Matt Prior opinion
Mandatory driving refreshers could cure lane hogging
New cars

Should UK motorists have to take driving licence refresher courses?

Some questionable driving standards make Prior vexed, prompting him to talk mandatory refresher courses

2 March 2024
Should UK motorists have to take driving licence refresher courses?
Jim Ratcliffe 0743am
Ineos owner Sir Jim Ratcliffe
New cars

Ineos isn't a rich man's pet project – it's a proper car maker

Owned by tycoon Sir Jim Ratcliffe, Ineos Automotive now boasts a three-car line-up

26 February 2024
Ineos isn't a rich man's pet project – it's a proper car maker
New cars

Will phone payments make car park machines obsolete?

Prior discusses Autocar's research that found that 83% of motorists would use a machine over apps

17 February 2024
Will phone payments make car park machines obsolete?
Matt Prior opinion
Mantara, RV8, Griffith: early ’90s was a great time for simple thrills
New cars

Not all cars were better "back in the day"

Prior talks about how we don't have to tolerate badly performing cars anymore, but basic thrills are still available

10 February 2024
Not all cars were better "back in the day"
Matt prior
MIRA’s Tom Lee shows Prior the future of engineering
New cars

Why simulators are the future of engineering

Prior talks about how car development is hastened when virtual, and why that's good news today

3 February 2024
Why simulators are the future of engineering
Matt Prior opinion
Do small cars driving slowly bring out the worst in you?
New cars

Do small car drivers have an unfair reputation?

Prior riffs on how automotive prejudice can affect us all and why being in a posh car pays dividends

27 January 2024
Do small car drivers have an unfair reputation?
Matt Prior opinion
Many supercar drivers also own a Toyota hatch for everyday duties
New cars

The brilliance of the Toyota GR Yaris and why 'hooning' is allowed

Prior talks with the chief engineer of the GR Yaris, and riffs on Australia's 'moron tourism'

20 January 2024
The brilliance of the Toyota GR Yaris and why 'hooning' is allowed
Matt prior
Car makers like Audi are exploring the potential of electric off-roaders
New cars

Why electric SUVs will rewrite the off-road rulebook

Drivetrain difference makes EVs very different animals to combustion cars when the going gets rough

13 January 2024
Why electric SUVs will rewrite the off-road rulebook
Matt Prior opinion
"In a car, my naivety and spontaneity aren’t taken advantage of", says Prior
New cars

We won't ditch our cars until train travel improves

Prior decides its better to travel by car and thinks the train ticketing system leaves you feeling foolish

6 January 2024
We won't ditch our cars until train travel improves
New cars

Our favourite cars of 2023: BMW M340i

Is the BMW M340i all the M3 you'd ever need? Felix Page says so

1 January 2024
Our favourite cars of 2023: BMW M340i
New cars

Our favourite cars of 2023: Peugeot 205 GTi Tolman Edition

Tolman's Peugeot 205 GTi restomod impressed James Disdale by not falling victim to the typical bloat

31 December 2023
Our favourite cars of 2023: Peugeot 205 GTi Tolman Edition
New cars

Our favourite cars of 2023: Prodrive P25

Driving the Prodrive P25 at fewer than nine tenths is pointless, reckons Illya Verpraet

30 December 2023
Our favourite cars of 2023: Prodrive P25

Pages