22 May 2017
Review

BMW's revered Motorsport Division will take the momentous step of switching its forty-year-old super saloon icon, the M5, from two driven wheels to four- when the sixth-generation version of the car goes on sale in 2018. But the German car-maker insists that its new 'M xDrive' four-wheel-drive system makes the new M5 even more spectacular to drive than any of its famous antecedents.

In order to prove the substance of that claim, BMW let us loose in an early prototype version of the M5 at its Miramas proving ground in southern France - and also provided former F1 driver and current BMW DTM touring car ace Timo Glock for passenger-seat insight and added amusement. Chief tester Matt Saunders was the man next to him with 615bhp under his right foot.

Click here for the web review of the 2017 BMW M5 prototype

Join the debate

Comments
7

23 May 2017
Not so much the horsepower or the torque,it's how it steers,how FWD feels.

Peter Cavellini.

jer

23 May 2017
My car has half the horsepower and traction most of year is so so. So probably not before time.

29 May 2017
but nobody else has revealed an exact power number. Was that a mistaken revelation?

10 June 2017
4WD, auto box, turbo, synthetic sound...

Less ans less natural the M5...

What is the interest to ride with it in more and more restricted conditions ?

15 June 2017
The current m5 was ok in bone dry conditions but on even damp roads you could spin the wheels (at least i could) in any gear. 4wd is long overdue

15 June 2017
The current m5 was ok in bone dry conditions but on even damp roads you could spin the wheels (at least i could) in any gear. 4wd is long overdue

15 June 2017
The current m5 was ok in bone dry conditions but on even damp roads you could spin the wheels (at least i could) in any gear. 4wd is long overdue

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Alfa Romeo Stelvio
    The new Alfa Romeo Stelvio. We've tested it on UK roads for the first time
    First Drive
    18 August 2017
    First tilt on UK roads reveals a chassis almost as absorbing as the Giulia’s, though the Stelvio’s comfort and quality levels may disappoint SUV clientele
  • Car review
    18 August 2017
    Amid a broader vRS refresh, Skoda has built its most powerful Octavia yet to take on the established order
  • Jaguar F-Type Convertible 2.0 i4 on the road
    First Drive
    16 August 2017
    Having been previously impressed by the agile four-cylinder F-Type, now is our chance to try it in the UK and in open-top form. But can this entry-level Jaguar sports car hold off the impressive Porsche Boxster?
  • Aston Martin V8 Vantage AMR
    The Aston Martin V8 Vantage AMR is a swansong for the Vantage - but the first model to sport the AMR title
    First Drive
    16 August 2017
    Aston Martin's swansong for its venerable Vantage sports car allows it to bow out with its head held high, yet the performance AMR sub-brand's first outing leaves you feeling short-changed
  • Range Rover Velar 2.0D
    First Drive
    15 August 2017
    Can the newest Range Rover deliver the goods when it's being powered by a four-cylinder, 2.0L diesel engine? We tried it on UK roads to find out

Latest videos