Matt Saunders
22 January 2013

What is it?

A new addition to the VW Beetle’s UK range. This turbocharged 2.0-litre model adds a little bit of pace and pep to the line-up, with 197bhp and 206lb ft of torque, not to mention an independent multi-link rear suspension system in place of the torsion beam you’ll find on any less powerful Beetle.

What is it like?

If Volkswagen’s aim for the new Beetle was to inject some testosterone into the car’s appeal, and rebalance the hitherto female-dominated customer base, it’s had limited success. The car now looks slightly less like somewhere to get your nails done, it’s true, but to drive, it remains under-nourished, unexciting and generally unimpressive.

VW’s turbocharged 2.0-litre engine is the same one seen in the last Golf GTI, albeit in slightly detuned form. It makes a bassy, interesting warble you could almost confuse for that of a five-pot. It’s also got plenty of performance and responds well to the accelerator.

But then the engine was never likely to be among the weaker points of this particular recipe. Those, in ascending order of weakness, are an electro-mechanical steering system loaded with unhelpful weight (but still lacking feedback), and a wooden and unyielding suspension tune.

The latter certainly rules out much lateral roll and, in tandem with the car’s 19in alloys, provides lots of grip. But it feels every bit as incompatible with UK roads as the Beetle’s Central American origins imply. As well as creating a lot of road noise, the Beetle’s suspension thumps over broken and uneven surfaces, and all the while fails to keep particularly close control of vertical body movements.

Should I buy one?

No. This car finds itself in an unenviable place in the market. It possesses neither the dynamic sophistication to appeal to the likes of you and I, nor the soft-edged habitability and ease of use to rank as a particularly credible high-end fashion car.

There will always be customers persuaded more by the Beetle’s chirpy style than they may be dissuaded by its relative lack of substance, but they’re well advised to steer clear of this version, and to buy a cheaper, more comfy and more usable model – if they must.

Volkswagen Beetle 2.0 TSI Turbo Silver DSG

Price £24,605; 0-62mph 7.5sec; Top speed 139mph; Economy 37.2mpg; CO2 176g/km; Kerb weight 1439kg; Engine type, cc 4 cyls, 1984cc, turbocharged; Power 197bhp at 5100rpm; Torque 206lb ft at 5000rpm; Gearbox 6-spd dual-clutch

Join the debate

Comments
13

Missing Weakness

1 year 26 weeks ago

"in ascending order of weakness, are an electro-mechanical steering system loaded with unhelpful weight and a wooden and unyielding suspension tune"

You, of course, neglect to mention the terrible DSG gearbox that ensures a slightly sterile, two dimensional driving experience that every road test of the Polo GTi et al highlights with words to the effect "would be better with a manual..."

Next.

Like the Fiat 500, this car

1 year 26 weeks ago

Like the Fiat 500, this car is designed to be more about style than it is about driving.  The blown engine option is going to be for those who want "a bit more grunt" or someone who wants to be seen as sporty rather than a performanc driving machine.

If you look at it from that point of view, then it does it's job but for anyone who has an ounce of petrol in their veins this car is an irrelevance.

 

 

It's all about the twisties........

As for me..

1 year 26 weeks ago

I think I would rather buy this than a new Golf..

If I were a woman that is!

 

it is an amazing car! I

1 year 24 weeks ago

it is an amazing car! I really like it. software licensing

There will always be

1 year 23 weeks ago

There will always be customers persuaded more by the Beetle’s chirpy style than they may be dissuaded by its relative lack of substance for the bride's father

The beetle looks nice in white

1 year 22 weeks ago

With the old beetles among my favourites I think this one will be a stonker and turn out to be very popular. I wonder if white car mats  is a possibility. It should appeal to all ages and help with vw car sales across the board.

it is a good car. I really

1 year 21 weeks ago

it is a good car. I really like it. http://www.ontherocksuk.co.uk/

Part of the phlebotomy

1 year 21 weeks ago

Part of the phlebotomy training process involves the drawing of blood for specimen analysis and transfers, therefore you’re interested in healthcare and aren’t squeamish regarding blood, a career as a phlebotomist may be for you 

Vehicle Management System

1 year 21 weeks ago

The vehicle wall picture are ideal for customers who are interested in vehicles and vehicles. The vehicle and car wall picture function different images and pictures of popular vehicles created by different producers. The wall picture can be used to emphasize and improve the overall look of the pc.
Vehicle Management System

it is a really good car and I

1 year 20 weeks ago

it is a really good car and I am sure that they will sell a big amount.

noni juice health benefits

Please register or login to post a comment.

Our Verdict

The Volkswagen Beetle is only the third all-new model since the original launched in 1938. It is based on the Mk6 Golf, but the base car is far better

Driven this week

  • Nissan X-Trail 1.6 dCI UK first drive review

    Nissan X-Trail 1.6 dCI UK first drive review

    First drive
    30 July 2014 12:16pm

    Crossover lessons have been put into practice with the X-Trail, resulting in a near class-leading SUV

  • Alpina B4 Biturbo first drive review

    Alpina B4 Biturbo first drive review

    First drive
    30 July 2014 12:15pm

    Alpina’s most direct swipe at a BMW M car yet produces an almost entirely convincing result

  • Audi S3 cabriolet UK first drive review

    Audi S3 cabriolet UK first drive review

    First drive
    29 July 2014 3:05pm

    Stylish high-performance compact cabriolet is well executed but a harsh ride and lifeless steering dent its appeal

  • Volkswagen Golf SV 1.6 TDI SE first drive review

    Volkswagen Golf SV 1.6 TDI SE first drive review

    First drive
    29 July 2014

    Larger, more spacious Golf majors on practicality, but a lack of driver involvement leaves it second behind Ford's C-Max

  • BMW M3

    BMW M3

    Car review
    28 July 2014

    You’d imagine that a higher roofline and four doors would hinder the M3 saloon’s capabilities compared to the M4 coupé, but you'd be wrong