What is it?

It’s not unusual, said Tom Jones, and even though he wasn’t talking about the Audi Q5, he might as well have been. It is not a breakthrough car, it’s not even a particularly innovative one.

In truth it is the inevitable, not-unappealing product of some corporate box-ticking and sensible exploitation of Audi’s modular platforms: another niche is added to the Ingolstadt brochure; a few more pennies are totted onto the profit column.

The onslaught of Audi models continues.

Beneath the Q5’s features (those of a ‘Performance SUV’, no less) lurks the modular chassis that underpins the Audi A4 saloon and A5 coupe.

Inside, there’s an A4-derived fascia, perfectly adequate spaciousness and a feeling of unfailing solidity from the quality of the materials. Audi’s MMI interface for the stereo/nav/system controls is even better than ever.

The A4/5 platform endows the BMW X3- and Freelander-rivalling 4x4 with the longest wheelbase in its class at 2.81m; a result of some clever packaging of the engine, transmission and front suspension, which lets the front axle be pushed as far forwards as possible. The same idea was meant, although, curiously, failed, to give the A5 more agile, sporting handling.

Nonetheless, I’ve just searched through the press bumph to find the word ‘sporty’ repeated no less than 24 times. This is, we’re told, dynamically the most adept SUV in its class.

>>See more pics of the new Audi Q5

What’s it like?

It may be the most dynamically capable SUV in its class. Maybe. BMW’s X3 would run it the closest, and may even best it depending on what you’re looking for.

The Audi is certainly among the most car-like to drive of all SUVs. The driving position is very normal and a high, rising waistline makes it feel lower than it is; though this also restricts visibility.

It steers accurately, too, although with – like the A4 – a curious mix of weight. Usually it’s too light, switching to too heavy quite quickly off-centre.

The low-speed ride is largely fine, though there’s the occasional crash. It’s at its best on the standard, 18-inch wheels with 60 profile tyres.

Our test Q5’s power came from a 3.0-litre, V6 TDI engine, powerful and quiet, mated to a 7-speed dual-clutch S-tronic transmission (DSG by another name). It’s the first time this 7-speed twin-clutcher has been fitted to a longitudinal engine and it’s as clinically efficient as usual.

The Q5 corners with respectable resistance to lean, and offers reasonable grip. An X3 would feel perhaps less agile, but with better body control.

Better is its refinement. Wind noise, road noise and engine noise are all as well-suppressed as they are on executive cars for the same money.

Oh, and for all the tall-estate looks (and economy and emissions, to be fair) there’s a bit of off-road ability too; more than an Allroad, at any rate. Approach and departure angles of 25 degrees. Ground clearance 200mm. Wade depth half a metre. You can wake up again now.

Should I buy one?

If you want a car like the Q5, this is a pleasant option. Prices will be high by comparison to rivals such as the Freelander, but then the 8000 UK residents predicted to buy the Q5 are unlikely to let that stop them. If you want to like this car, you probably will.

Matt Prior

Join the debate

Comments
18

Re: Audi Q5 3.0 TDI

6 years 7 weeks ago

I like it! Best looking SUV in its class, that's for sure. As long as Audi's reputation for quality and finish are intact, this would be the SUV for me .............. ooh er ... depending on where fuel prices go, that is.

Re: Audi Q5 3.0 TDI

6 years 7 weeks ago

sorry, but this is just another pointless "we've not actually driven this car" article.

Re: Audi Q5 3.0 TDI

6 years 7 weeks ago

The 'A3 on steroids look is appealling' but so predictable and I doubt very much whether it will be a small car, given how gargantuan the Q7 is. This car is probably not far off the bulk of the seven-seater XC90 or Captiva but with only 5 seats.

Re: Audi Q5 3.0 TDI

6 years 7 weeks ago

Q5 will be 5cm longer than a Freelander - internal dimensions feel more like a RAV4. The car is in the UK and can be seen at the Goodwood Festival of Speed within the Audi showroom/stand - and yes you can climb all over it. The press pack was released on the 9th July - go to http://www.worldcarfans.com/9080709.009/new-video--in-depth-kit-released-for-audi-q5 There's 11 pages of information - all you need to mock up a fake test drive. The key question for me is price - I may be tempted. Autocar? Printing a "test drive" and not having driven it? Completely unacceptable. PS. If you do get to Goodwood, try and blag your way into the circuit and a seat as a passenger in the new RS6 - eats R8's for breakfast; 150mph+ on the back straight!:-)

Re: Audi Q5 3.0 TDI

6 years 7 weeks ago

LateKnight wrote:
sorry, but this is just another pointless "we've not actually driven this car" article

Er, have you read it?

Re: Audi Q5 3.0 TDI

6 years 7 weeks ago

I did read the article and have to say that it is obvious that you dont want to like the car and therefore obviously dont, to use your closing line

Re: Audi Q5 3.0 TDI

6 years 7 weeks ago

I agree with Dryfly.

An unpleasant,slightly sneering article, with very little of the real information potential buyers and car enthusiasts want to read. The tone merely meant that I disregarded the opinions of the 'tester' entirely. Result: A non-article.Don't expect me to buy the magazine this week

Re: Audi Q5 3.0 TDI

6 years 7 weeks ago

Nice try but BMW beats Audi easily.

Re: Audi Q5 3.0 TDI

6 years 7 weeks ago

dryfly wrote:

I did read the article and have to say that it is obvious that you dont want to like the car and therefore obviously dont, to use your closing line

That's not what you said. You said I hadn't driven it, not that I didn't like it.

Don't like what I say? A difference of opinion is fine (though for what it's worth, I thought the Q5 was pretty good).

But I do not want people thinking we pretend we have driven cars when we have not. Some magazines do. Autocar does not.

Re: Audi Q5 3.0 TDI

6 years 7 weeks ago

Unless dryfly has two identities, Matt Prior still can't stick to the facts. It was another poster who suggested he hadn't driven the car.

But any advantage of road testing is largely lost when the Tester clearly has so many pre-conceived opinions before he opens the car door. The result was not much better than if he hadn't driven it. Perhaps that is what the other poster really meant.

Please register or login to post a comment.

Our Verdict

The Audi Q5 – the Ingolstadt-based manufacturer's rival to the Land Rover Freelander – may not be perfect, but it is a well rounded road-biased off-roader

Driven this week

  • Volkswagen Golf GTE first drive review

    Volkswagen Golf GTE first drive review

    First drive
    2 September 2014 2:53pm

    The best Golf model on balance of economy and performance - if only it was cheaper and offered a bigger boot

  • BMW X4

    BMW X4

    Car review
    2 September 2014 2:45pm

    The X6 is a showroom hit. Does its smaller brother deserve to be?

  • Porsche Boxster GTS UK first drive review

    Porsche Boxster GTS UK first drive review

    First drive
    1 September 2014

    Go-faster Boxster renders the Boxster S entirely redundant, but not the slower but still sweet basic model

  • BMW M4 convertible first drive review

    BMW M4 convertible first drive review

    First drive
    30 August 2014

    More visceral than the M4 coupé thanks to more audible exhaust and well-controlled swirl of air in the cabin, but dynamics suffer slightly

  • Radical RXC

    Radical RXC

    Car review
    29 August 2014

    The Radical RXC offers one of the most extreme driving experiences available on public roads