26 April 2018
Feature

Shock, horror: Lamborghini has made an SUV.

The new Lamborghini Urus is the company’s first off-roader since the LM002, but this time it’s totally different. The twin-turbocharged V8 Urus is based on other VW-group SUVs, like the Audi Q7, Porsche Cayenne and perhaps it’s closest luxury rival, the Bentley Bentayga.

Lamborghini wants it to be the best handling car in its class, and among the best 4x4s off toad too. We try it on track, on the road, and off road too, to see if Lamborghini’s claims stack up.

Lamborghini Urus review

 

Join the debate

Comments
6

26 April 2018

Matt Prior says the engine sounds a touch synthetic. Based on this video it sounds, to me, like the engine noise from a 90's motor racing sim.

Citroëniste.

26 April 2018

You feel for car journalists at times. They used to be able to say it like it is - now they feel they have to be polite about SUVs, despite their better judgement. I am sure, on a carefully selected course, this is huge fun. I’m sure there are some people for whom this car makes sense. But most will just mooch around cities, and that’s stupid.

27 April 2018

Yep - a french friend of mine (motoring journalist with a good sense of humor) has come with the proposition of an obligatory test for SUVs: *monter les trottoirs*. :-)

Strictly ontopic now, I see the Urus as a Frankenstein-type creation of the marketing dudes, too big and too heavy, for some desert sheiks with equally heavy wallets. Implicit consequence: its engine is also too powerful / thirsty.

Styling wise it is OK though (subjective opinion, of course).

-- Old fart with petrol in veins, so off the e-cars grid literally --

27 April 2018

As Matt effectively points out, this is all about profitability. I've driven a fully kitted out X6 and even as a BMW fan I pretty much hated it for the way it felt on the road in comparison to an equivalent car and I'm guessing in comparison to a suitable equivalent the Urus will be the same. But, we have to consider that if we want Lamborghini to be able to continue to produce cars like the Aventador and the Huracan then this is absolutely necessary. So for that reason alone I'm very happy they're making it so we can still enjoy the sight and sound of those amazing vehicles.

27 April 2018

BMW and M have even synthetic sound nowadays.

Long live the M3 and M5 with NA L6 !

I have ears and it's sad to see the generalisation of turbos...

 

27 April 2018

Forget the noise, what about the looks ?

For the Nth time a VW group product looks awful compared to the original and very exciting show car. I guess the suits thought it ought to be more practical which isnt really what the brand is all about.

ScottishRichard

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Alpine A110 2018 road test review hero front
    Car review
    25 May 2018
    France’s revered sports car brand is back and chasing some heavyweight scalps
  • Kia Stinger GT S long-term review
    First Drive
    24 May 2018
    This is a 365bhp, rear-drive sports saloon with something to prove. Let’s see if it can
  • Land Rover Discovery
    First Drive
    23 May 2018
    Does the Land Rover Discovery – a vehicle designed to put in the hard yards – cut it as an executive company car? We ran it for seven months to find out
  • Aston Martin Vantage 2018 review hero front
    Car review
    23 May 2018
    Aston Martin’s cheapest model takes a big step up into the 21st century
  • Hyundai i30 N
    Standard spec is good so paint colour is our car’s only option
    First Drive
    22 May 2018
    What’s Hyundai’s first hot hatch and N-brand debutant really like? Let’s find out

Latest videos