Red Bull driver leads home team-mate Mark Webber
21 June 2009

Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel ended Jenson Button's run of success at the British Grand Prix.

As Button was only able to finish sixth, Vettel's victory ahead of his team-mate Mark Webber and Button's Brawn stablemate Rubens Barrichello hinted that this year's world championship might not be entirely settled yet.

See the full gallery of images here

Download Autocar's F1 circuit guides

Click here to read Alan Henry's blogs from the Formula One season

Vettel put controlled the grand prix from the outset - striding away from his lighter rivals at a staggering rate in the first stint. Consistently one second per lap quicker, he was 20 seconds clear of the closely-matched Barrichello and Webber by the first stops.

While Vettel cruised to his third career win, Webber completed Red Bull's perfect day by squeezing ahead of Barrichello as he emerged from his first pitstop, which he made a lap later than the Brazilian.

Button was never a factor in his home race. Boxed in behind the slow-starting Jarno Trulli off the line, he completed the first lap in eighth and stayed there for most of the afternoon. Only by running longer at his last stop was he able to jump ahead of Trulli's Toyota and Kimi Raikkonen's Ferrari.

RACE RESULTS1. Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1h22:49.3282. Webber Red Bull-Renault +15.1883. Barrichello Brawn GP-Mercedes +41.1754. Massa Ferrari +45.0435. Rosberg Williams-Toyota +45.9156. Button Brawn GP-Mercedes +46.2857. Trulli Toyota +1:08.3078. Raikkonen Ferrari + 1:09.6229. Glock Toyota +1:09.82310. Fisichella Force India-Mercedes +1:11.52211. Nakajima Williams-Toyota +1:14.02312. Piquet Renault +1 lap13. Kubica BMW Sauber +1 lap14. Alonso Renault +1 lap15. Heidfeld BMW Sauber +1 lap16. Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes +1 lap17. Sutil Force India-Mercedes +1 lap18. Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari +1 lap

Not classified/retirements:Bourdais Toro Rosso-FerrariKovalainen McLaren-Mercedes Drivers: 1. Button 64 2. Barrichello 413. Vettel 39 4. Webber 35.55. Trulli 21.56. Massa 167. Rosberg 15.58. Glock 13 9. Alonso 1110. Raikkonen 10

Constructors: 1. Brawn GP-Mercedes 1052. Red Bull-Renault 74.53. Toyota 34.54. Ferrari 265. Williams-Toyota 15.5

All timing unofficial

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Skoda-Karoq 2.0 TDI 4x4
    First Drive
    16 October 2017
    Diesel version of Skoda’s junior SUV is unobtrusive and undemanding, but we’d still go for the silkier petrol version of the Karoq
  • Audi Q7 e-tron
    First Drive
    16 October 2017
    Expensive and flawed but this understated diesel-electric Audi Q7 has a lot to offer
  • Citroën C3
    First Drive
    16 October 2017
    Is the third gen Citroën C3 ‘fresh and different’ enough to take on its supermini rivals? We spend six months with one to find out
  • BMW X3
    First Drive
    15 October 2017
    A satisfying rework of the X3 that usefully improves its handling, cabin finish, space and connectivity to make this BMW a class front-runner again
  • Vauxhall Insignia Country Tourer
    First Drive
    13 October 2017
    Off-road estate is now bigger, more spacious and available with torque-vectoring all-wheel drive, but is it enough to make its German rivals anxious?