The new Nissan Qashqai is the What Car? Car of the Year 2014.

It is the first time that Nissan has won the overall What Car? Car of the Year Award; the British-built Qashqai was also named best small SUV.

What Car? editor-in-chief Chas Hallett said: “The all-new Nissan Qashqai brings excellence and polish to a class of cars that is brimming with talent and tempting buys. The Qashqai delivers low costs and first-class levels of comfort, refinement, space and safety.

“Nissan has thought of every last detail, and this complete approach is why the Qashqai is What Car?’s Car of the Year. The Nissan team should be justifiably proud of their achievement.”

Nissan Motor GB managing director Jim Wright said: “We’re thrilled that What Car? has named the new Qashqai as its 2014 Car of the Year. A huge amount of effort has gone into the design and engineering of the new car, and we’re all extremely excited about creating the template for the second-generation crossover."

2014 What Car? Award winners

Small car: Ford Fiesta 1.0T 100 Ecoboost Zetec 5dr

Family car: Skoda Octavia 1.2 TSI SE

Green car: BMW i3 electric

Coupé: BMW 435i M Sport Sport auto

Estate car: Volkswagen Golf Estate 1.6 TDI SE Bluemotion Tech

MPV: Citroën Grand C4 Picasso 1.6 e-HDi 115 Exclusive

Hot hatch: Ford Fiesta ST-2

Open-top car: Audi A3 Cabriolet 1.8 TSI S line

Small SUV: Nissan Qashqai 1.5 dCi Acenta 2WD

Large SUV: Range Rover Sport SDV6 HSE

Executive car: Audi A3 Saloon 2.0 TDI Sport

Sports car: Porsche Boxster 2.7

Luxury car: Mercedes-Benz S-class S350 Bluetec L SE Line

Reader award: Nissan X-Trail

Car of the Year: Nissan Qashqai 1.5 dCi Acenta 2WD

Previous What Car? Car of the Year winners: 2013 Audi A3 Sportback; 2012 Volkswagen Up; 2011 Audi A1; 2010 Peugeot 3008; 2009 Ford Fiesta; 2008 Jaguar XF; 2007 Vauxhall Corsa; 2006 BMW 320d; 2005 Land Rover Discovery; 2004 Volkswagen Golf; 2003 Seat Ibiza; 2002 Toyota Corolla; 2001 Ford Mondeo; 2000 Skoda Fabia; 1999 Rover 75; 1998 Land Rover Freelander; 1997 Renault Mégane Scénic; 1996 Peugeot 406; 1995 Volkswagen Polo; 1994 Peugeot 306; 1993 Ford Mondeo; 1992 Volkswagen Golf; 1991 Rover Metro; 1990 Rover 214 Si; 1989 Ford Fiesta; 1988 BMW 735i; 1987 Renault 21 Savannah; 1986 Saab 9000 Turbo 16; 1985 Volkswagen Golf; 1984 Peugeot 205; 1983 MG Metro; 1982 Mercedes-Benz 200T; 1981 Volkswagen Golf; 1980 Vauxhall Astra; 1979 Peugeot 305; 1978 Renault 20.