Currently reading: Gordon Murray wins RAC's Dewar Trophy
Royal Automobile Club honours designer Gordon Murray for iStream and OX flat-pack truck; electric car company Riversimple wins award too

Leading British designer Gordon Murray was awarded the Royal Automobile Club's prestigious Dewar Trophy at a ceremony in London today, for his iStream production technology and the Global Vehicle Trust OX flat-pack truck

The award is only handed out in years when the RAC decides there are contenders of sufficient talent to justify it.

This also goes for the Simms Medal, which at the same event was awarded to British-based electric car company Riversimple, the company behind the Rasa hydrogen FCV. Riversimple boss Hugo Spowers collected the Simms Medal on behalf of his company. 

Upon receiving the award, Murray said: “It’s a great honour to receive such a prestigious award on behalf of our company. I am extremely proud of what our team has achieved in industrialising iStream. Our mission has been to develop Formula 1 technology to a point where it is accessible to the everyday motorist and to enable affordable lightweighting and to introduce new levels of automotive durability and safety.”

Previous winners of the Dewar Trophy include McLaren in 2013, for the P1, and in 1959 it was awarded to the British Motor Corporation and Alec Issigonis for the Mini.


Latest business news

Rolls Royce Spectre production line
Production of hybrid, plug-in-hybrid and battery-electric cars is on the up
UK car industry records best October since Covid pandemic
Hydrogen fuel pump
Hydrogen retains its key advantage over battery EVs of quick refills for busy commercial vehicle operators
A decade behind EVs and twice the price – but hydrogen isn’t dead
Nissan Leaf built in UK
Electric Nissan Leaf is built in UK; SMMT wants incentives to help private buyers get their hands on one
Industry bosses call for EV incentives to aid private buyers

Join the debate

Add a comment…
xxxx 2 November 2016


"awarded to British-based electric car company Riversimple" don't you mean the hydrogen fuelled car company!