Some of the Formula 1 fans are rather unhappy at the moment about the decision to award double points for the final race of the season in 2014.

There has been a great deal of chatter in the social media, while the sport itself has remained pin-droppingly quiet on the subject. The only driver who has come out and objected vocally is Sebastian Vettel, and one can understand, given that he is the man who is likely to suffer most as a result of the new rule. Otherwise, no-one seems to care.

The view of the drivers is that if the rules are the same for everyone then they don’t really care. They also understand that while they love to race one another it is clear that the sport is an entertainment business and it is very important to keep the viewing figures high until the end of the season.

The biggest figures in a year are generally when there is a championship showdown and so the bigger the showdown, the more people watch. The viewing figures are important as they affect the sport's ability to attract advertising and sponsorships.

The fans argue that the new rule gives the last race much more significance compared to others, but it is not unusual for sports to have systems that are aimed at creating an exciting moment when the battle is decided. Nascar racing has a system where the top 10 drivers, and the two drivers ranked between 11th and 20th who have scored the most wins, all have their points total reset at 2000 after the 26th race, making it impossible for those behind them to catch up.

There are some minus bonuses added for the number of wins they scored before the cut-off point but basically it restarts the championship for the last 10 races and wipes previous advantages. This pretty much guarantees that the championship will go down to the wire.

Formula 1 is doing the same thing but, without taking anything away from those who have scored. There was a time in F1 when there was a 9-6-4-3-2-1 system, but there were various stipulations about the number of points that counted for the championship, which meant that the outcome of the title was influenced on occasion. Since 1991 drivers have counted all their points but the number of points awarded has changed several times.

So, who do you think will triumph in F1 2014?