5 August 2016

The Aston Martin DB11 has some pretty big shoes to fill. Its predecessor, the DB9, bowed out as a much loved British grand tourer that had been the base and inspiration for a whole host of Aston Martin models.

The DB11 does have an all-new turbocharged V12 engine, however, and as demonstrated by the Porsche 718 Cayman and Boxster, turbocharging can substantially improve a car's efficiency.

But when character is more important than performance and engine noise is one of a car's strongest selling points, will the DB11's boosted 12-cylinder engine become its weakest link? Autocar's Matt Prior takes to the roads of Italy to find out.

Read our full web review of the car here

Watch Matt Prior sample Aston Martin's 820bhp Vulcan

Join the debate


6 August 2016
That infotainment system did not look slick or pretty. And why not top notch graphics in such an expensive and all new car? Why save money on such stuff that are "in your face" daily for the owner of the car? Feels like AM never goes all the way, always something missing, just like US cars. They always end up saving in the wrong places.


6 August 2016
Tell me,is it impossible to design a NEW Car that doesn't have design cues from other makers?,because this just isn't enough,yes it's an Aston Martin,compared to other Astons it is a move on,i'm not saying Aston Martin should go all Lamborghini,Koenigsigg on us,but at least try not to look like other at first glance?!

Peter Cavellini.

16 August 2016
I have had a Rapide since 2011. It is an absolute joy to look at, start and drive. I read reviews that find fault with a zero-60 time that is a tenth or two slower than some other vehicle and i wonder where these people drive their cars. The rapid has more that sufficient acceleration to get past situations than anyone needs. The style is exceptional as the proportions are so well done.
The interior is cleanly and comfortably finished. The B&O system can fill the inside and outside with sound.
It is good that the key has been changed. That focus was not based on user surveys, I am sure.
Changing the generally easy to identify car would be an error. Others are trying to change to better emulate the AM style.

Mike T

9 December 2016
What's not to love AM style, not overdone engine, excellent infotainment it is so gorgeous in the flesh can't wait for mine


Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • First Drive
    23 March 2018
    Fully-loaded, big-hitting diesel CLS shows the potential perils of ticking too many options boxes on your order form. A good car with a bad suspension combination.
  • BMW M5
    First Drive
    22 March 2018
    Super saloon deploys four-wheel drive to improve every facet of its driving experience. Faster and more capable than any, and more exciting than most, of its celebrated predecessors
  • Range Rover Sport SVR
    First Drive
    22 March 2018
    More power and an intoxicating soundtrack have breathed new life into our love affair with the biggest, baddest Range Rover Sport variant
  • First Drive
    21 March 2018
    The new Vantage has been developed as a Porsche 911 beater, and our first taste on UK roads suggests it can live up to that bold claim
  • Nissan Leaf Tekna
    The is the new Nissan Leaf
    First Drive
    21 March 2018
    The new version of the world's best-selling electric car gains a bigger battery and more power. How does it compare to rivals such as the Volkswagen e-Golf?

Latest videos