1 March 2017
Review

The Volkswagen Golf GTI is perennially one of our favourite hot hatchbacks. In fact, it might even be our favourite, unless the Ford Focus ST is, or the Seat Leon FR is, or the Renault Megane Renaultsport is, or the Peugeot 308 GTI is, or ... well, look, the simple fact is there are lots of brilliant hot hatchbacks.

So is the Golf GTI still fabulous? This is the latest-generation. The Mk 7-and-a-half, if you like. The GTI is the contender. The roads of Majorca are the playing field. Matt Saunders is your referee.

Join the debate

Comments
6

1 March 2017
Buy the VW, at least they still invest in the UK!!!! Ford, the market leader in the UK has announced it's going to cut jobs yet again in the UK, this time closing Bridgend with the loss of 1200 jobs. Why give so much money to Ford when they don't invest anymore in the UK?? At least VW invest billions in Bentley in designing, engineering & manufacturing high end products in Britain.

1 March 2017
They are not closing Bridgend, they are potentially reducing the number of workers due to contracts with JLR ending. You could argue that some of the jobs that have been lost may be balanced out by the extra workers that JLR have taken on at their new plant in Wolverhampton, although I doubt it that will bring much comfort to those workers that lose their job. There is also some evidence being presented that shows the plant isn't as efficient as it should be. As for investment in the UK, Bentley employ around 4,000 workers and Ford around 14,000 workers.

1 March 2017
I'm not entirely sure I've taken anything away from this video review... Four and a half minutes of my life have now passed and essentially the conclusion is the Golf GTi is still as good as it was/is and that's that. Maybe a little bit of direct comparison? Maybe more emphasis on the changes as opposed to a quick reference to the speedo being digital? Not sure what to make of it.

3 March 2017
Large boring person talks about very little in a voice one can't hear, zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

22 March 2017
Wtf... that is the most dreary reviewer in the world, is he even interested in cars? He must take a second off the 0-60 time ! Now we know who ate all the fucking pies. Come on Autocar get real

28 March 2017
Sorry Kaman1 but I have to disagree with you. Matt Saunders is not the most dreary reporter. That title easily goes to Matt Prior.
They both have a job that a lot of us would love to have and yet they really don't seem to have any passion for cars. I think they would be better suited to reviewing white goods - or Toyotas which are basically the same.

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Jaguar E-Pace 2018 review hero front
    Car review
    20 April 2018
    Can Jaguar’s compact SUV bring flair and dynamic polish to a fast-growing class?
  • Audi TT RS Coupé
    First Drive
    20 April 2018
    The Audi TT RS has the looks, a vociferous engine and the supercar-baiting performance, but is it too uncompromising to use as a daily driver?
  • Lamborghini Urus review 2018 hero front
    First Drive
    19 April 2018
    The supercar maker's new 4x4 is massively capable wherever it goes, while being extremely conspicuous and costly while it does it
  • Skoda Kodiaq
    First Drive
    19 April 2018
    High-spec seven-seater Kodiaq begins its family life with a lot to prove — for Skoda and SUVs
  • Ford Focus RS Race Red Edition front
    First Drive
    18 April 2018
    Ford drafts in some tasty extras for this limited-run Focus RS swansong edition

Latest videos