Matt Saunders
24 August 2012

What is it?

The Volkswagen Up has wide appeal, and not just from the cost-conscious end of the market. Yes, you can get a base-spec Up for less the £7,995, but the kudos of the VW badge means buyers who wouldn't necessarily fancy such a small car are attracted.

That enviably leads to a desire for lots of equipment. So we arrive at the High Up Bluemotion Technology with five doors. It is one of the most expensive Ups available, but comes with plenty of big car kit, including standard-fit sat-nav and heated seats – as well as Bluetooth audio streaming and ESP. 

What is it like?

The £11,240 High Up is further justification for Volkswagen charging full-sized supermini cash for a car a size smaller. Because it’s a car that has undoubtedly brought new levels of technological richness – luxury, even – to the city car class. It’s also a city car available with five doors.

Although it’s very well packaged, the VW is short and particularly low of roofline. If you’re taller than 6ft 2in and sitting behind someone of the same size, you’ll find kneeroom and headroom tight. Space for shoulders, elbows and feet is good, though. 

The decent size of the rear door aperture makes it easy to lean in over a child seat. The rear windows don’t slide down, but can be opened a few degrees at the rear edge – adult occupants might consider that restrictive, but parents may prefer it.

Should I buy one?

Truth is, if you’re regularly going to carry older teenagers or adults in the back, a Hyundai i10 would serve you better than an Up. Overall, though, it’s not enough to tip the scales against the VW. The Up remains one of our favourite small cars.

Volkswagen High Up 1.0 Bluemotion Technology 5dr

Price £11,240; 0-62mph 13.2sec; Top speed 106mph; Economy 67.3mpg; CO2 98g/km; Kerb weight 957kg; Engine 3 cyls, 999cc, petrol; Power 74bhp at 6200rpm; Torque 70lb ft at 3000-4300rpm; Gearbox 5-spd manual

 

Join the debate

Comments
13

£££

1 year 48 weeks ago

Nice car but at that price you're well into decent Polo territory.

You'd definitely have to want the smaller dimensions to go for this instead of a decent supermini.

Move

1 year 48 weeks ago

The one in the photos does not look to have a High spec, but maybe a Move?

Have tried one liked it alot, went for something bigger though instead, a Citigo Elegance probably makes more sense as a purchase though instead of a Move up.

this is it?

1 year 48 weeks ago

 

is this one, a High spec one?

no Bluemotion Technology badge, mirrors with manual adjusters, can`t even see if it has the ESP and heated seats switches, so I`m in doubt if those pictures come from the data-bank as it looks like it is the case here.

haz

Very nice

1 year 48 weeks ago

I like it, but i do not like the name. Its just not special enough, up?

 

"what car have you got?"

"ive got an up."

Just doesnt sound right, they should have called it Lupo.

High ?

1 year 48 weeks ago

Are we to understand that the "High Up" is not in fact any higher than a regular Up ? With a name like that I assumed it would be an off-road edition with extra ground clearance and sump guards.

I want a basic model (take

1 year 48 weeks ago

Id want a basic model (take up) 5 dr with the more powerfull 74bhp engine. Why dont VW make this car available ? At the moment it looks poor value compared to a Hyundai i10 which you can buy new from £6995

TS7

KenF wrote: Id want a basic

1 year 48 weeks ago

KenF wrote:

Id want a basic model (take up) 5 dr with the more powerfull 74bhp engine. Why dont VW make this car available ?

Have a think...

blue motion?

1 year 48 weeks ago

I think its ridiculous that you have to pay a premium in order to get emmissions below tax threshold, all the 1.0 picantos are under 100g/km as too are the psa/toyota trio. All ups should be below 100g/km

Taking The P ...

1 year 47 weeks ago

£11,240?? ... Let's put this into perspective ... The "top of the range" Hyundai i10 Style also the "big car kit" (granted NOT standard fit sat nav or Bluetooth), has 5-doors and heated front seats AND betters with an electric sunroof, rear electric windows and a meatier engine ... all this for £1,800 LESS ... Only if you live in London and commute in and out of the Congestion Charge Zone will this version of the Up! make any financial sense ...

Another unreliable Volkswagen?

1 year 47 weeks ago

So, have they managed to fix all the VW unreliability issues that dog VW group products, yet, like parking brakes, coil packs and valve guides?  In my regular trips up and down the M6, I now see mostly broken down VWs on the hard shoulder - this morning it was a Golf with clouds of steam coming out from under the bonnet.  Uhoh, I hope it was steam....

Please register or login to post a comment.

Our Verdict

The Volkswagen Up city car isn't revolutionary, it's just quantifiably better than the opposition

Driven this week

  • Volkswagen Amarok Canyon first drive review

    Volkswagen Amarok Canyon first drive review

    First drive
    28 July 2014 9:16am

    Limited-edition Canyon version of Volkswagen's Amarok pick-up looks brutish, but remains a practical and well-equipped choice

  • Jaguar F-type R coupe

    Jaguar F-type R coupe

    Car review
    25 July 2014

    Most powerful Jaguar F-type coupé is sensational to drive, with even better driving dynamics than its convertible sibling

  • BMW X4 UK first drive review

    BMW X4 UK first drive review

    First drive
    25 July 2014

    The new X4 makes a more usable proposition for British roads than the larger X6, but this SUV lacks all-round ability

  • Jaguar F-type coupe

    Jaguar F-type coupe

    Car review
    25 July 2014

    Can the new Jaguar live up to its billing as the company's most desirable model in years?

  • Citroën C4 Cactus

    Citroën C4 Cactus

    Car review
    24 July 2014

    Gallic quirkiness meets pragmatism in the new crossover hatchback