11 April 2018
Review

This is the new Aston Martin Vantage, the latest model in Aston's resurgence. It's a brawny two-seat sports car with an aluminium substructure, and a 4.0-litre, twin-turbocharged AMG V8 engine under the hood that powers the rear wheels.

If that, plus the 50:50 weight distribution, sounds like a pretty sweet handling set-up, you should see how the Vantage smokes its tyres around the Portimao race circuit. But it's a roadgoing sports car, too, so we've tested it thoroughly on decent roads as well as on track. Plus we take a look deep under its skin, in the most in-depth Vantage video online.

Aston wants it to be better than a Porsche 911? Can it manage that seemingly implausible feat?

Click here for the full Aston Martin Vantage review

Read more

Volkswagen CEO Matthias Müller to stand down from helm on Friday

2018 Ford Focus revealed

Join the debate

Comments
11

11 April 2018

Aston wants it to be better than a Porsche 911? Can it manage that seemingly implausible feat?

 

www.tipfacts.com

 

11 April 2018

Aston wants it to be better than a Porsche 911? Can it manage that seemingly implausible feat?

 

www.tipfacts.com

 

11 April 2018

Aston wants it to be better than a Porsche 911? Can it manage that seemingly implausible feat?

 

www.tipfacts.com

 

11 April 2018

Aston wants it to be better than a Porsche 911? Can it manage that seemingly implausible feat?

 

www.tipfacts.com

 

13 April 2018

I drove past a new Porsche Carrera(parked) today and mentally compared this to the Aston and thought,they are totally different cars,in design and concept.There is a mismatch and I wonder who concieved the Porsche comparison,the media?The first thing you notice is the size and the fact that the Porsche just keeps refining a proven shape.I went on an Aston Martin club drive with a friend who has,and still does,aV8 Vantage.Once lunch was over,I don't drink,he threw the keys to me and said enjoy,drive home,100KM's(60 miles).I was amazed at the engineering and ability of this car to handle a wonderful winding,part open straights type road with such aplomb.I drove at a non owners rate,fast but not stupid,only to be past by a member in his 4door Aston at warp factor 9,glorious.I digress.If money was no object I would buy both, simply because they provide a different type of enjoyment,stawberrrys and cream(on top) or strawberry and cream(on the bottom),cream that is. 

garage man

18 April 2018
This awesome wow!!
042

18 April 2018

How will this handle compared to a 911. We know the 911 has been honed now to where it is safe and predictable but the question is is the Vantage even more neutral more forgiving more biddable than the 911? Now that we finally have both an optimized rear engine car and now a front engine one (which it seems we have not had from any maker for a good long while!) how will they compare on a really challenging road. J

19 April 2018

From making some of the most beautiful cars ever they make this. Hideous in my opinion. Look like something that a Tesla aborted

19 April 2018

From making some of the most beautiful cars ever they make this. Hideous in my opinion. Look like something that a Tesla aborted

19 April 2018

From making some of the most beautiful cars ever they make this. Hideous in my opinion. Look like something that a Tesla aborted

Pages

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Suzuki Swift Sport 2018 long-term review hero front
    First Drive
    22 June 2018
    The Japanese hot hatch is all grown up in terms of character, technology and price, but is it still a fun-loving kid at heart? Let’s find out
  • 2018 Mitsubishi Shogun Sport 4
    First Drive
    21 June 2018
    Shogun Sport name returns to the UK, attached to a seven-seat 4x4 that, Mitsubishi hopes, deftly combines practicality, comfort and toughness
  • Ford Fiesta ST-Line 2018 long-term review hero front
    First Drive
    21 June 2018
    Does this version of Britain’s top-selling car have the substance to match its style?
  • Audi Q8 2018 first drive review hero front
    First Drive
    20 June 2018
    Range-topping SUV is short on the styling and performance pizzazz needed to make it a Range Rover Sport-toppling style icon, although it’s an accomplished luxury car
  • BMW M5 2018 long-term review hero front
    First Drive
    20 June 2018
    We rate the new M5 as best in class. Will we think the same after three months with it?

Latest videos