McLaren driver takes first win of the year
26 July 2009

Lewis Hamilton claimed his first victory of the year in the Hungarian Grand Prix.

The McLaren driver passed Red Bull's Mark Webber early on, and then moved into the lead when Fernando Alonso (Renault) retired when a wheel was fitted wrongly at his pitstop.

See the full Hungarian Grand Prix picture gallery

Twitter - follow

Hamilton then endured race-long pressure from Ferrari's Kimi Raikkonen, but was always far enough ahead to be able to have some breathing space.

Webber made further inroads into Jenson Button's championship lead, as the Australian took third and Button could only manage two points for seventh.

That result made Webber Red Bull's leading contender in the championship, as his team-mate Sebastian Vettel retired with suspension damage, a legacy of a startline brush with Raikkonen.

Meanwhile, it has been announced that Felipe Massa will remain in an induced coma for another 48 hours to aid his recovery, hospital officials in Budapest have confirmed.

Although Massa was woken up briefly on Sunday morning, the AEK Hospital's medical director Peter Bazso said on Sunday that the Brazilian would remain induced for another two days to aid his recovery.

See all the latest Mercedes reviews, news and video

Results:1. Hamilton (McLaren-Mercedes)2. Raikkonen (Ferrari)3. Webber (Red Bull-Renault)4. Rosberg (Williams-Toyota)5. Kovalainen (McLaren-Mercedes)6. Glock (Toyota)7. Button (Brawn-Mercedes)8. Trulli (Toyota)9. Nakajima (Williams-Toyota)10. Barrichello (Brawn-Mercedes )11. Heidfeld (BMW Sauber)12. Piquet (Renault)13. Kubica (BMW Sauber)14. Fisichella (Force India-Mercedes)15. Alguersuari (Toro Rosso-Ferrari)16. Buemi (Toro Rosso-Ferrari)

Not classified/retirements:Vettel (Red Bull-Renault)Alonso (Renault)Sutil (Force India-Mercedes)Massa (Ferrari) Drivers points: 1. Button 70 2. Webber 51.53. Vettel 474. Barrichello 445. Rosberg 25.56. Trulli 22.5 7. Massa 228. Hamilton 199. Raikkonen 1810. Glock 16 11. Alonso 13 12. Kovalainen 9 13. Heidfeld 6 14. Buemi 3 15. Bourdais 2 16. Kubica 2

Constructors points: 1. Brawn-Mercedes 1142. Red Bull-Renault 98.53. Ferrari 404. Toyota 38.55. McLaren-Mercedes 286. Williams-Toyota 25.57. Renault 138. BMW Sauber 89. Toro Rosso-Ferrari 5

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Lexus LC500
    Car review
    20 October 2017
    Futuristic Lexus LC coupé mixes the latest technology with an old-school atmospheric V8
  • Maserati Levante S GranSport
    First Drive
    20 October 2017
    Get ready to trade in your diesels: Maserati’s luxury SUV finally gets the engine it’s always needed
  • Jaguar XF Sportbrake TDV6
    First Drive
    19 October 2017
    The handsome Jaguar XF Sportbrake exhibits all the hallmarks that makes the saloon great, and with the silky smooth diesel V6 makes it a compelling choice
  • Volkswagen T-Roc TDI
    First Drive
    19 October 2017
    Volkswagen's new compact crossover has the looks, the engineering and the build quality to be a resounding success, but not with this diesel engine
  • BMW M550i
    First Drive
    19 October 2017
    The all-paw M550i is a fast, effortless mile-muncher, but there's a reason why it won't be sold in the UK