27 February 2020
Review

The BMW M8 Competition Coupe is Germany’s latest luxury sports car. Costing £125,000 in the UK and with 616bhp of power it’s a fast, four wheel drive four seater that can get from 0-60mph in 3.2 seconds.

But here it faces very silly competition, in the form of the Ford Mustang CS800, from UK tuner Sutton Bespoke. With a huge supercharger on its 5.0 V8 engine it makes as much as 825bhp and will get from 0-60mph in, we estimate, around 4.0 seconds and on to a top speed of around 180mph. It costs from £63,000 but here it costs £105,000 as tested, which puts it on a natural par with the BMW.

So which is better, faster, more desirable? Find out in our first drive review of the pair and stay tuned for a fun verdict from our testers Matt Prior and Mauro Calo.

READ MORE

BMW M8 Competiton: Autocar road test review

Sutton CS800 Mustang 2019 UK review

Mustang: all the wild and wonderful offshoots

Join the debate

Comments
9

27 February 2020
The the sound from that Mustang's engine was spine tingling!

Also, despite what I've ve read online loads of time, beyond both having the classic coupe layout, the 8 doesn't really look that much like the Mustang at all. But that's just me.

27 February 2020

I think the GT350/500 would be bonkers if you can import it into the UK...

27 February 2020

Where is the BMW M ?

 

27 February 2020

Why do you estimate it will do 'around 180mph'?  Cars with half that power can do 180mph.  

 

It is one of those statements you read all too often in Autocar that are obviously written by someone who has no deep understanding of what they are writing about.

28 February 2020

Matt are you wearing a onesie?

28 February 2020
....maybe for a fully restored '68 390GT Fastback Bullitt replica, or a genuine '67/'68 Shelby GT350/500 Fastback, but not for a "Fast and the Furious" wannabe modern Mustang.

For that sort of money, I'd rather buy a low mileage used 5.0 V8 Jaguar F Type, get it reworked to 600+ bhp, and enjoy 0 to 60mph in @ 3.5secs, knock on the door of 200mph, and not look like I've raided Halfords accessories to give my car a sportier look.

29 February 2020
The BMW is pretty nice.

The Mustang (any, as long as it has a V8) is one of the few truly appealing cars on sale now.

If my old AMG ever expires, that's where I'm going.

1 March 2020

Fun video!  It would have been interesting to see how things went in dry conditions. I'm certain the Mustang would destroy the M8 even with it in four wheel drive mode. Only change I'd make is to paint the bonnet on the Mustang. 

5 March 2020

I'am made $84, 8254 so far this year working online and I'm a full time student. Im using an online business opportunity I heard about and I'AM made such great money. It's really user friendly and I'm just so happy that I found out about it. Heres what I do,.for more information simply open this link thank you....HERE══════►   2yelp

 

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments
Advertisement
Advertisement

Find an Autocar car review

Advertisement