The hypermiling tips that Mission Motorsport gave me (8 September) have massively paid off, as the Sorento managed 40 miles from a single charge. That’s a full five miles farther than officially claimed. Most impressively, it was on a mixed route of villages and flowing B-roads, not just a 15mph crawl.

Mileage: 3765

Back to the top

Did our PHEV make it out of this unfamiliar setting in one piece? - 20 October 2021

Back to top

As anyone with a vague memory of being five will know, curious minds are rewarded when buttons are pressed. And so it is that we find ourselves perched on top of what feels more like a cliff than a steep off-road slope, Kia Sorento primed to descend, with buttons being prodded and Terrain mode knobs being twirled.

We’ve reached here entirely silently, creeping through a lower section of the quarry on electricity, with the only sound the crunch of rock under tyre and the occasional ‘bong’ from the car. The Sorento does like to announce itself with plenty of synthesised warning noises.

Creep up the slope, watching where the nose and tyres head, as there are plenty of sharp boulders around and we’re most definitely not running on tough-sidewalled off-road tyres. Get to the top of the scree, with a great view out over the quarry and elements of the downhill section in front, the detail hidden underneath the Sorento’s bonnet. Hold it on the brake, wait for the guide to say I’m good to go...

But let’s just pause a moment, as it’s worth an explanation as to why on earth a family-friendly plug-in hybrid Sorento is being subjected to far more than the school run. Truth be told, we mainly went to the quarry to recce the place for the road test team, to see if it might be suitable for the next hardcore off-road test.

But it also seemed like too good an opportunity to pass up on testing all the systems the Kia has to offer, which is more than you would think. Although it’s on a monocoque chassis (like the Mk2 and Mk3 versions but unlike the first-gen model, which ran a more traditional off-road ladder- frame set-up), the PHEV comes as standard with Terrain mode and hill descent control, the former giving three options covering mud, snow and sand. It’s four-wheel drive as standard, albeit with the sort of set-up that means it runs in front- wheel drive most of the time. It’s only when the car detects slip that it switches drive to all four corners.

Terrain mode works by adjusting engine torque and distribution, as well as the stability control parameters and the shift points of the six-speed automatic gearbox. Basically, they’re all tweaked as to the conditions, so ‘snow’ limits torque to try to rein in wheel spin, for instance. It’s not as comprehensive as Land Rover’s but, still, it’s far more than you would expect in a world of fake tailpipes and soft-roaders. Fair play to Kia for actually fitting the hardware to match the looks.

Back to top

Back to the action, then. Hill descent control engaged, terrain knob twizzled to mud mode, ease off the brakes. It wasn’t the most controlled of descents, as I did have to intervene and get on the brake rather than relying entirely on the hill descent, but it made it down.

But we then hit a snag. Despite all the technical hardware on show, the Sorento does have quite bulbous bumpers, especially at the front. Luckily, I had a man walking in front (a very handy accessory, as it turns out), who stopped me before we clobbered any of the car’s red plastic protrusions. The slope was really quite gentle yet the bumper was mighty close to the scree.

It’s a pity, because Kia’s engineers have obviously dedicated a lot of effort to the Terrain mode in order to give the Sorento some substance to back up the style, in that never- ending departmental debate. It looks like the design division still won the argument, though.

Love it:

A kind of magic Cooler autumn mornings have meant the heated steering wheel getting a run-out.

Loathe it:

Radio gaga The radio has now started cutting out. The trip to the dealer can’t come soon enough.

Mileage: 5087

Back to top

Back to the top

Getting ready for the cold - 13 October 2021

Winter is coming, as any fan of Game of Thrones knows, which means dew-laden mornings and misted-over side mirrors. This isn’t helped by the Sorento being parked near a yew hedge and in the shade. It does have heated mirrors, but only when you turn on the rear heated screen do they come alive. Not the most logical step.

Mileage: 4105

Back to the top

Life with a Sorento PHEV: Month 3

No squeeze back there - 29 September 2021

Back to top

At 4810mm long and 1900mm wide, the Sorento is a big old lump, and its wheelbase is 74mm longer than a Land Rover Disco Sport’s. That means family trips are pretty painless and it’s an effortless thing to press into photography duty. The rearmost seats fold flat easily, so then it’s just a case of bundling the snapper into the boot and strapping them down.

Mileage: 3533

Back to the top

We’ve been on a mission to maximise the big Kia’s electric range - 8 September 2021

The Kia Sorento plug-in hybrid is messing with my psyche. Normally there are any number of different factors dictating how to drive: type of road, weather, traffic, mood, passengers etc. All the usual stuff. But in the Kia, it’s entirely about eking out the electric range. Efficiency is king in this car.

It makes economic sense: electricity is far cheaper than petrol or diesel, so my wallet is happier when I’m maxing out the electric element of the powertrain. Kia claims a range of 35 miles from the Sorento’s 13.8kWh battery; so far I’ve been getting about 28 miles from a charge. Not bad going but it feels like it could be better. A lesson in maximising every last joule is needed.

Step forward Mission Motorsport, an armed forces motor racing charity that recently set a hypermiling record in a Renault Zoe by managing to coax a standard car for a mightily impressive 424.7 miles, equivalent to 9.1 miles per kWh. The record was set by a team of six drivers, two of whom agreed recently to give me some tips.

Back to top

Before we get into the details, a caveat: their record was set at Thruxton circuit so some of their advice isn’t necessarily transferable to a stop-start schlep up the M1...

“You’ve got to drive delicately,” says Linda Noble, who served in the armed forces for 18 years. “Drive it like it’s glass. I own a Suzuki Swift and regularly get 400 miles out of a tank. It should be about 300-310. And it’s because I’ve learned to drive so delicately.”

Noble and fellow hypermiler Tilly Lambert-Lea both drove in socks for the record attempt, in order to make sure they were as sensitive as possible on the throttle. As Noble says: “I drove just with my big toe. During training, I tried shoes but you can’t feel the accelerator as well. Also, even the weight of the shoe itself was important: we found just the mass of the trainer was pushing down on the throttle.”

As Noble and Lambert-Lea both point out, however, driving without shoes is actually illegal. So what are the other solutions?

For Noble, consistency is the key: “The biggest thing is to keep your speed constant. You have to be softer on the accelerator, use the draught from lorries if you can. Never lift too much because you have to get the power back down again. When we were lifting off the accelerator on a downhill section [to maximise the regen], it was only a tiny lift. Just a few millimetres.”

Back to top

I have quite a sudden lift when I come off the accelerator, reasoning that will put more power back into the battery, but Mission Motorsport found that easing into the regen was better. The Kia has a display showing whether you’re in Charge, Eco or Power mode, depending on how hard you’re driving, so it’s easy to tell how you’re doing. When you do get back on the throttle, breathe into it, easing into the accelerator gently.

It’s also best to utilise other areas where the car can help. Noble recommends setting a speed limiter (although you should remove this for downhill sections in order to lead to more regenerative braking) and also using the car’s Eco setting. Keep the windows up, turn the air conditioning off (the Zoe interior got so hot the drivers’ phones stopped working), use daylight-running lights only (not possible at night, obviously) and turn the displays and radio off. And leave the charge cables at home, to save weight.

The Kia has a floor-mounted throttle, which threw Noble when she first jumped in because the Zoe’s was mounted from above. But she soon adapted, angling her foot so that she could work the top of the pedal with her toe.

Of course, all of this is easier said than done when you’re late for work and saving the pennies is the last thing on your mind, but since Linda’s and Tilly’s advice, I have really been trying to adhere to their suggestions. The net result of all this? An average fuel economy of 48.4mpg (down, bewilderingly, from the mid-50s, but then I’ve not been able to plug in as much recently). The electric range has gone up to 30 miles, so at least that’s moving in the right direction.

In other news, the Apple CarPlay link between my phone and Sorento has been throwing a wobbly recently. On a long journey north, a couple of issues presented themselves: the podcast I was listening to kept cutting out and CarPlay kept losing its connection. The latter is particularly frustrating when your phone is your only source of nav. And yes, it did do it at a tricky junction.

Since then, I’ve barely had any CarPlay connection. I should point out that the phone still connects via Bluetooth, so legal phone calls remain possible, but all the extras CarPlay brings (such as those podcasts and apps like Waze) are out of reach for now. The phone works fine on other cars, so I assume it’s something to do with the Kia.

Back to top

Love it:

Perfectly practical Fold-flat rear seats are still proving to be hugely useful. Workhorse Sorento is earning its keep.

Loathe it:

Tech irritations Issues with CarPlay make long journeys more of a gamble than they need to be.


Mileage: 2907

Back to the top

Positive numbers - 1 September 2021

According to industry analysis guru Felipe Munoz (@lovecarindustry on Twitter), the global D-SUV market fell by 3% last year. The Koreans needn’t worry too much, though: shifting 435,000 examples of the Kia Sorento and Hyundai Santa Fe, they comfortably outsold the five next best-sellers combined. It would seem that keeping up with the Joneses has never been easier.

Mileage: 2889

Back to the top

Life with a Sorento PHEV: Month 2

A trip to Suffolk gives our family-size SUV a chance to stretch its legs - 18 August 2021

I’m as guilty as anyone of bemoaning an SUV when it suits, but there’s no denying they’re handy to have in a tight spot – and no spot comes tighter than a family holiday.

Our kids are now at the age where a buggy is no longer required, but the Kia’s boot was still packed full to capacity, with a PhD in origami required to fold all the luggage into the 604-litre space. We’ve hardly used the rearmost seats but that was no bad thing for this trip, because folded flat they do free up a decent space.

Off we toddled to Suffolk, where it soon became obvious that the Sorento’s infotainment has a crucial flaw: if you don’t have a phone signal, you don’t have sat-nav. Large parts of Suffolk have been left behind in the sprint for 5G data provision, and without it the car is mapless.

Back to top

You can download offline maps on Google Maps, but it’s not a perfect science and besides, we were dashing out of the house we’d rented so didn’t have time to sort it properly. It’s very much a first-world problem, and there’s a part of me that thinks ‘just buy a map, Piers’, but in an age when you’re used to just jumping in and going, it’s a flaw in the Kia. More so in a car that costs over £45,000.

But it was otherwise a decent companion for the staycation – even Henrying all the sand out at the end of the holiday was a quick task thanks to all the simple seat mechanisms. The kids loved the fact that they got their own individual cupholder, and crucially these are in the rear doors so one sibling can’t reach the others’. It’s difficult to express how much that matters: one less reason for children to argue with each other is something I’d sacrifice a lottery win for.

We had access to a three-pin plug for the first few days, so local trips were done 99% on electric running. Our electricity costs are now running at a smidge over £30, which is impressively cheap going when you think the car has done nearly 1500 miles with us. The petrol engine got more use in the second part of our trip, when we couldn’t plug in, but even allowing for that, we’re still averaging nearly 55mpg. From a 2.0-tonne SUV, that’s not bad going.

Back to top

Obviously, it all depends on the sort of trips you’re doing. School run and not much else? You’ll easily see over 100mpg. Longer trips where the battery is exhausted? Closer to the mid-30s. But the number of journeys we are managing to do on electricity alone just goes to show that a 35-mile range is well judged.

Love it:

Charging home A three-pin domestic plug can fully recharge the PHEV’s drive battery in only six hours.

Loathe it:

Chuntering petrol The contrast between electric and internal combustion is marked.

Mileage: 1953

Back to the top

So many beeps - 11 August 2021

For all its family-friendly capability, the Kia Sorento emits the most annoying sounds. Here’s what happens before you travel even five yards: a tune as you turn the car on, a bong to let you know the car is ready to go, another ping to alert you if you try to drive off with the auto handbrake still engaged and not yet a seatbelt clipped in. Deafening.

Mileage: 1803

Back to the top

Back to top

Life with a Sorento PHEV: Month 1

A first proper drive - 28 July 2021

At last, a welcome chance to go to a live motorsport event. In this case, it was the Goodwood Festival of Speed, and the Sorento and I found an entirely new route home courtesy of Waze and Apple CarPlay. Narrow in places, it made me realise the Kia is a big old lump of metal in this generation. But a tree-lined route was a great way to unwind after a frantic day rushing around FoS.

Mileage: 1489

Back to the top

Welcoming the plug-in Sorento to the fleet - 21 July 2021

Back to top

The five-year-old’s voice coming from the rearmost seats in the Kia Sorento was seriously excited, as if he had just found Captain Hook’s treasure buried back there: “Daddy, you won’t believe it. I’m so shocked. I just can’t believe it. I HAVE BUTTONS!”

So there you have it, folks: the key to making any car appeal to a small child is to give them buttons to fiddle with. Here endeth the lesson.

And that really does sum up our new Sorento: family-focused down to a T, with the sort of careful interior planning that makes car journeys easier. It’s with us for the next few months in plug-in hybrid flavour, with a 1.6-litre four-cylinder petrol engine mated to a 90bhp electric motor. Total torque is 258lb ft, with 0-62mph taking 8.4sec. A middling figure, it’s fair to say, but thanks to that torque and the in-fill from the electric motor, the Sorento has the sort of mid-range punch that makes joining a motorway easy.

This car doesn’t need to do more. Its 13.8kWh battery gives it a 35-mile electric-only range from a full charge and, unlike with some PHEVs, so far we’ve not been too far off that. On a long motorway run recently, taken at a healthy pace, the Sorento managed 25 miles before switching to petrol. And that was with the air conditioning running and the radio on. Mooching around on back roads and on the school run, it quite happily covers most of our family miles on just battery power.

We have access to only a standard household plug at the moment, but the longest duration we’ve seen on a single charge so far is six hours. In other words, the sort of timescale that means an overnight juice-up will easily get the battery fully replenished. In fact, during all the recent working from home, it also means that, after the morning drop-off, the car is full by the time of the afternoon school run. None of this is dance-a-jig exciting, but in terms of meeting its brief, the Sorento is so far up to the task.

We’ve had it three weeks and our tactic has been to charge when we can. Short local hops have made that easy. As such, we’ve not used much petrol in more than 500 miles – just 34.02 litres – and so far it has cost £17 in electricity. I would call that a decent return, but the proof will come later this week, as I have some longer journeys to do. It will be interesting to see what sort of economy those yield. After all, this is a two-tonne SUV. Lugging around a 140kg battery is going to have an impact.

Back to top

Our Sorento is in the base 2 trim, starting at a punchy £45,245. In typical Kia fashion, there aren’t many optional extras, other than accessories: just the premium paint, at £600. I’m glad it came with that, because there’s only one standard colour and it’s called Essence Brown. No matter how on-trend mud-coloured cars get, a dark-brown SUV is going to invite a snigger.

Mind you, despite the dearth of optional extras, it still comes with plenty of kit. Highlights include the third row air-con that got my son so excited, enough USB charging ports to keep an army of screen-obsessed teens happy (three in the front; three in the middle, including two nifty ones in the sides of the front seats; and two more for the rearmost seats), Android Auto and Apple CarPlay, a heated steering wheel, an 8.0in touchscreen and Bluetooth.

You can see where this is heading. Out-and-out technological frills may be lacking, but in terms of doing what it can to make a careworn parent’s life easier, the Sorento does what’s needed.

There isn’t any satnav, but with a phone connected, you can have all the maps that you will need. These are relatively intuitive to control from the touchscreen, but with nowhere to rest your hand, it’s more often than not a stab-and-miss affair trying to hit the correct icon. To be fair, the climate buttons are all physical switches, but it’s at times like this that I do miss my old BMW 4 Series’ brilliant iDrive system.

Back to top

Seven seats are standard (impressive, given that a lot of PHEVs can’t make the packaging work for the full gamut of chairs), and they all fold flat easily. Family-friendly rule number one ticked.

In fact, family rule numbers two, three and four are ticked as well: so far, the Sorento is proving easy to live with, and with the sort of storage and practical touches that don’t get journalists excited but do actually make a difference when you just need a car to function and make life simple.

Does this mean it will be the sort of car that creates memories? I’m not sure yet. In an age of ever more competent cars, this is where I think brands will need to excel to stand out. I’ll let you know if the Kia manages it – if I can ever persuade my son to stop fiddling with those buttons.

Second Opinion

Having spotted no fewer than five delivery-fresh Sorentos on a recent walk around my local area, I’m clearly not the only person who thinks that Kia’s design department has been doing some fantastic work of late. For a seven-seat SUV, it really is quite the looker. It will be interesting to see if Piers thinks it backs up the premium styling with a driving experience to match.

Tom Morgan

Back to the top

Kia Sorento 1.6 T-GDi PHEV 2 AWD specification

Prices: List price new £45,245 List price now £45,595 Price as tested £45,845

Options: Premium paint £600

Fuel consumption and range: Claimed economy 176.6mpg Fuel tank 47 litres Test average 44.3mpg Test best 63.3mpg Test worst 32.2mpg Test electric range 29 miles Real-world range 458 miles (petrol only)

Tech highlights: 0-62mph 8.4sec Top speed 119mph Engine 4 cyls in line, 1598cc, turbo, petrol, plus electric motor Max power 261bhp at 5500rpm Max torque 258lb ft at 1500-4500rpm Transmission 6-speed automatic Boot capacity 605-1988 litres Wheels 7.5Jx19in Tyres 235/55 R19 Kerb weight 2099kg

Back to top

Service and running costs: Contract hire rate £486.22 CO2 38g/km Service costs None Other costs None Fuel/electric costs £1044.74/£132.41 Running costs inc fuel £1177.15 Cost per mile 15 pence Faults Middle-row seat failed to fold. Apple CarPlay kept dropping its connection.

Back to the top

Join the debate

Comments
9
Add a comment…
Jeremy 18 January 2022

Why does this car have a 'bong' to tell you the car in front has pulled away? Very astute of KIA to cater to all those drivers who illegally use their mobiles to catch up on emails messages and social media while stuck in traffic and need reminding to actually drive!

Rich boy spanners 7 November 2021

PHEV's and BEV's are company car fodder, if your company allowance will cover the lease cost you save a packet on the BIK due to the low CO2 giving a low percantage rate even with the hgh list price. They are no use to private buyers, the cost is too prohibitive. No families are choosing these as private choices.

sbagnall 7 November 2021
Odd comment when they offer low running costs for a family, and this particular model is available for under £300 per month.
LP in Brighton 11 November 2021

£300 per month?  Not when I checked. The standard PCP offer over 37months requires £4,500 deposit (which you won't get back at the end of trhe term) plus monthly payments of £727.  A PCP may ease the short term pain but like they say there is no free lunch and you do not get to rrive a £45,000 car for peanuts! 

sbagnall 15 November 2021
Hi LP

A 5-10 min search online and you can find these available for immediate delivery from many different brokers on PCH deals - not PCP. Dig around and you'll find them for that money on 3+36 monthly profiles. Get a quote, then take that to your local KIA dealer and ask them to match it. Worked for me with a Proceed.

xxxx 7 November 2021

PHEV's and BEV are.... No families are choosing these as private choices.  Plenty of BEV's go to private, 

Rich boy spanners 7 November 2021

You both must know some interesting families that are paying anywhere near 300 a month for a car, and you are certainly out of touch with what most families are able to afford.

sbagnall 7 November 2021
I guess it's all relative to what you require, earn and what you want to drive/spend. Personally I think 300 a month for a brand new family car is a bargain and far cheaper than forking out 30-40k outright.
xxxx 8 December 2021

Yep I do know some interesting familes. See plenty of Zoe's, Leaf's and Id3's around, open your eyes, at less than 300 a month and 200 mpg it's not a surprize. Keep up Rich Boy