25 July 2017
Review

Five years after showing us a Panamera wagon as a concept car, Porsche has launched a second estate-car version of its big four-seater grand tourer, which will rival Audi's RS6 Performance and the Mercedes-AMG CLS 63 Shooting Brake.

Roughly the same size as the saloon version, the new Sport Turismo has bigger rear doors, a long roof line and a larger boot. It's also the first Panamera yet to be offered with five seats - although, with that middle back seat only really suitable for small children, Porsche prefers to call it a '4+1'.

Porsche invited us to Vancouver Island, Canada, for our first test drive of the 541bhp Turbo version: a car capable of 62mph in just 3.8sec, costing a whisker less than £120,000. So is this the fast estate car made extra-special - or just the Panamera perfected?

Join the debate

Comments
3

25 July 2017

Matt says, "it's OK to want one." It's OK Matt, I want one.

25 July 2017

Yes a slightly odd review - pottering slowly along country roads while discussing how desirable and good looking it is. The 'standard' Panam looks a lot better than the original so it's all a matter of taste. Its closest rival is probably something like the RRS SVR, in terms of what a customer might choose instead.

2 August 2017

I really like this car. Somehow the ugly duckling 1st gen has morphed via the so-so fastback saloon into this elegant swan of a classy estate car cum shooting brake. Fast wagons are always cool. It's the rule.

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Alfa Romeo Stelvio
    The new Alfa Romeo Stelvio. We've tested it on UK roads for the first time
    First Drive
    18 August 2017
    First tilt on UK roads reveals a chassis almost as absorbing as the Giulia’s, though the Stelvio’s comfort and quality levels may disappoint SUV clientele
  • Car review
    18 August 2017
    Amid a broader vRS refresh, Skoda has built its most powerful Octavia yet to take on the established order
  • Jaguar F-Type Convertible 2.0 i4 on the road
    First Drive
    16 August 2017
    Having been previously impressed by the agile four-cylinder F-Type, now is our chance to try it in the UK and in open-top form. But can this entry-level Jaguar sports car hold off the impressive Porsche Boxster?
  • Aston Martin V8 Vantage AMR
    The Aston Martin V8 Vantage AMR is a swansong for the Vantage - but the first model to sport the AMR title
    First Drive
    16 August 2017
    Aston Martin's swansong for its venerable Vantage sports car allows it to bow out with its head held high, yet the performance AMR sub-brand's first outing leaves you feeling short-changed
  • Range Rover Velar 2.0D
    First Drive
    15 August 2017
    Can the newest Range Rover deliver the goods when it's being powered by a four-cylinder, 2.0L diesel engine? We tried it on UK roads to find out

Latest videos