From £31,905
While the Defender gets all the plaudits, this model keeps clocking up the most sales. We aim to find out why
Autocar
1 November 2020

Why we’re running it: To see if the heavily updated SUV in mild-hybrid diesel form is a worthy contender in this segment

Month 1 - Specs

Life with a Discovery Sport: Month 1

Welcoming the Discovery Sport to the fleet - 28 October 2020

Once upon a time, you would get one mid-life model update in a car’s five-to seven-year life, and that would be it. But the race to compete with rivals technologically has changed the landscape so much that frequent, smaller updates can be found on cars most years these days.

That’s why this Discovery Sport variant is no longer available, already surpassed by a ‘model year 2021 update’ announced in August. Fear not: the fundamentals of this Disco Sport remain utterly relevant, introduced in a significant mid-life refresh last year. So significant that it included a totally new platform called Premium Transverse Architecture – the same used by the Range Rover Evoque – to accommodate the inevitable electrified engines plus, of course, new technology and a new infotainment system.

It’s those latter elements that have been further addressed in the MY21 update. The Discovery Sport you can buy today gets the Pivi Pro infotainment system first seen on the new Defender, plus wireless software updates, a 3D surround camera and the option of cabin air filtration.

So what exactly is our Discovery Sport? It’s the D180 AWD, powered by a 2.0-litre four-cylinder 178bhp turbo diesel with 48V mild-hybrid assistance, promising WLTP fuel economy of 37.2-39.6mpg, CO2 emissions of 187-199g/km and a 0-60mph time of 9.4sec.

Advertisement
Advertisement

Find an Autocar review

Read our review

Car review
Land Rover Discovery Sport 2020 road test review - hero front

Can the overhauled Discovery Sport revitalise Land Rover's fortunes?

Back to top

It’s the top-spec HSE car, starting from £46,800, although ours has a generous options list adding more than seven grand to that price. More on that later. If you wanted the closest equivalent available today, it would be the D200 AWD HSE, whose starting price is just £15 more. It uses the same mild-hybrid diesel set-up but dialled up to 201bhp and hitting 60mph in 8.1sec.

The new car’s fuel economy is 39.0-42.4mpg and CO2 emissions are 175-190g/km. All of these figures are slightly worse if you opt for the 5+2 seat configuration – a feature that is standard on all Disco Sport variants other than the new plug-in hybrid.

The range-topping diesel D200 sits above the D165, while there are four petrol-powered engines: P200, P250, P290 and P300e. All diesel and petrol units now use a 48V mild-hybrid system, other than the plugin hybrid P300e, which claims an electric-only range of 38 miles, CO2 emissions of 36g/km and 175.5mpg.

Land Rover keeps its cards close to its chest, so we don’t know which engine or trim is most popular, but we do know that the Discovery Sport is the brand’s top priority as its number-one global seller, with 83,574 units sold in 2019. (For comparison, 204,965 examples of the Volvo XC60, its rival SUV, were sold over the same period.)

HSE trim has all the trappings that you would expect. Highlights include heated electric seats, 20in wheels, a powered tailgate, sat-nav and a 4G wi-fi hotspot.

The Namib Orange paint is a £970 option, while the contrasting black roof – a styling necessity to these eyes – is £610. Various roof rail elements come to just under £900 and there’s the occasional superfluous option: two USB ports in row two and one in row three for £100. Just chuck ’em in as standard on HSE, eh, Land Rover?

The priciest option on our Disco Sport is the £2160 Driver Assist Pack, which includes a 360deg camera, adaptive cruise control with steering assistance, a 360deg parking aid and wade sensing, which can collectively be as helpful on the streets of London as during serious off-roading. For those who like the sound of that pack, good news: it’s now standard on HSE trim, according to the configurator.

Back to top

Step into the Disco Sport for the first time and it no longer feels a world away from its rivals in terms of interior quality – quite the opposite – and that’s before any further MY21 updates. It also has the advantage of being less bland than its German, black-interior-favouring rivals and retains a distinctive Land Rover feel.

Initial impressions are that it’s strikingly better to drive than its predecessor: nicely damped, direct if not super-sharp steering and just all-round effortless performance.

We have the £815 adaptive dynamics option to help its cause, which has the dampers adjust 100 times per second to “optimise the suspension settings and provide the optimum balance between comfort, refinement and agility”. The other key first impression is the incredibly quiet waft of the diesel engine, and the subtle effects of the mild-hybrid technology. Even the most unobservant of drivers will notice the regenerative braking when coming off the accelerator, although it’s not intrusive in any way. It can help fuel economy only so much, though, given that this model is four-wheel-drive. So far, we’re averaging 34.1mpg.

Over the next few months, we will discover how the go-anywhere Disco Sport fits into our daily lives, as a mid-sized, aspirational SUV offering plenty of practicality and comfort – but also one with several excellent rivals.

Rachel Burgess

Second Opinion

I know it’s a Land Rover and all, but the Discovery Sport’s market success has never seemed to me to be about some marginally superior level of off-road ability. I think people like it because it’s practical and versatile – one of the few cars in its premium niche with an optional third row of seats – and because it’s an SUV that’s comfy in its own skin. It looks like it, it drives like it and it’s all the more likeable for it, I think.

Matt Saunders

Back to the top

Land Rover Discovery Sport D180 AWD HSE specification

Specs: Price New £46,800 Price as tested £54,485 Options Namib Orange paint £970, black roof £610, matrix LED headlights £790, bright metal pedals £155, reduced section spare wheel £170, adaptive dynamics £815, Driver Assist Pack (360deg Surround Camera, Clear Exit Monitor, Adaptive Cruise Control with Steering Assist, Park Assist, 360deg Parking Aid, Rear Traffic Monitor, Wade Sensing) £2160, Secure tracker £570, two USBs in row two and one USB in row three £100, front foglights £195, load-space rubber mat £171, load-space net side £111, roof rails (black finish, fixed roof) £641, roof rails ditch finishers (black) £227

Back to top

Test Data: Engine 4 cyls in line, 1999cc, turbocharged, diesel Power 178bhp at 4000rpm Torque 317lb ft 1500-3000rpm Kerb weight 1953kg Top speed 117mph 0-62mph 11.8sec Fuel economy 34.1mpg CO2 187-199g/km Faults None Expenses None

Back to the top

Join the debate

Comments
7
Add a comment…
The Apprentice 2 November 2020

Disco made from Rhino horns..

A povery spec one is 47k for an old diesel, and people moaned the Suzuki/Toyota Across phev was 45k... even though it was very high spec and included several thousand pounds of battery in that price, and would leave the Disco in its dust from the lights at Sainsburys. Oh and would save me 10k in company car tax too. Paying extra for foglights on a 46k car? JLR having a laugh!
Mikey C 2 November 2020

 An attractive car, and I

 An attractive car, and I like the colour choice but £1600 for the paint job and black roof?

Cobnapint 1 November 2020

But at least

The new one addresses that for £15 extra.
Clangers 1 November 2020

Wrong info

They put the wrong 0-60 time in the summary. The right one I think was early in the article 9.2. 

Find an Autocar car review