1 March 2017
Review

The Volkswagen Golf GTI is perennially one of our favourite hot hatchbacks. In fact, it might even be our favourite, unless the Ford Focus ST is, or the Seat Leon FR is, or the Renault Megane Renaultsport is, or the Peugeot 308 GTI is, or ... well, look, the simple fact is there are lots of brilliant hot hatchbacks.

So is the Golf GTI still fabulous? This is the latest-generation. The Mk 7-and-a-half, if you like. The GTI is the contender. The roads of Majorca are the playing field. Matt Saunders is your referee.

Join the debate

Comments
6

1 March 2017
Buy the VW, at least they still invest in the UK!!!! Ford, the market leader in the UK has announced it's going to cut jobs yet again in the UK, this time closing Bridgend with the loss of 1200 jobs. Why give so much money to Ford when they don't invest anymore in the UK?? At least VW invest billions in Bentley in designing, engineering & manufacturing high end products in Britain.

1 March 2017
They are not closing Bridgend, they are potentially reducing the number of workers due to contracts with JLR ending. You could argue that some of the jobs that have been lost may be balanced out by the extra workers that JLR have taken on at their new plant in Wolverhampton, although I doubt it that will bring much comfort to those workers that lose their job. There is also some evidence being presented that shows the plant isn't as efficient as it should be. As for investment in the UK, Bentley employ around 4,000 workers and Ford around 14,000 workers.

1 March 2017
I'm not entirely sure I've taken anything away from this video review... Four and a half minutes of my life have now passed and essentially the conclusion is the Golf GTi is still as good as it was/is and that's that. Maybe a little bit of direct comparison? Maybe more emphasis on the changes as opposed to a quick reference to the speedo being digital? Not sure what to make of it.

3 March 2017
Large boring person talks about very little in a voice one can't hear, zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

22 March 2017
Wtf... that is the most dreary reviewer in the world, is he even interested in cars? He must take a second off the 0-60 time ! Now we know who ate all the fucking pies. Come on Autocar get real

28 March 2017
Sorry Kaman1 but I have to disagree with you. Matt Saunders is not the most dreary reporter. That title easily goes to Matt Prior.
They both have a job that a lot of us would love to have and yet they really don't seem to have any passion for cars. I think they would be better suited to reviewing white goods - or Toyotas which are basically the same.

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Genesis G70
    First Drive
    22 September 2017
    Based on the Kia Stinger, Genesis' new G70 saloon shows plenty of promising signs that it could be a hit in Europe
  • Lamborghini Aventador S
    First Drive
    22 September 2017
    Still visceral and dramatic as ever, but does the vast number of mechanical changes and tweaks help make the Lamborghini Aventador S more engaging?
  • Renault Koleos
    Car review
    22 September 2017
    Renault’s new crossover sees the Koleos name return, attached to an SUV of a quite different stripe
  • Nissan X-Trail
    First Drive
    21 September 2017
    On our first chance to get the facelifted Nissan X-Trail on UK roads, the petrol proves a viable alternative, although for outright pulling power the 2.0 dCi is the better bet
  • Alfa Romeo Stelvio 2.2d 210
    First Drive
    21 September 2017
    Most powerful diesel version of the Alfa Romeo Stelvio is swift and more frugal than its closest rivals, but makes less sense than the range-topping petrol version

Latest videos