Allan Muir
24 July 2012

What is it?

This is the first pick-up created under the ‘One Ford’ banner, which means it’s designed to be sold in the same form worldwide — except of course in the US, where a completely different Ranger is already sold. Built in Thailand, the new-generation Ranger combines the handsome, chunky looks of an American pick-up with a more modern platform, engines and electronics than that of the previous, Mazda-developed model, as well as a relatively plush cabin in the case of our Double Cab Limited test car, driven for the first time on British roads.

The four-door Double Cab is one of three body styles available, the other two being a two-door Regular Cab and a halfway-house Super Cab with small rear suicide doors like those of a Mazda RX-8. The Regular Cab is obviously the true workhorse of the trio, with a 2.3-metre-long load bay and a net payload of 1.2 tonnes. Those figures shrink to 1.56 metres and a fraction over a tonne for the more family-friendly Double Cab. The 4x4 models can also tow a braked trailer weighing up to 3350kg, making the Ranger a pretty versatile load lugger.

The engine line-up is restricted to two diesels – a 148bhp 2.2-litre four-pot and a 197bhp 3.2-litre straight five – and a six-speed manual gearbox is standard in all models, with a six-speed automatic optional in the Double Cab Limited 2.2 TDCi and Double Cab Wildtrak 3.2 TDCi. Most models have an electronically controlled, switch-on-the-fly four-wheel drive system that offers a choice of rear-wheel drive only for road use and high or low-range 4x4 for venturing into the rough stuff.

With pick-ups increasingly being called upon to widen their brief beyond the traditional workhorse role, the new Ranger comes with all of the safety and convenience features you'd expect of any modern road car, including electronic stability control, hill descent control, hill start assist, automatic headlights and wipers and all the Bluetooth/USB connectivity you could want inside. The cabin is relatively smart and car-like, too, successfully taking the Ranger away from its utilitarian roots.

What is it like?

Clamber up into the high-set cabin and you’re greeted by a chunky, thoroughly presentable fascia that’s arguably more attractive and better laid out than the current Focus’s, albeit with slightly more hard-wearing plastics. There’s plenty of space front and rear for four adults, and the standard leather seats of the Limited-spec model provide a comfortable driving position with a great view out. 

With a claimed 0-62mph time of 12.5sec and a 109mph top speed, the 2.2 TDCi Ranger’s performance is best described as leisurely, and it can be a little ponderous at low speeds, not helped by an automatic gearbox that’s quite slow-witted in urban use. But beyond 30mph the Ranger gets along briskly enough and is surprisingly refined at a cruise.

As you'd expect of a vehicle designed to carry heavy loads, the ride is firm at low speeds and always fairly lively, but it’s well within the bounds of acceptability. After a while you barely notice it any more, unless you hit a particularly nasty lump in the road. 

In two-wheel-drive mode the steering is faithful and pleasantly weighted, making the Ranger a surprisingly easy, even confidence-inspiring vehicle to thread along a twisty or narrow road. Running in 4x4 mode takes its toll on the steering, though, adding unwanted extra weight and making the vehicle feel much less manoeuvrable at low speeds. On the road at least, it’s clear that the 4x4 system isn’t as slick as that of, say, a Land Rover Discovery and is best confined to proper off-road use.

We didn’t get a chance to try the Ranger in the rough on this occasion, but Ford says it’s got 28deg approach and departure angles, a 25deg breakover angle and a generous 229mm of ground clearance, along with a wading depth of 800mm, so there’s no reason to doubt its credentials as an off-roader. It’ll go places.

Should I buy one?

Rugged enough to cope with life as a workhorse yet comfortable and well equipped enough to perform family and leisure-related duties as well, the Ranger is a much more likeable vehicle than you might have expected. I found myself wishing for the sort of lifestyle that would justify owning a vehicle like this, preferably one involving dirt bikes, jet skis and the like. Sad, I know. The Ranger is facing some serious competition from the likes of the relatively new Volkswagen Amarok as well as old favourites such as the Toyota Hilux and Mitsubishi L200 Warrior, but it’s more than up to the job. 

Ford Ranger Double Cab Limited 2.2 TDCi auto

Price £27,600; 0-62mph 12.5sec; Top speed 109mph; Economy 30.1mpg  (combined); CO2 248g/km; Kerb weight 2063kg; Engine 4 cyls, 2198cc, turbodiesel; Power 148bhp at 3700rpm; Torque 277lb ft at 1500rpm; Gearbox 6-spd automatic

Join the debate

Comments
12

-

2 years 5 days ago

Is the 3.2TDCi the same engine that's found in the Transit Super Sport Van?

-

2 years 5 days ago

I think the engine appears to be very good.

2.2 TDCi

2 years 5 days ago

You say "The engine line-up is restricted to two diesels – a 148bhp 2.2-litre four-pot and a 197bhp 3.2-litre straight five" but in the Regular Cab 2.2 TDCi you can have either the 150ps (148bhp) you mentioned, or the 125ps variant you didn't mention...

And just to add, having driven a few different variants of the new Ranger, it is an absolutely outstanding machine and even though I have no need for one at all, I would seriously consider buying one just for the sheer fun factor.

i'd like to see

2 years 5 days ago

'Rugged enough to cope with life as a workhorse yet comfortable and well equipped enough to perform family and leisure-related duties'

I'd like to see someone try and drive this into my local multi storey car park and fit it in a space.

Dale Farm Motoring

2 years 4 days ago

What is the point of this vehicle in the UK? Or anywhere for that matter.

The engines seem a bit naff

2 years 4 days ago

The engines seem a bit naff to be honest, who wants a 3.2 diesel with 197 ps, when elswhere in the Ford range the 2.2 diesel offers the same power, and the emmisions and economy are shocking to be honest.

Or have a Chinese one and ten grand in change.

2 years 4 days ago

This is built for posing - surely anyone who actually needs a four wheel drive pickup is going to be getting a Great Wall for about ten grand less?

And anyone who buys a pickup like this as a fashion accessory is, frankly, an idiot.

JamPal wrote:What is the

2 years 4 days ago

JamPal wrote:

What is the point of this vehicle in the UK? Or anywhere for that matter.

 

For people like me, who need a genuine 4x4 and the ability to tow 2.5+T for work, but also need a vehicle to act as a second car. Not everyone has a job in an office environment.

For me the ability to lob

2 years 4 days ago

For me the ability to lob stuff in the back (bags of garden rubbish, mountain bikes, kayaks -canoe will go on the roof, dogs, other wet and muddy stuff) is the benefit of a ute/pick up.

At the moment the BMW E46 Touring we have is nearly there, but doesn't do the job as well as my old Volvo did (bikes won't stand up right in the back with only the front wheel and saddle off, kayak won't fit inside it and the roof rack is about 10cm narrower and has 25kg less roof capacity - 3 kayaks instead of 4, 2 canoes instead of 3, paddles won't fit in the boot, so have to poke into the front, canoe poles have to slot down the side of the seat) so a ute -I still can't get back into calling them pickups- is a good option especially as tax is only £270 pa on it.  GF threatened to kill me when I brought the BMW back after 3 weeks work in Scotland as an Outdoor Guide as it smelt of wet kit, and had had loads of muddy kit lobbed in it... took 4 hours to clean it up and stop it smelling!  Ute? Hose out the back and be done with it; if it had a tray with a work body on it I'd be able to keep it all in the back there nice and secure out of sight.

Please can someone order me the 3.2 with the Super cab, vinyl floor, vinyl seats (I'll put canvas seat covers on them) with a set of 33" Cooper S/T MAXX's and a 2" suspension lift, a rear locker and maybe a nice camping/storage tray instead of a tub on it?  Should be a nice setup for some greenlaning and keeping my gear organised/secure in the back! Might be then close to replacing my Toyota LandCruiser FJ73 that I had in Australia; manual windows, no C'Locking, manual locking hubs, no air con and vinyl seats and plastic floor throughout!

Big sales

2 years 3 days ago

These things are selling like hotcakes in NZ theres a 6 month wait on Rangers right now. They are smashing likes of the Amarok, hilux, and mitsis, but in all honesty NZ has a love affair with pick ups

Please register or login to post a comment.

Our Verdict

Can the Ford Ranger, the brand's new global pick-up, satisfy a more refined palate?

Driven this week

  • Audi S3 cabriolet UK first drive review

    Audi S3 cabriolet UK first drive review

    First drive
    29 July 2014 3:05pm

    Stylish high-performance compact cabriolet is well executed but a harsh ride and lifeless steering dent its appeal

  • Volkswagen Golf SV 1.6 TDI SE first drive review

    Volkswagen Golf SV 1.6 TDI SE first drive review

    First drive
    29 July 2014 2:04pm

    Larger, more spacious Golf majors on practicality, but a lack of driver involvement leaves it second behind Ford's C-Max

  • BMW M3

    BMW M3

    Car review
    28 July 2014

    You’d imagine that a higher roofline and four doors would hinder the M3 saloon’s capabilities compared to the M4 coupé, but you'd be wrong

  • Ford EcoSport 1.0 EcoBoost UK first drive review

    Ford EcoSport 1.0 EcoBoost UK first drive review

    First drive
    28 July 2014

    Ford’s Fiesta-on-stilts compact SUV is appealing, although it is less interesting to drive than it is to look at

  • Volkswagen Amarok Canyon first drive review

    Volkswagen Amarok Canyon first drive review

    First drive
    28 July 2014

    Limited-edition Canyon version of Volkswagen's Amarok pick-up looks brutish, but remains a practical and well-equipped choice