Richard Bremner
31 May 2011

What is it?

This is the least expensive, least powerful version of the Mercedes C-class Coupe, which comes with a 1.8-litre petrol engine serving a relatively modest 154bhp, and a more useful 184lb ft of torque from 1700rpm.

A six-speed manual transmission is standard, as is stop-start, which also comes with the seven speed, paddle-shift torque converter auto fitted to this test car.

The car itself is effectively a more stylish, two-door version of the C-class saloon riding on the same wheelbase, and replaces the recently deleted three-door hatch CLC coupe.

That gives Mercedes a direct rival to both the BMW 3-series coupe and the Audi A5, and a car it believes will appeal to younger buyers. And to induce them into showrooms over here, all UK C-class coupes get an AMG body kit, 18-inch alloys and a 15mm lower ride height as standard to counter the M-Sport and S-Line offerings of BMW and Audi.

What’s it like?

This is a svelte, civilised coupe whose interior is inviting even in the car’s least expensive guise. It’s very well finished, roomy up front, adequately spacious in the rear, has a decently big boot and folding rear seats.

So it’s practical, and comfortable too with excellent front seats and very impressive refinement that has the slightly unfortunate effect, in the case of this entry-level engine, of making this coupe appear rather languid.

So does the engine itself, whose slightly diesel-ish torque delivery means that there’s little point in revving it. In fact, the C180 isn’t so slow, but it’s definitely at its best as a cruiser.

The engine’s lack of truly solid shove means that the excellent chassis is rarely taxed, although you will discover satisfying chassis balance, strong grip and better-than-average steering feel.

The ride of the test car was good too, but, UK models with their lowered suspension and bigger wheels may turn turbulent. And unnecessarily so in the case of this more languid Coupe, which is not about outright dynamism, even if the excellent seven-speed auto makes the best of the engine’s efforts.

Should I buy one?

You need not much more than £2000 to turn this C180 into a C220 CDI, and if you can make the stretch, you’ll turn the least impressive C-Class Coupe in the range into the best all-rounder, the cheapest diesel version a good mix of poke, parsimony and refinement.

Low mileage drivers in less of a hurry and on a (relatively) tight budget should find the C180 acceptable, but that acceptability stems more from the excellence of the car itself rather its motor.

Mercedes C180 Coupe

Price: £30,220; Top speed: 139mph; 0-62mph: 8.8sec; Economy: 38.6mpg; Co2 157g/km; Kerb weight: 1500kg; Engine: four-cylinder, 1796cc; Power: 154bhp at 5000rpm; Torque: 184lb ft at 1600rpm; Gearbox: 6-spd manual

Join the debate

Comments
17

Re: Mercedes C180 Coupe

2 years 46 weeks ago

It's supposed to replace the CLC but it's almost 50% more expensive yet doesn't have a hatchback. Cynical or what?

Re: Mercedes C180 Coupe

2 years 46 weeks ago

blowerbentley wrote:
It's supposed to replace the CLC but it's almost 50% more expensive yet doesn't have a hatchback. Cynical or what

You are spot on, you could have had a 3.5 V6 in the C class sport coupe for significantly less than this thing costs. I think its a real shame Mercedes didnt decide to replace the old car properly at the same price point, with a RWD car.

Having said that, this is so much more appealing than the E Class coupe. Bizare that the cheaper the Mercedes coupe, the better looking it is.

SDR

Re: Mercedes C180 Coupe

2 years 46 weeks ago

Sounds like a dreadfully slow and uninspiring way to spend 30k to me - baffles me why anyone would spend so much on something that is designed to look fast but plainly isn't. Something rather sad about underpowered premium cars... smacks of desperation.

And I notice the test car is LHD - let's see where the pedals are on the RHD version shall we? Most likely annoyingly offset as per the saloon, and again, it baffles me why anyone would spend 30k on a car that imposes an unnatural seating position from the moment they get in to the moment they get out. BMW, Audi and Mercedes are all guilty of this - if they can't be bothered to engineer their cars properly for my side of the road, I can't be bothered to give them my money for one. Simples!

Re: Mercedes C180 Coupe

2 years 46 weeks ago

Autocar wrote:
which comes with a 1.8-litre petrol engine serving a relatively modest 154bhp

I am sorry but you need to start living in the real world, a 1.8 with 154 bhp, low emission and 140mph top speed, is not modest, a couple of years ago you couldnt get a 2.0 with those figures. It may not be a fire breathing monster, but its not a bad engine

jer

Re: Mercedes C180 Coupe

2 years 46 weeks ago

Citytiger wrote:
1.8 with 154 bhp, low emission and 140mph top speed, is not modest

It also has decent torque an extended rev range and inherent smoothness that the diesel will never match.

Nevertheless I'd expect more go for this money.

Re: Mercedes C180 Coupe

2 years 46 weeks ago

I just made a comment about the Audi R4 and the unlikelihood of it being on sale at the 25k target price. Given that this is over 30k then I am pretty sure that I will be right!

Re: Mercedes C180 Coupe

2 years 46 weeks ago

blowerbentley wrote:
It's supposed to replace the CLC but it's almost 50% more expensive yet doesn't have a hatchback. Cynical or what?

With the new A-Class appearing to be more of an Audi A3 / BMW 1-series rival, I guess the 3-door version of that replaces the cheaper versions of the CLC.

Still expected the entry level C-Class coupe to be less than £30k though - you could get a Jag XF 2.2d for the same money which feels like a lot more car.

Re: Mercedes C180 Coupe

2 years 46 weeks ago

Mercedes suggest this car is to replace the CLC and is designed to get younger buyer in to the show room?

Why bother Merc?

At the end of the day if a younger buyer wants a Mercedes then they will go and buy a second hand car.

The whole strategy is at odds with Mercedes character as a company. Why devalue your product to appeal to a younger audience when you have a perfectly good second hand car scheme? It's not as if the residuals are that special any more.

As for the car itself, it's nice enough but as other have said there are far better ways to spend £30,000, even if you HAVE to have a Merc.

 

 

It's all about the twisties........

Re: Mercedes C180 Coupe

2 years 46 weeks ago

taking into account the stories suggestion to spend a couple more grand for the 220 diesel - I'd agree to scrub that and go for the new XF Jag diesel - slightly less money much better performance and as was said previously, a hell of a lot more car for the money.

Re: Mercedes C180 Coupe

2 years 46 weeks ago

"Something rather sad about underpowered premium cars... smacks of desperation."

Only on a car review website populated by 20 - 40 yr old men will you find comments like this. Somebody who spends 30k + on a car is by no means desperate, whatever engine they choose. Not everybody feels the need to compete on the roads, sorry lads. In fact it could be just as easily argued that unnecessarily overpowered cars... "smacks of desperation".

For many many people - those who aren't so worried about their ability to burn people off at the lights, or on the autobahn, or in the outside line of the M4, this engine will be 100% enough.

Please register or login to post a comment.

Our Verdict

The Mercedes C-class coupé is a strong contender with a character of its own

Driven this week

  • Peugeot 308 e-THP 130 first drive review

    Peugeot 308 e-THP 130 first drive review

    First drive
    23 April 2014 2:10pm

    New three-cylinder petrol performs well in the 308, adding extra appeal to this stylish and upmarket family hatch

  • Audi R8 e-tron

    Audi R8 e-tron

    Car review
    23 April 2014

    We test the prototype all-electric Audi R8 that's capable of 0-62mph in 4.2sec, with an optimum range of 124 miles and a charging time of less than one hour

  • 2014 Volkswagen Polo first drive review

    2014 Volkswagen Polo first drive review

    First drive
    22 April 2014

    Clever tech makes the Polo more economical, cleaner and safer, while new engines offer greater refinement but no more driving involvement

  • Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV

    Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV

    Car review
    17 April 2014

    Can this plug-in hybrid SUV do more than just cut your tax bill?

  • Volvo V60 Polestar first drive review

    Volvo V60 Polestar first drive review

    First drive
    17 April 2014

    Volvo V60 Polestar lacks edge, but offers a glimpse of more advanced performance Volvos to come from Polestar