8
Lifted Volvo V60 Cross Country lands in the UK in D4 diesel guise. We see how well it fares on British tarmac

Our Verdict

Volvo V60 Cross Country 2019 road test review - hero front

Cross Country model brings extra ride height, all-wheel drive and off-road body cladding to Volvo’s handsome mid-sized estate

Simon Davis
28 February 2019
Volvo V60 Cross Country 2019 UK

What is it?

The last time we got our hands on Volvo’s new V60 Cross Country, we happened to be in the north of Sweden, just south of the Arctic Circle. Not exactly the warmest place on Earth, then; and in late January, with snow and ice covering the frozen roads, and the temperature dropping as low as -30C, it’s not exactly the ideal environment to put a new car through its paces, either.

However, despite the harsh conditions we still had our suspicions that when the jacked-up estate car made its way to the UK, we’d find it to be a refined and impressively comfortable family wagon. Now, on what is an unseasonably warm February day in Suffolk, we’re finally able to put that hypothesis under the microscope.

It’s worth pointing out at this point that the particular strain of V60 Cross Country being examined today is different to the one we encountered out in deepest, darkest Scandinavia. Where that model was the petrol-powered T5 version, this is the £38,270 oil-burning D4 - which is currently the only derivative of the V60 Cross Country available here in Britain. The T5 will arrive at a later date, mind.

That four-cylinder diesel engine develops a modest 189bhp, while a torque figure of 295lb ft - spread from 1750-2500rpm - ensures this most handsome of Volvos isn’t short on pulling power. This is all then boxed up and delivered to all four wheels via an eight-speed automatic 'box.

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

What's it like?

Wearing optional 19in alloys instead of the studded winter tyres fitted previously, the V60 Cross Country’s secondary ride is indisputably improved, but not quite to the extent we hoped it might be. Don’t mistake that for us writing it off as poor; the reality is far from it. But there’s an underlying sense of brittleness about the manner in which it deals with pockmarked patches of road that does encroach on the Volvo’s overall ride refinement. Were our test car equipped with the standard 18in alloys, maybe these judders and jolts might not have been quite as pronounced. Maybe. 

Anyway, until we’re able to try one of the smaller-wheeled variants, that 'maybe' will have to stand. Which is a bit annoying really, because the rest of the V60 Cross Country’s ride is very impressive in a soft-edged, wafty sort of way. And when you think about it, that’s exactly what you’d want from five-seater family estate with a large boot (529 litres to the glass line), and the ability to journey a bit further from the Tarmac than its regular estate car competition. 

On rolling rural roads and lanes, the V60 Cross Country walks the tight-rope spanning the gorge between cushioned, pillowy comfort on the one side; and tight, controlled body movements on the other with impeccable balance and finesse. It’s soft and forgiving enough to smooth out fast compressions in near-graceful fashion, but not so spongy that it becomes a rolly-polly liability in the bends. Rotation around its longitudinal axis is at all times doled out in a progressive, restrained manner.

The effect is that the V60 Cross Country never really feels anything less than resolutely surefooted. As with the regular V60, its steering rack is still a touch too light and by no means talkative. But given the fact the athletic expectation isn’t quite as high on an estate wearing protective black cladding and whose ride-height has been jacked up by 60mm compared with the car on which it’s based, it’s a less poignant criticism.

The D4 powerplant is a less endearing part of the V60 Cross Country’s mechanical make-up, though. As in other Volvo models, it makes its presence known by way of a clattery, rough-edged soundtrack that’s a shade too bucolic in nature to feel truly at home in what is a near-£40,000 upmarket estate car. Nevertheless, it pulls in a strong enough fashion to dispatch overtake manoeuvres on tight country roads briskly, while its agrarian tones fade into the background at a steady cruise.

Its eight-speed 'box hooks up in a smooth enough fashion at low speed, but left in Comfort mode it hesitates to select a lower gear on kickdown. Dynamic mode largely quells this reluctance, while also introducing an added level of heft to the steering rack.

Should I buy one?

So, from a dynamic point of view the V60 Cross Country remains a highly likeable thing. That it also comes equipped with an impressive roster of equipment as standard (think satellite navigation, automatic LED headlights, a suite of active safety technology); has an interior that’s not only spacious, but appealing in both a material and visual sense; and should be more than capable of returning a touring economy figure in the mid-40s, add to its appeal as a well-rounded family wagon.

Of course, with an extensive options list, it’s possible to push its £38,270 asking price north of £50,000. That said, such extravagance will be entirely possible on four-wheel-drive offerings from rival German manufacturers, too. The Volvo is also expected to hold its value well. Over three years and 36,000 miles, the V60 Cross Country should retain 46% of its asking price. An Audi A4 Allroad, on the other hand, should hold 44%.

There are sharper-handling family estates out there, and more mechanically refined ones too. But few can match the Volvo for its laid-back, composed aura of cool - in both a dynamic and aesthetic sense.

Volvo V60 Cross Country D4 AWD

Where Suffolk; Price £38,270; On sale Now; Engine 4 cyls, 1969cc, turbo, diesel; Power 189bhp at 4250rpm; Torque 295lb ft at 1750-2500rpm; Gearbox 8-speed automatic; Kerb weight 1792kg; Top speed 130mph; 0-62mph 8.2sec; Fuel economy 42.8-47.9mpg (WLTP combined); CO2 155-174g/km (WLTP); Rivals Audi A4 Allroad, BMW 320d xDrive M Sport Touring

Join the debate

Comments
11

28 February 2019
Passat Alltrack ? Insignia country thing? An Octavia Scout? etc . All with much bigger boots but cheaper . All drive pretty well also and are well made . I wouldn't think the Volvo would hold its value that well either , currently 2 year old V90s have shed more than £20k ... ouch.

28 February 2019
Sundym wrote:

Passat Alltrack ? Insignia country thing? An Octavia Scout? etc . All with much bigger boots but cheaper . All drive pretty well also and are well made . I wouldn't think the Volvo would hold its value that well either , currently 2 year old V90s have shed more than £20k ... ouch.

Volvo would probably prefer comparision with an A4 allroad or a 3 series touring X drive, which it is quite competitively priced against. Certainly interiors are right up there now but engines and dynamics? not so sure yet. But certainly a league above those you mention in overall premium-ness... whatever that really is.

 

1 March 2019
Sundym wrote:

Passat Alltrack ? Insignia country thing? An Octavia Scout? etc . All with much bigger boots but cheaper . All drive pretty well also and are well made . I wouldn't think the Volvo would hold its value that well either , currently 2 year old V90s have shed more than £20k ... ouch.

I dont think those looking at a V60CC will be looking at a Skoda Octavia or a Passat, and why anyone would want a VAG badged diesel is beyond me.  

1 March 2019
Citytiger wrote:

Sundym wrote:

Passat Alltrack ? Insignia country thing? An Octavia Scout? etc . All with much bigger boots but cheaper . All drive pretty well also and are well made . I wouldn't think the Volvo would hold its value that well either , currently 2 year old V90s have shed more than £20k ... ouch.

I dont think those looking at a V60CC will be looking at a Skoda Octavia or a Passat, and why anyone would want a VAG badged diesel is beyond me.  

My point was people don't just look at 1 or 2 other choices , particularly for 'sensible' vehicles like this (they'd buy a 4x4 if it was all about image ) it IS important to mention the other choices , we all know the A4 for example is just a Passat in drag . The folk that buy these vehicles may have looked at Legacy outbacks also or a Superb 4x4 ? I'm one of them , I don't want a 4x4 SUV ... value and driving dynamics are important to me not just what the neighbour's think.

1 March 2019
Citytiger wrote:

Sundym wrote:

Passat Alltrack ? Insignia country thing? An Octavia Scout? etc . All with much bigger boots but cheaper . All drive pretty well also and are well made . I wouldn't think the Volvo would hold its value that well either , currently 2 year old V90s have shed more than £20k ... ouch.

I dont think those looking at a V60CC will be looking at a Skoda Octavia or a Passat, and why anyone would want a VAG badged diesel is beyond me.  

Volvo 2.0 4 pot is no better or worse than the VAG 2.0 4 pot diesel.  But if I was spening nearly £40k I'd want 6 cyclinders otherwise you'll get nothing more than a hum-dum 2.0 pot from a £20k hatchback that's been chipped, effectively.

typos1 - Just can’t respect opinion

28 February 2019

... and this is pretty much all the car i'd ever need.

 

 

1 March 2019

The Review Volvo V60 Cross Country 2019 UK is very interesting and attractive. The car is very beautiful and luxurious. The car is my dream.

 

 fnaf

1 March 2019

Volvo has an amazing engine that is enough to impress your opposition and give tough time to them. 

1 March 2019
markhenry wrote:

Volvo has an amazing engine that is enough to impress your opposition and give tough time to them. 

Most reviewers say the Volvo engines are rough as bag of old nails , in a similar league to JLR diesels....

25 June 2019

ieee projects on machine learning antenna based projects using matlab ieee based image processing projects ieee projects on image-processing final year mechanical engineering projects vlsi projects for mtech students Biomedical Projects IEEE IEEE Projects for ECE IEEE Projects for CSE in Bangalore ieee projects in bangalore ieee based ece projects IEEE Projects for CSE Bangalore wireless sensor networks projects for final year wireless sensor networks projects for cse wireless sensor networks projects wireless sensor networks projects using matlab wireless sensor networks related projects wireless sensor networks projects topics for cse phd thesis writing services in bangalore IEEE Projects on Image Processing IEEE Projects on Python IEEE Projects on Machine Learning iot projects for mtech big data projects for cse final year students matlab based projects for electronics signal processing projects using matlab cloud computing projects for computer science Image Processing Projects Using Python Antenna Based Projects medical electronics projects in bangalore wireless sensor networks projects in java python projects using raspberry pi IEEE Projects Based on Data Mining IEEE Projects in Data Mining IEEE Projects for CSE Based on Data Mining IEEE Projects for CSE in Data Mining. Arduino Projects for CSE arduino projects in bangalore Arduino Projects for Final Year big data mtech projects structural engineering projects for btech students structural engineering projects for final year students mechanical projects for final year students science models for exhibition wireless sensor networks projects for final year IOT Projects Using Arduino UNO Arduino Projects Bangalore Final Year Projects for CSE in IOT final year projects for cse in cloud computing final year projects for cse diploma final year projects for cse in image processing final year projects for ece based on vlsi final year projects for ece based on iot final year projects for ece final year projects for electrical engineering students Civil Engineering Projects for Final Year Students telecommunication projects for final year students instrumentation projects for final year students labview projects for students mca mini projects in php mca project in java matlab projects on control system IEEE Projects for cse Bangalore Image Processing IEEE Projects ieee projects on python Data Science IEEE Projects ieee projects on data mining Machine Learning IEEE Projects ieee projects in bangalore Mtech projects on Machine Learning ieee projects on wireless communication mtech projects for cse mtech projects based on matlab bca projects bca mini projects bca projects in java EEE projects for final year robotic projects in bangalore Final Year Engineering Projects for CSE IEEE projects for final year ECE comsol projects power electronics projects for mtech power system projects ieee Diploma Projects for Computer Science diploma based projects in electronics diploma projects in mechanical engineering diploma projects electrical diploma civil engineering projects final year students internship in bangalore for cse internship in bangalore for cse internship in bangalore for ece internship in bangalore for eee Ignou BCA Project Synopsis mechanical agriculture based projects Networking Projects for CSE opencl projects system verilog projects aeronautical projects in bangalore power electronics and electrical drives for traction applications digital communication projects using arduino digital communication projects for students digital communication projects in matlab Automobile Projects for Mechanical Engineering cadence based vlsi projects matlab projects for computer science students opencv projects final year ns2 projects in bangalore android projects for students ieee projects for ece vb projects for bca fuzzy logic projects in matlab artificial intelligence projects for final year ece robotic projects for engineering students Matlab Projects Java projects for Final Year java projects for engineering students mini projects for computer science students it projects for students cse projects in java bioinformatics projects topics dsp projects using matlab bitcoin projects final year projects for agricultural engineering final year projects for biotechnology final year projects for fashion technology final year projects for human resource management final year projects for renewable energy final year projects for transportation engineering EEE projects in bangalore working models for school exhibition raspberry pi 3 projects for engineering students readymade projects for mechanical engineering fuzzy logic projects in bangalore fuzzy logic related projects final year projects for ece internship in bangalore for computer science students final year projects for information technology final year projects for textile engineering blockchain projects for final year students dbms projects using java ansys projects for mechanical engineering

Pages

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week