From £24,995
You’ll be able to get more out of the Toyota FT-86, more often, than you could a much faster and more theoretically capable sports car

Our Verdict

This light, uncomplicated coupé promises so much. Can the Toyota GT86 deliver?

28 October 2011

Join the debate

Comments
21

28 October 2011

This really does excite me. It uses the formula that I think all fun cars (hot hatches, coupe's, etc) should use but has been sadly lacking from the market in recent years.

I am going to wait until it finally arrives on the market but this could be the car I would change the Integra for.

 

 

It's all about the twisties........

28 October 2011

Will it really be £20k?

www.Carmotive.com

28 October 2011

Awesome. If this is all true, then Toyota have just become my favourite car manufacturer.

I think this may be my ideal car - two doors, four seats, light weight, rear-drive, compact and not silly-expensive. I can never understand why so many driver's-cars lack space for luggage and people. Surely if you like driving a car, you'll probably want to take it places that require the carrying of more than hand-luggage?

Two things I'm hoping for...

(1) Rear seats that fold down, at least a bit, even if they can't go flat.

(2) Make 6th gear a long-legged 'overdrive' - comfortably over 40mpg on the motorway at the legal limit would be lovely.

28 October 2011

This is the first drive report I have been looking forward to for as long as I can remember. At c.£20k, this is exactly the car I've wanted for YEARS.

I'm utterly and completely delighted that they've not shafted up the handling. Bravo Toyota (and I never thought I'd write that)...

28 October 2011

I can honestly say that I haven’t been excited about test driving a new car for as much as I do with the FT-86 in a long time. And this review just makes the wait even harder!

28 October 2011

Looking forward to this, and the Scooby version.....

What the hell is going on with that interior though..?! It looks about as unsporty as it's possible to make the interior of a car. I would seriously consider buying this car but this could be a deal-breaker for me..

28 October 2011

I'm really looking forward to this car too - could end up being the newest car i've ever bought with my own money (though still wouldn't buy a new one).

I suspect there will be one major problem though, that is I don't believe it will cost anything like £20k given the pricing of some fairly modest hatchbacks nowadays. Hope I'm wrong but i suspect £25k+

28 October 2011

I thought that all the hype would have been preceded by a boring, hefty and overpriced car. This looks fantastic. Honestly, I want one, and I think that I really am going to buy one. It's got a naturally aspirated petrol engine, it's RWD, it has a proper manual gearbox, it costs £20,000, and with Subaru and Toyota mechanics, it's sure to be bulletproof. This appears to be an incredible little car, one that I thought that we'd never see the likes of again. I can't wait to get my hands on one. Thanks Toyota, for a true petrolhead's sportscar for the people.

28 October 2011

Modest grips levels with 215 wide tyres? It's hardly a lightweight either but it will be plenty adequate for the road.

28 October 2011

[quote Dimebar]Modest grips levels with 215 wide tyres?[/quote]

215/45/R17s have been common on Subarus for quite a while. The 2.5 MkIV Legacy has had them since 2003 as well as the facelifted MkIV 2.0 from 2006. The 2006/2007 Impreza WRXs also had 215/45s. Grip levels will be more than enough with a N/A 200 bhp.

Pages

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • First Drive
    22 December 2014
    Entry-level diesel MPV shares its three-cylinder engine with Mini but, due to long gearing, lacks the authoritative punch of a convincing premium product
  • Car review
    17 December 2014
    The replacement for the CL grand tourer has some big boots to fill
  • Mercedes-Benz CLS 350 AMG Line Shooting Brake review
    First Drive
    16 December 2014
    Elegant, alluring and with some welcome improvements, but not good enough to lead the class
  • First Drive
    15 December 2014
    Hushed, flexible and remarkable value for money. Arguably more fit-for-purpose than any other ‘S’.
  • 2015 Mazda CX-3 review
    First Drive
    12 December 2014
    The Mazda CX-3 has style and substance, and deserves consideration for anyone wanting a compact urban SUV. Here’s hoping Mazda gets the price and equipment right