What’s new?

Although at launch Nissan’s new global Micra will be offered with a single engine, a 1.2-litre triple, after six months it will be joined by a supercharged version. A significant engine, not only for the Micra, but within the broader Nissan fleet.

With direct injection, the supercharged engine produces 97bhp and 105lb ft; 23 per cent more power and 31 per cent more torque than the standard engine, yet it achieves a lower CO2 figure of 95g/km.

See the first drive pictures of the Nissan Micra 1.2 Supercharged

What’s it like?

Considering our test drive was brief and in a pre-production prototype, initial impressions are positive. While the engine still has an unmistakable three-cylinder thrum, the supercharger is all but inaudible. Only at higher revs, under hard acceleration is there a distant whine.

While performance is more adequate than brisk (Nissan is yet to a announce any official figures) the supercharger does mean that you don’t have to rev the engine to get the Micra moving at a respectable pace. Which is as much a benefit for overall refinement as it is performance. There is a caveat though, which is that the engineers admitted that in production the supercharger will cut in at 2000rpm, rather than the 1300rpm of this prototype.

Still the CO2 figure of 95g/km is impressive – practically as low as any non-diesel, non-hybrid engine. Only Fiat’s new twin-air engine is cleaner, and only then in conjunction with an automated manual gearbox. Although the supercharged Micra gets stop-start technology as standard (the first stop-start Nissan we’ve tested), unfortunately our brief test didn’t provide a chance to try this.

Should I buy one?

As we have said before the new Micra is not about to challenge the Fiesta for driver engagement, or the Fiat 500 for style, but if the pricing is right, it could offer a decent value proposition. And as long as the premium for the supercharged engine isn’t too great, it will be the one to go for.

Jamie Corstorphine

Nissan Micra 1.2 Supercharged

Price: TBA; Top speed: TBA; 0-62mph: TBA; Economy: 69mpg (est); CO2: 95g/km; Kerbweight: 960kg (est); Engine type, cc: 1198cc, 3cyl in line, supercharged; Power: 97bhp; Torque: 105lb ft; Gearbox: 5-speed manual

See all the latest Nissan Micra reviews, news and video

Join the debate

Comments
9

Re: Nissan Micra 1.2 Supercharged

4 years 6 weeks ago

a 97bhp 1.2 supercharged? i was convinced they were doing a 1.0 105bhp ish supercharged, maybe i have been dreaming.

Re: Nissan Micra 1.2 Supercharged

4 years 6 weeks ago

Sounds good, I'm sure we will all be driving smaller engined cars in the not too distant future. Just a pity that Nissan have chosen to make the Micra such a boring looking car, after all we know they can do "interesting" as the Juke proves.


Enjoying a Fabia VRs - affordable performance

Re: Nissan Micra 1.2 Supercharged

4 years 6 weeks ago

The micra in japan has always had a 4wd version, i wonder if nissan continues to push its models more universally we will see the 4wd micras in Europe. would give them a chance at a possible WRC entry too, unless they use the Juke.

.........

wiki info:

"The HR10DDT is a 1.0 L dual direct injected, supercharged, turbocharged, straight-3 engine anticipated for use in the 2010 Nissan Micra [1] ."

thats the engine i was expecting.

Re: Nissan Micra 1.2 Supercharged

4 years 6 weeks ago

Why the 6 month wait for the supercharged version, why cannot Nissan bring into Europe when they launch the car in November.

Also why change the cut-in speed from 1300rpm to 2000rpm, surely this will mean there is a bit of a step when it does cut in.Why let Autocar try a car that is not representative of what will be used in production.

mfe

Re: Nissan Micra 1.2 Supercharged

4 years 6 weeks ago

Wingroad wrote:
Also why change the cut-in speed from 1300rpm to 2000rpm

What's the point in having a supercharger that cuts in at 2000rpm ! The small IHI turbo in my T-Jet comes in around 1800rpm and turbo's are more efficient ! Why change it from 1300rpm !

Re: Nissan Micra 1.2 Supercharged

4 years 5 weeks ago

I adored the last Micra styling,funky,original and really fresh...Seriously what the F**K have Nissan done with this ancient looking car??

I hate the styling of the Joke sorry "Juke" but at least they are trying!!

I remember when cars use to be design rather than passed through the major intestines!!

Re: Nissan Micra 1.2 Supercharged

4 years 5 weeks ago

Would it not make more sense to turbo charge the 1.2 ? like VAG did ?.

I would have thought a turbo would be better for a small engine like this ?

Re: Nissan Micra 1.2 Supercharged

4 years 5 weeks ago

I can't believe that they're making the supercharger not kick in until 2000rpm. The whole point of a supercharger is the quicker response than a turbo due to it being running at all times when the engine is - why get rid of this feature?!

Autocar wrote:
initial impressions are positive. While the engine still has an unmistakable three-cylinder thrum, the supercharger is all but inaudible.

Where are your petrol heads? The sound of a supercharger is there to be enjoyed, not masked!!

Re: Nissan Micra 1.2 Supercharged

4 years 5 weeks ago

Hear, hear Stavers! The two main advantages of a supercharger as opposed to a turbo. are (a) instant boost, NO lag, and a less hostile working environment,i.e your compressor isn't mounted in an incandescent gas flow. And"inaudible" except for a gentle whine under hard acceleration? I should think you'd hear a very loud whine from the usual wrinkly Micra passenger if you gave it the berries!

Please register or login to post a comment.

Our Verdict

Nissan Micra

The Nissan Micra is a supermini offering low running costs but in most other areas is below the class average

  • First Drive

    Datsun Go first drive review

    The Datsun Go is a budget car like many others, but its decent ride and nippy performance impress
  • First Drive

    2013 Nissan Micra first drive review

    A facelift for the fourth-generation Nissan Micra still can't gloss over the fact that it looks and feels like a car built for developing markets

Driven this week

  • Jeep Renegade first drive review

    Jeep Renegade first drive review

    First drive
    18 September 2014 6:03pm

    Chirpy cheap Jeep goes well off-road – as much as that’s likely to matter. Decent handling on it, with a few flaws

  • Mercedes-Benz S500 Plug-In Hybrid first drive review

    Mercedes-Benz S500 Plug-in Hybrid first drive review

    First drive
    18 September 2014 3:59pm

    Luxurious, economical and powerful – it's hard to imagine a plug-in hybrid model getting much better than this

  • BMW 5-series 518d Luxury saloon first drive

    BMW 518d saloon first drive review

    First drive
    18 September 2014 12:54pm

    New entry-level diesel 5-series is a great car in the right specification but it faces stiff competition from the excellent Audi A6 Ultra

  • Volkswagen Touareg 3.0 TDI first drive review

    2014 Volkswagen Touareg 3.0 TDI first drive review

    First drive
    17 September 2014

    Revisions make Volkswagen's five-seat SUV a better car all round, meaning it is worthy of consideration in a tough market segment

  • Volkswagen e-Golf

    Volkswagen e-Golf

    Car review
    16 September 2014

    The Golf turns pure electric in characteristically understated style