Matt Prior
28 October 2011

What is it?

We’ve been waiting a long time for the Toyota FT86  Literally, because we’ve seen a lot of the concept. But figuratively, too: Toyota is promising the FT-86 will deliver a return to sports car purity that is driven by feel and intuition, not lap times and lateral grip levels. We’ve wanted a car like that for a long while.

“Sports cars have gotten boring,” Toyota says. “They’re only interested in going fast.” The FT-86 is meant to amend that, to bring speeds down but take the enjoyment up, not unlike the Caterham 7 Supersport which we’ve fallen for recently.

The FT-86 is on a new platform that has been co-developed with Subaru (whose Subaru BRZ will be distinctly similar). We still don’t have all the technical details because it’s some way from launch – sales start in June 2012, following the production car’s unveiling at the end of November 2011.

What I can tell you is that it’s “as small as possible for a four-seater sports car,” which means it weighs 1280kg. It has a 2.0-litre flat-four petrol engine in the front, naturally aspirated, which is supplied by Subaru but gets Toyota’s D4-S direct injection system. It makes 197bhp.

The key things to add are these: it drives the rear wheels through a six-speed manual gearbox and a Torsen limited-slip differential. And the tyres are the same modest 215/45 R17 items you’ll find on a Toyota Prius.

Oh, and the ESP can be completely switched off.

What’s it like?

As much fun as you’d hope. I drove a disguised car on a deserted airfield last May (wasn’t supposed to be able to tell you about it until the end of November, and it still makes me smile to think about it now.

First impressions: it feels light and compact, a bit like an MX-5. The driving position is low, straight and snug, with grippy front seats (and not a lot of room in the back).

The Toyota FT-86 feels quick enough, too, with a precise if a touch notchy gearchange, and an engine note that’s a bit growly – there’s not much flat-four burble. Tweaking the NVH is high on Toyota’s ‘to-do’ list. It has a broad power curve - it revs to 7500 but there’s no desperate need to wind it that far past the mid-range.

It’s hard to accurately guage the ride on a concrete airfield, but the FT-86 feels quite deftly set-up, light on its feet, with a touch of tyre roar that’s to be expected.

It steers easily too. At 2.5 turns lock-to-lock the steering’s quick without being hyperactive, and is light-to-middling in weight. It all adds to the impression that this is going to be an easy car to get along with.

Find a corner and you’ll find some roll, but its rate is well contained. The FT-86’s weight distribution is 53/47 per cent front/rear, so it’ll nudge into steady-state understeer if you’re on a constant throttle, where it grips moderately well and is pleasingly poised.

The great thing about the FT-86 though is, as promised, it really handles. It lets you choose how you want to corner. Add any amount of power and it’ll turn at least neutral. Trail the brakes into a bend, give a mid-corner throttle-lift or, well, just give the steering a bit of a bung and lots of throttle and it’ll either straighten its line or give you armfuls of oversteer, utterly as you prefer.

There’s still a bit of tweaking to do on the damping, but it’s 90 per cent of the way there. As it is, in third gear the FT-86 will run out of power to keep a long slide going (if you like that sort of thing), so inevitably it takes momentum rather than power to play games with the chassis. But if you add more power to compensate then you’ll want a turbo and bigger stoppers too, and that adds weight, and, well – that’s where the downward spiral starts, right?

“The key development for the FT-86 is that it’s a front-engined, rear-drive car with intuitive handling,” says Toyota.

“A fun car is a car you can control. We rejected the idea of a car developed using numbers. It must have front-engine/rear-drive, a naturally-aspirated engine and a low centre of gravity.”

Should I buy one?

I suspect those who do won’t regret it. The Toyota FT-86 will need a change in attitude: this car’s not about delivering ultimate acceleration or lap times, it’s just about having fun.

The FT-86’s modest limits and power mean that it should prove enjoyable on the road: you’ll be able to get more out of it, more often, than you could a much faster and more theoretically capable sports car, whose reward is more often than not limited by visibility and sensibility.

It’d be terrific fun on a track day, too. It’s light enough to not wear out its consumables quickly and, while an FT-86 wouldn’t be the fastest way around a circuit, there aren’t too many cars out there – certainly not at its predicted £20k-odd price tag – that could put a bigger smile on their driver’s face.

Toyota FT-86

Price: 20,000 (est); Top speed: n/a; 0-62mph: n/a; Economy: n/a; Co2: n/a; Kerbweight: 1280kg; Engine type: 2.0-litre, four-cylinder petrol; Power: 197bhp; Torque: n/a; Gearbox: six-speed manual

Join the debate

Comments
21

Re: Toyota FT-86

2 years 25 weeks ago

This really does excite me. It uses the formula that I think all fun cars (hot hatches, coupe's, etc) should use but has been sadly lacking from the market in recent years.

I am going to wait until it finally arrives on the market but this could be the car I would change the Integra for.

 

 

It's all about the twisties........

Re: Toyota FT-86

2 years 25 weeks ago

Will it really be £20k?

www.Carmotive.com

Re: Toyota FT-86

2 years 25 weeks ago

Awesome. If this is all true, then Toyota have just become my favourite car manufacturer. I think this may be my ideal car - two doors, four seats, light weight, rear-drive, compact and not silly-expensive. I can never understand why so many driver's-cars lack space for luggage and people. Surely if you like driving a car, you'll probably want to take it places that require the carrying of more than hand-luggage? Two things I'm hoping for... (1) Rear seats that fold down, at least a bit, even if they can't go flat. (2) Make 6th gear a long-legged 'overdrive' - comfortably over 40mpg on the motorway at the legal limit would be lovely.

Re: Toyota FT-86

2 years 25 weeks ago

This is the first drive report I have been looking forward to for as long as I can remember. At c.£20k, this is exactly the car I've wanted for YEARS.

I'm utterly and completely delighted that they've not shafted up the handling. Bravo Toyota (and I never thought I'd write that)...

Re: Toyota FT-86

2 years 25 weeks ago

I can honestly say that I haven’t been excited about test driving a new car for as much as I do with the FT-86 in a long time. And this review just makes the wait even harder!

Re: Toyota FT-86

2 years 25 weeks ago

Looking forward to this, and the Scooby version.....

What the hell is going on with that interior though..?! It looks about as unsporty as it's possible to make the interior of a car. I would seriously consider buying this car but this could be a deal-breaker for me..

Re: Toyota FT-86

2 years 25 weeks ago

I'm really looking forward to this car too - could end up being the newest car i've ever bought with my own money (though still wouldn't buy a new one).

I suspect there will be one major problem though, that is I don't believe it will cost anything like £20k given the pricing of some fairly modest hatchbacks nowadays. Hope I'm wrong but i suspect £25k+

Re: Toyota FT-86

2 years 25 weeks ago

I thought that all the hype would have been preceded by a boring, hefty and overpriced car. This looks fantastic. Honestly, I want one, and I think that I really am going to buy one. It's got a naturally aspirated petrol engine, it's RWD, it has a proper manual gearbox, it costs £20,000, and with Subaru and Toyota mechanics, it's sure to be bulletproof. This appears to be an incredible little car, one that I thought that we'd never see the likes of again. I can't wait to get my hands on one. Thanks Toyota, for a true petrolhead's sportscar for the people.

Re: Toyota FT-86

2 years 25 weeks ago

Modest grips levels with 215 wide tyres? It's hardly a lightweight either but it will be plenty adequate for the road.

Re: Toyota FT-86

2 years 25 weeks ago

Dimebar wrote:
Modest grips levels with 215 wide tyres?

215/45/R17s have been common on Subarus for quite a while. The 2.5 MkIV Legacy has had them since 2003 as well as the facelifted MkIV 2.0 from 2006. The 2006/2007 Impreza WRXs also had 215/45s. Grip levels will be more than enough with a N/A 200 bhp.

Please register or login to post a comment.

Our Verdict

This light, uncomplicated coupé promises so much. Can the Toyota GT86 deliver?

Driven this week

  • Peugeot 308 e-THP 130 first drive review

    Peugeot 308 e-THP 130 first drive review

    First drive
    23 April 2014 2:10pm

    New three-cylinder petrol performs well in the 308, adding extra appeal to this stylish and upmarket family hatch

  • Audi R8 e-tron

    Audi R8 e-tron

    Car review
    23 April 2014 10:47am

    We test the prototype all-electric Audi R8 that's capable of 0-62mph in 4.2sec, with an optimum range of 124 miles and a charging time of less than one hour

  • 2014 Volkswagen Polo first drive review

    2014 Volkswagen Polo first drive review

    First drive
    22 April 2014

    Clever tech makes the Polo more economical, cleaner and safer, while new engines offer greater refinement but no more driving involvement

  • Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV

    Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV

    Car review
    17 April 2014

    Can this plug-in hybrid SUV do more than just cut your tax bill?

  • Volvo V60 Polestar first drive review

    Volvo V60 Polestar first drive review

    First drive
    17 April 2014

    Volvo V60 Polestar lacks edge, but offers a glimpse of more advanced performance Volvos to come from Polestar