24 March 2017
Feature

Finally, the Bugatti Chiron review: the car we’ve been waiting for, aching for, yearning to arrive, is finally here.

With 1487bhp (1500hp) it’s set to become the fastest production car in the world, eclipsing Bugatti’s own Veyron Super Sport when it comes to its top speed. At the moment it’s limited to 261bhp but in 2018 Bugatti will remove the speed limiter and see just how fast the Chiron will go down its own test track, which has a five mile straight.

Meantime we’ve driven the Chiron and seen what this 8.0-litre, 16 cylinder, four-turbo, four-wheel drive, carbonfibre monster can do. Join us as we take to the wheel and marvel at the world of awesomeness it unleashes.

Bonus - watch the Chiron blast away from the start line at the Goodwood Festival of Speed:

Read our full review of the Bugatti Chiron here

Join the debate

Comments
8

25 March 2017
What complete and utter nonsense.

25 March 2017
I doubt that I'd buy one, even if I could afford it, but I'd probably hire one for a week for the sake of having a go and finding out for myself what it's like. That said, spending 2.5 million on a car made by VW makes a hell of a lot more sense than paying 250,000 quid for a heap of junk from Ford.

I don't need to put my name here, it's on the left

 

27 March 2017
great achievements etc. But 2.5 million? I could buy a bunch of my dream cars for that. Madness.

28 March 2017
If you could afford to buy a Chiron you could afford to have all the dream cars on your list as well. The question is not one of money, in that case, it is simply one of how much would you want this car, for itself, with no other influencing factors.

As I stated above, I don't think I'd want to own one, but I'd certainly like to give one a try-out for a few days, for the experience. That's a viewpoint I developed during the life of the Veyron. When it first happened I thought, oh yeah, if only. But gradually I came to the conclusion that it would appeal more to me personally as a one-off experience. Yeah, I did that,now it's over I have the memory, what next.

I don't need to put my name here, it's on the left

 

27 March 2017
How the engineers did it - I mean fighting the laws of physics -, we' ll never know.
Absolutely incredible.
Hats off to you Bugatti!

28 March 2017
Emissions, no KERS, high price, ... true. BUT the engineering work in this car is a masterpiece. Congrats, Bugatti to this fine car. Others might be almost as fast, but then they are stripped racers without leather everywhere, satnav, aircon, electr.seats,... Thumbs up!

28 March 2017
The one comment I'm going to make that I haven't seen from anyone else: I love the way it looks, from every angle. It is MILES better looking than the Veyron, which I considered to be one of the ugliest supercars in the world. This thing is gorgeous.

4 April 2017
Well,maybe it should,to fast for ANY public road,thus it becomes an attraction,you pay your money and get a thrill ride down a runway somewhere,ultimately,anything faster WILL be a fairground ride,something that will sit in some millionaire Garage and be gawped at because it is too scary to drive fast.

Peter Cavellini.

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Jaguar E-Pace 2018 review hero front
    Car review
    20 April 2018
    Can Jaguar’s compact SUV bring flair and dynamic polish to a fast-growing class?
  • Audi TT RS Coupé
    First Drive
    20 April 2018
    The Audi TT RS has the looks, a vociferous engine and the supercar-baiting performance, but is it too uncompromising to use as a daily driver?
  • Lamborghini Urus review 2018 hero front
    First Drive
    19 April 2018
    The supercar maker's new 4x4 is massively capable wherever it goes, while being extremely conspicuous and costly while it does it
  • Skoda Kodiaq
    First Drive
    19 April 2018
    High-spec seven-seater Kodiaq begins its family life with a lot to prove — for Skoda and SUVs
  • Ford Focus RS Race Red Edition front
    First Drive
    18 April 2018
    Ford drafts in some tasty extras for this limited-run Focus RS swansong edition

Latest videos