New Laguna goes upmarket inside but is compromised on the road as a result
22 October 2007

What is it?

It’s a curious kind of car, the new Laguna. On the one hand it is very obviously a much higher-quality product than the one it replaces; on the other it’s also just as obviously not as good as a Ford Mondeo.

So although the new Laguna will no doubt be seen as a welcome addition to the fleet market ranks, it’s not a car that knocks your socks off at 50 paces. It is France’s answer to that most predictable (but successful) of German family cars, the VW Passat. Even the UK ad campaign focuses clearly on the car’s dependability.

What's it like?

The trouble is, in order to achieve this undeniable level of quality inside, something has had to give. Items such as soft-feel, satin-finish dashboards and part-leather, part-Alcantara seats lift the interior to a level that no Ford Mondeo driver has ever seen, and that’s a terrific achievement.

But the flipside is that Renault can’t have had much budget left to spend on the car’s underpinnings, otherwise it would never have sent it into battle equipped with a twist beam rear axle.

Result? Although the new Laguna has its moments dynamically (it steers with decent precision and has serious grip when fitted with optional 18in tyres) it is, in most areas, nowhere beside the Mondeo.

The ride is noisy and choppy beside the Ford’s, the brakes have a peculiar lack of feel when you lean on them hard and the level of mechanical refinement isn’t where it should be on a car with such obvious mile-eating intentions.

The test car we drove was the 150 dCi, likely to be the most popular model, yet engine response below 1500rpm was as flat as anything, allowing you to be easily caught off-guard at roundabouts.

Having said that, once into its stride the Laguna goes more than well enough, despite a sticky six-speed manual gearbox.

Should I buy one?

All in all, the Laguna 3 is at best a ‘seven out of 10’ car. And perhaps that’s all Renault UK wants it to be this time round. Unless cabin quality is your top priority, we wouldn't recommend getting a Laguna as top priority.

Join the debate


1 November 2007

Sounds like the Golf Mk 4. Decent interior, no dynamics.

Comparison test of the 4WS model against a Mondeo should be interesting.

1 November 2007

Spent many an unhappy time with two Renault Laguna's, both previous generation Mk2 versions, both diesels, both estates, both totally unreliable!!

Both had new turbo's, new engine management systems, new gearboxes, amongst numerous other things. Both were lease cars and the local Renault dealer who had the task of keeping them running eventually admitted that the MK2 Laguna was a DODO!! The build quality was poor, at one point on the motorway doing 75 mph the rear trim above the glass on the tailgate blew off and hit the car behind causing untold damage and a large insurance claim.

In my opinion, I would not even give the new one a second thought, once bitten twice shy. Does'nt matter how well it drives.

1 November 2007

Am I the only one who thinks the new Laguna, particularly from the rear, looks like a cheap knock-off of the last-generation Citroën C5? Whereas the new C5 actually looks quite decent. I'm beginning to wonder if Renault and Citroën have swapped designers or something. I know who I'd say has got the better deal...

3 November 2007

Nope, i've also noticed the simalarity of the rear end to the facelifted version of previous C5. The front also reminds me of the original version of the Mk 2 Clio. Got knows what's gone wrong with the styling of the latest generation of Renaults, which began with boring Twingo. Hate to thing what Megane 3 will look like.

7 November 2007

I currently drive the current Laguna with the 2.0 dCi engine, the engine is genuinely a cracker and I have previous experience of the higher powered VAG diesels, it is has a surprising turn of speed and is very economical. So far, touch wood, with 30+k miles covered I haven't had a single problem.

I am looking foward to trying the new one and wouldn't hesitate in choosing it when it's time to replace my current one. Having said that I haven't driven a new Mondeo and perhaps I shouldn't!

One thing though, the comment regarding the lack of a hill holder function with the electronic handbrake. Hill starts are a doddle with the current car as when you press the throttle the handbrake automotically releases and hay presto you drive off up the hill!

Looks are subjective with repmobiles. The Laguna does at least have some exclusivity compared to the Passat, Mondeo, Audi A4, 3 series on the motorway slog. Having said that when did you last see a 407 or C5?!

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • First Drive
    21 March 2018
    The new Vantage has been developed as a Porsche 911 beater, and our first taste on UK roads suggests it can live up to that bold claim
  • Nissan Leaf Tekna
    The is the new Nissan Leaf
    First Drive
    21 March 2018
    The new version of the world's best-selling electric car gains a bigger battery and more power. How does it compare to rivals such as the Volkswagen e-Golf?
  • Range Rover p400e
    First Drive
    20 March 2018
    The original luxury SUV is now available as a plug-in hybrid, promising lower emissions and the capacity for silent electric motoring
  • BMW i3s
    Car review
    20 March 2018
    Revised hatchback sets out its range-extended electric stall in a new, sportier tune
  • BMW X2
    This is the new BMW X2
    First Drive
    20 March 2018
    Doesn’t deliver many typical crossover selling points but looks perky, handles keenly and is well capable of winning over your latent cynic