3 June 2016

The new Volvo V90 estate has all the right ingredients to be a class-leading offering, but does that promising recipe translate into a tasty finished product?

Autocar’s Matt Prior heads out into the Spanish countryside behind the wheel of a top-spec V90 D5 to find out.

The car he’s driving uses a turbocharged four-cylinder diesel engine and is priced at £44,000. This makes it a key rival for the likes of the BMW 5 Series 525d Touring in Luxury spec.

Will the Swedish car prevail?

Join the debate


4 June 2016
I rather suspect that Matt has listened to recent comments on the other staffers' reviews in which his own reviews are described as boring. I quite like them though, and the addition of a p**s-taking format towards the end - complete with elevator music - has only served to improve them. Nice car but I won't buy a 4-pot again.

4 June 2016
"four-cylinder diesel engine and is priced at £44,000"
Mad words...

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • First Drive
    23 March 2018
    Fully-loaded, big-hitting diesel CLS shows the potential perils of ticking too many options boxes on your order form. A good car with a bad suspension combination.
  • BMW M5
    First Drive
    22 March 2018
    Super saloon deploys four-wheel drive to improve every facet of its driving experience. Faster and more capable than any, and more exciting than most, of its celebrated predecessors
  • Range Rover Sport SVR
    First Drive
    22 March 2018
    More power and an intoxicating soundtrack have breathed new life into our love affair with the biggest, baddest Range Rover Sport variant
  • First Drive
    21 March 2018
    The new Vantage has been developed as a Porsche 911 beater, and our first taste on UK roads suggests it can live up to that bold claim
  • Nissan Leaf Tekna
    The is the new Nissan Leaf
    First Drive
    21 March 2018
    The new version of the world's best-selling electric car gains a bigger battery and more power. How does it compare to rivals such as the Volkswagen e-Golf?

Latest videos