The FIA has released details of the 2011 race calendar and competitors
9 September 2010

The FIA has announced the 2011 F1 schedule and the teams that will compete for next year’s championship.

The 20 race calendar, the largest in F1’s history, will include the new Indian Grand Prix in Delhi and sees the Brazilian Grand Prix return to its slot as the season’s finale.

See Autocar's ongoing picture review of the 2010 F1 season

Bahrain remains the season opener with the championship lasting from 13 March to 27 November.

There are eight races which will occur on back-to-back weekends – Malaysia and China, Spain and Monaco, Germany and Hungary, plus Japan and Korea.

The grid will remain at 24 cars, as none of the teams bidding for the championship’s 13th team slot has been deemed suitable.

Several organisations applied, notably a partnership between former world champion Jacques Villeneuve and Italian ex-GP2 team Durango. However, the FIA World Motor Sport Council decided that none were suitable.

An FIA statement read: "It was considered that none of the candidates met the requirements to be granted an entry into the championship. Consequently, the allocation of the 13th team will not be granted."

2011 F1 calendar:

13/03 Bahrain27/03 Australia10/04 Malaysia17/04 China08/05 Turkey22/05 Spain29/05 Monaco12/06 Canada26/06 Europe (Valencia)10/07 Great Britain24/07 Germany31/07 Hungary28/08 Belgium11/09 Italy25/09 Singapore09/10 Japan16/10 Korea30/10 India13/11 Abu Dhabi27/11 BrazilSee all the latest F1 reviews, news and video

Join the debate


9 September 2010

Is it still going then? I was hoping this year would be the last....

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Jaguar XF Sportbrake TDV6
    First Drive
    19 October 2017
    The handsome Jaguar XF Sportbrake exhibits all the hallmarks that makes the saloon great, and with the silky smooth diesel V6 makes it a compelling choice
  • Volkswagen T-Roc TDI
    First Drive
    19 October 2017
    Volkswagen's new compact crossover has the looks, the engineering and the build quality to be a resounding success, but not with this diesel engine
  • BMW M550i
    First Drive
    19 October 2017
    The all-paw M550i is a fast, effortless mile-muncher, but there's a reason why it won't be sold in the UK
  • Volvo V90
    First Drive
    19 October 2017
    The Volvo V90 is a big estate ploughing its own furrow. We’re about to see if it is refreshing or misguided
  • Kia Stonic
    First Drive
    18 October 2017
    Handsome entrant into the bulging small crossover market has a strong engine and agile handling, but isn’t as comfortable or complete as rivals