The annual event will honour the finest cars from the past year and the people who created them
15 May 2018

The best new and used cars, along with the engineers, designers and innovators who helped to create them, will be celebrated at the 2018 Autocar Awards, sponsored by BNP Paribas Cardif and Warranty Direct, this evening (Tuesday).

Key figures from the car industry will gather for the annual awards ceremony, which will take place at Silverstone's Wing complex.

The awards include the Issigonis Trophy, our top honour given to the individual who has contributed the most to the health, excellence and competitiveness of the European motor industry. Previous winners include Ron Dennis, Wolfgang Hatz, Carlos Tavares and Ralf Speth.

Another major honour is the Sturmey Award, which celebrates innovation and achievement in the motor industry. Previous winners include Tesla, Mark Lloyd, Simon Saunders and Peter Schreyer.

Other awards will celebrate the car industry’s outstanding UK leaders, engineering and design heroes.

The Autocar Awards also celebrates the finest new cars from the last 12 months. There will be awards for the models that achieved a coveted five-star review in Autocar’s exacting road test and prizes for game-changing machines that have moved the automotive art forward.

There's also the annual Readers’ Champion Award, which this year will crown your favourite hot hatch of all time, along with honours for what we judge to be the UK's best driver’s cars.

There will be full coverage of the Autocar Awards on our Twitter feed throughout the event, and you'll be able to read about all the winners and their achievements on later this evening.

Read more

Autocar Awards: the 2017 winners

Our Verdict

Seat Ateca

Seat's first attempt at building an SUV is a cracker and knocked the Nissan Qashqai off its perch in the process, so we discover what makes the Ateca our class leader

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Ford Ka+ Active 2018 first drive review hero front
    First Drive
    22 June 2018
    This SUV-inspired makeover for Ford’s city-friendly small car will find its fans, but the Ka+ Active doesn’t set any new benchmarks for the class
  • Suzuki Swift Sport 2018 long-term review hero front
    First Drive
    22 June 2018
    The Japanese hot hatch is all grown up in terms of character, technology and price, but is it still a fun-loving kid at heart? Let’s find out
  • 2018 Mitsubishi Shogun Sport 4
    First Drive
    21 June 2018
    Shogun Sport name returns to the UK, attached to a seven-seat 4x4 that, Mitsubishi hopes, deftly combines practicality, comfort and toughness
  • Ford Fiesta ST-Line 2018 long-term review hero front
    First Drive
    21 June 2018
    Does this version of Britain’s top-selling car have the substance to match its style?
  • Audi Q8 2018 first drive review hero front
    First Drive
    20 June 2018
    Range-topping SUV is short on the styling and performance pizzazz needed to make it a Range Rover Sport-toppling style icon, although it’s an accomplished luxury car