Currently reading: Dominant Vettel takes fourth F1 Championship
Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel takes his fourth consecutive Formula One World Championship after a deserved victory in India
Darren Moss
2 mins read
27 October 2013

Sebastian Vettel has won the Indian Grand Prix, and in doing so has claimed his fourth consecutive Formula One World Championship title.

The Red Bull ace clinched overall victory at the Buddh circuit, despite pitting in the opening laps of the race to swap his soft-compound tyres for medium rubber - leaving the rest of the field to surge ahead and eventually putting Red Bull team-mate Mark Webber into the lead.

Vettel was quick to regain his position, though, as a combination of deft overtaking and pit stops soon saw Vettel move from 18th position to fifth on the track. The German continued to chase down Webber, cutting an 18-second defecit to just 11 seconds before the Australian driver pitted, leaving Vettel to re-take the lead. 

Both Red Bull drivers then lead a number of laps before Webber was forced to retire due to alternator problems. That issue meant he gifted second place to Lotus' Kimi Raikkonen, who himself was under attack from the Mercedes of Nico Rosberg. The Finn held off as long as he could, but struggled to preserve his pace on fading tyres.

In the end, with eight laps remaining, it was Rosberg who was able to deploy DRS and take second place from Raikonnen. The Lotus driver faced yet more trouble as his pace continued to deteriorate, with a chasing pack lead by team-mate Romain Grosjean quickly catching up. Raikonnen let the Frenchman past to take third place with four laps remaining, while Ferrari's Felipe Massa also swept past to take fourth. 

The final overtake for the Finnish driver came in the form of McLaren's Sergio Perez, who used his DRS to pass both Raikonnen and Lewis Hamilton and take fifth position.

Raikonnen was forced to pit for fresh tyres with just two laps to go, leaving him well down the field in seventh place.

The penultimate round of the 2013 Formula One World Championship will take place in Abu Dhabi on 3 November.

Indian Grand Prix, 27 October 2013

1. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)

2. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)

3. Romain Grosjean (Lotus)

4. Felipe Massa (Ferrari)

5. Sergio Perez (McLaren)

6. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

7. Kimi Raikonnen (Lotus)

8. Paul Di Resta (Force India)

9. Adrian Sutil (Force India)

10. Daniel Ricciardo (Toro Rosso)


Find an Autocar review

Join the debate


28 October 2013

is in Austin, not Abu Dhabi.

28 October 2013

..on the 17th.

28 October 2013

Whilst Vettel and Red Bull undoubtedly deserved their titles I hope this is the end of an era and the next couple of seasons are much more unpredictable.

Getting bored driving and technical excellence isn't how it should be. Perhaps the unpredictability in 2014 will come from who ends up at the side of the road but we'll see..

28 October 2013

...the same team that as Jaguar F1 under FORD ownership and (mis)management couldn't get near the front of the grid, let alone win a race!

28 October 2013

Now it's decided,the real Championship finale can begin,Adrian Newey was so far ahead of the rest that it was a sure thing,this race proved it,even a dash for a tyre change on lap2 didn't put Vettel in the anticipated position the other teams thought,and in the end it was so easy.Now, who is going to be second?

28 October 2013

I agree with ''Bomb'' above the last season has been rather boring seeing Vettel win all the time and no one not able to get anywhere near them so I really hope next season mixes it up a bit and we get lots off unpradictability in it . Really want to see somone else win the season next year and really hope Daniel Recardo can really challage Vettel too .

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review