14 April 2017
Review

Which is the hot-hatchback champion of champions? We've long loved the Volkswagen Golf R - a five-star car by our reckoning - but is it a match for the vastly more powerful and, to be fair, vastly more expensive, Mercedes-AMG A45?​

Our testers pitch the two head-to-head, to see which is faster and, crucially, which is better to drive and own. Join us at our test track for the most exciting, and entertaining, hot hatch test of the year.

Which would your rather have? Comment below...

Join the debate

Comments
19

14 April 2017
to bring the Focus RS, why is that?

15 April 2017
In dealership with cracked block, leaking RDU I think. So not on the road like a few others I believe. Hope that helps.

14 April 2017
Because it's a head to head with two decent cars, cars that anyone can drive. No baseball-cap drivers here. For chav-tastic car reviews, come back tomorrow.

14 April 2017
Nothing Chav about a Focus RS, its the better vehicle, and they are frightened it would once again embarrass the more expensive German opposition, if you want chav, you are better looking at the Golfs or A3s crawling around the UK council estates. Still dont let your prejudice get in the way of being a 2@

14 April 2017
Citytiger wrote:

Nothing Chav about a Focus RS, its the better vehicle, and they are frightened it would once again embarrass the more expensive German opposition, if you want chav, you are better looking at the Golfs or A3s crawling around the UK council estates. Still dont let your prejudice get in the way of being a 2@

https://www.autocar.co.uk/car-news/new-cars/audi-tt-rs-vs-mercedes-amg-a45-vs-ford-focus-rs-group-test

TS7

14 April 2017
Or is the video very juddery - almost bad as a 4Matic MB GLC on full steering lock. All the other 'youtube' stuff I've seen today is perfectly ok.

15 April 2017
The RS has always been brash and in-your-face, a very different proposition from the Golf. I respect Ford for providing an alternative.
The 'chav-mobile' here is the AMG, which suffers from a hard ride, a claustrophobic cabin, poor cabin quality and ambiance, poor packaging (especially when compared with the original A class), ugly as sin looks. And all against the typical Mercedes that delivers a comfortable ride, relaxing drive, spacious and elegant cabin etc.
The A class (and not only the AMG A45) is a disgrace to the Mercedes marque.

15 April 2017
Having 3 year old twins and wanting to have something that doesn't shout out loud or make you look like you are driving a touring car or an 80's poster on your bedroom wall, the Golf is surely the perfect choice. I accept it's not the quickest and the RS would beat it, but for 99% of the time, this has it licked as an everyday proposition. Gets the kids to nursery, have a blast on your favourite cross country route to work, fling your suit on at a customer meeting, it does it all.

jer

15 April 2017
A pet dislike on expensive cars. Both have it.

17 April 2017
that BMW charges extra for that? It's called 'shadowline' exterior package. Mainly found on performance models to further the whole black motif.
-MK7 GTI Performance, 18" Austins, DCC & NAV, DAP

Pages

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Seat Ibiza
    Car review
    21 July 2017
    A model upon which Seat has staked its future, the new Ibiza must now deliver
  • Honda Clarity FCV
    Car review
    21 July 2017
    Honda’s fuel cell flagship reaches its second generation, but is the world ready?
  • Nissan Qashqai 1.5 dCi 110 N-Connecta 2017 review
    First Drive
    20 July 2017
    A UK drive in Nissan’s crucial crossover shows an update has not cost it any of that which makes it sell so well
  • Seat Ibiza 1.0 MPI
    First Drive
    20 July 2017
    The Seat Ibiza has wowed in other iterations, but how will the entry-level 1.0-litre MPI version stack up in the UK? We've been to north Wales to find out
  • Vauxhall Insignia Sport Tourer 1.5 Turbo 165 2017 review
    First Drive
    20 July 2017
    Mid-range petrol engine suits Vauxhall's new family-sized load-lugger well. Another refined, comfortable, easy-to-drive and attractively priced Insignia.

Latest videos