From £25,6707
Diesel engines will be the obvious choice for most S-Max buyers, but is this petrol variant worth consideration?

Our Verdict

Ford S-Max

Can the new S-Max retain its title as the driver's seven-seater?

What is it?

The lesser-powered petrol version of Ford’s new S-Max, and it’s likely to be a rare sight on UK roads.

That’s because Ford predicts that the diesel engines in the S-Max – four differently tuned 2.0-litre units – will account for 97% of sales in the UK, with the remaining 3% being split between the 158bhp and 237bhp petrol variants.

But don’t let modest sales predictions put you off. On paper, this 1.5-litre Ecoboost petrol engine that the S-Max range starts with is more than £1000 cheaper than the 2.0-litre diesel equivalent and shaves almost a second off the 0-62mph time, albeit with inferior fuel economy and CO2 emissions. 

For the private-buying, urban-dwelling big family, the engine looks like it could be a good fit, but is a faster petrol option really a better bet than the frugal entry-level diesels?

We drove this 1.5-litre petrol-engined version with front-wheel drive and six-speed manual gearbox in Titanium trim with an upgraded Sony infotainment system (£450), active park assist (£150), panoramic sunroof (£750), 18in alloys (£400) and the Titanium Family Pack (£400).

What's it like?

The S-Max has always done the practical stuff well, while still offering enough dynamic prowess to be fun. This generation is no different, and the 1.5-litre Ecoboost petrol engine also seen in the Ford Mondeo would seem to be a good affordable option here in the S-Max range.

This seven-seater carries some pretty serious bulk, though, and the powerplant feels a tad sluggish when dragging the S-Max up to higher motorway speeds. That said, it’ll rev out past 5000rpm without fuss, offering a smooth power delivery with minimal turbo lag.

The 177lb ft of torque drops off past 4500rpm, though, so there's no great sense of urgency in acceleration, and it doesn't feel particularly quick. But it is a refined engine, especially below 3000rpm where engine noise is kept to a whisper.

It’s an appropriate urban companion, then, but, while it handles typically well for a Ford family car, outside of its comfort zone on more open roads you’ll pine for the stronger diesel engines that offer better performance and do a greater job of hauling around this MPV's considerable weight. Claimed fuel economy of 43.4mpg and 149g/km of CO2 emissions also leave this S-Max trailing its diesel siblings.

Inside, the S-Max is practical, spacious and well kitted out. It's light and airy, too, at least on our panoramic sunroof-equipped test model. Titanium trim adds sat-nav, cruise control, automatic lights and wipers and lane-keep assist, as well as the new traffic sign recognition safety feature that will spot speed limit changes and adjust your limiter accordingly.

Avoid the optional £400 18in alloys though, as the ride is noticeably better and quieter on the 17ins that come as standard. Wheels aside, the suspension does well to soak up road imperfections, with only the harshest of potholes sending a jolt through the cabin.

Middle row passengers aren’t short on space by any means, but the third row is only really suitable for kids or smaller adults on longer journeys. Access to all seats is a doddle, with levers throwing the middle row up and forward to get to the rearmost seats, or down flat to create an immense 2020-litre load bay.

Add on the nifty £400 Titanium Family Pack and you’ll also be able to fling down all the rear seats at the touch of a few buttons in the boot, and the second row gets tray tables and blinds.

Should I buy one?

The new S-Max is a refreshing alternative in a market with plenty of practical but bland options, and its dynamic abilities still present a compelling case for the MPV for those horrified at the prospect. 

Mid-spec Titanium trim remains our favoured option thanks to its generous kit list, but a sticking point on all S-Maxes is the price, and this petrol version is no exception. Although it’s the cheapest engine in this line-up, an equivalent Citroën C4 Grand Picasso will save you a further £2000 and offer better claimed fuel economy.The S-Max is dynamically far more impressive than the Grand Picasso, though.

Ultimately, while you’ll save some cash by choosing petrol power as a private buyer, the fuel economy will be significantly less impressive. The bulk of buyers - especially company car drivers - will be better off with the diesel variants.

Ford S-Max 1.5 Ecoboost SCTi 160 Titanium

Location Cheshire; On sale September; Price £26,245; Engine 4 cyls, 1498cc, turbocharged, petrol; Power 158bhp at 6000rpm; Torque 177lb ft at 1500-4500rpm; Gearbox 6-spd manual; Kerb weight 1645kg; 0-62mph 9.9sec; Top speed 124mph; Economy 43.5mpg (combined); CO2/tax band 149g/km, 24%

Join the debate

Comments
9

31 July 2015

What's the function of that S-Max Logo'd flap of carpet in the boot?

31 July 2015
I think it folds out over the rear bumper so you don't scrape it loading and unloading. A neat solution, though on the Focus Estate, Ford managed to make that portion of the rear bumper all unpainted plastic which was even better.

31 July 2015
Another car with built in blind spots, These crazy 'A' pillar designs need legislating against if the manufacturers insist on producing this type of design.

3 August 2015
Andrew 61 wrote:

Another car with built in blind spots, These crazy 'A' pillar designs need legislating against if the manufacturers insist on producing this type of design.

Totally disagree. It's either this design; or one very wide/thick windscreen pillar with one massive appalling blind spot. After driving a variety of machines with both, I'd take the 'A' pillar design, as you call it. Personal preference maybe.

.....or we go back to the early 90's where the less safe designs had 'thinner' pillars.

4 August 2015
danielcoote wrote:
Andrew 61 wrote:

Another car with built in blind spots, These crazy 'A' pillar designs need legislating against if the manufacturers insist on producing this type of design.

Totally disagree. It's either this design; or one very wide/thick windscreen pillar with one massive appalling blind spot. After driving a variety of machines with both, I'd take the 'A' pillar design, as you call it. Personal preference maybe.

.....or we go back to the early 90's where the less safe designs had 'thinner' pillars.

I don't think this style of 'A' pillar is for improved crash protection, more a style/design choice. If Mini can produce a car with, presumably, good impact characteristics then I do not see why others cannot do something similar. A very horizontal screen also shows imperfections in the windscreen which can be annoying.

6 August 2015
Andrew 61 wrote:
danielcoote wrote:
Andrew 61 wrote:

Another car with built in blind spots, These crazy 'A' pillar designs need legislating against if the manufacturers insist on producing this type of design.

Totally disagree. It's either this design; or one very wide/thick windscreen pillar with one massive appalling blind spot. After driving a variety of machines with both, I'd take the 'A' pillar design, as you call it. Personal preference maybe.

.....or we go back to the early 90's where the less safe designs had 'thinner' pillars.

I don't think this style of 'A' pillar is for improved crash protection, more a style/design choice. If Mini can produce a car with, presumably, good impact characteristics then I do not see why others cannot do something similar. A very horizontal screen also shows imperfections in the windscreen which can be annoying.

It's a function of the rake of the A-pillar..you can't take the door cutline to the bottom of the A-pillar on this type of vehicle, it would result in a door that opened through the middle of the front wheel.

3 August 2015
"For the private-buying, urban-dwelling big family, the engine looks like it could be a good fit, but is a faster petrol option really a better bet than the frugal entry-level diesels?" YES! Because unless you drive tens of thousands of miles a year a diesel does not make economic sense and encouraging "urban dwellers" to have diesels is stupid because the DPF will never get hot enough to work popping out to Sainsbury's or doing the school run and it will fail potentially killing the engine and costing a fortune to fix.

4 August 2015
DPFs got a lot of bad reports a few years back. Is that the same today? My perception is that the tech is better now, so not so much of an issue, possibly the modern diesels have shorter warm-up times and other tech to assist keeping the DPF at operating temperature. My current 1yo will not allow the "stop/start" to operate, for example, if the DPF is in a regeneration cycle (which lasts about 10 mins). On the "A" pillars matter, the original Picasso we had was a real pain for visibility at times, and I would not want to go back to that A-pillar style.

5 August 2015
Basically it'll take about 2 and a half years for the diesel to make it worthwhile. In that time you'll have a noisy, slower and heavier car. Keep it for another year and you'll be about £400 a year better off, unless the DPF goes wrong that is! If I was spending £27,000 on a car I'd forsake £125'ish a year over 4 years for the reasons given. These figures deprication because that's not that easy to gauge and not that different with modern turbo'd petrol engines

 

Hydrogen cars just went POP

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Lexus LC500
    Car review
    20 October 2017
    Futuristic Lexus LC coupé mixes the latest technology with an old-school atmospheric V8
  • Maserati Levante S GranSport
    First Drive
    20 October 2017
    Get ready to trade in your diesels: Maserati’s luxury SUV finally gets the engine it’s always needed
  • Jaguar XF Sportbrake TDV6
    First Drive
    19 October 2017
    The handsome Jaguar XF Sportbrake exhibits all the hallmarks that makes the saloon great, and with the silky smooth diesel V6 makes it a compelling choice
  • Volkswagen T-Roc TDI
    First Drive
    19 October 2017
    Volkswagen's new compact crossover has the looks, the engineering and the build quality to be a resounding success, but not with this diesel engine
  • BMW M550i
    First Drive
    19 October 2017
    The all-paw M550i is a fast, effortless mile-muncher, but there's a reason why it won't be sold in the UK