11 years since Jenson Button wins the Formula Ford Festival, the class of 2009 fight it out
19 October 2009

While Jenson Button was winning the Formula One world championship in Brazil, potential F1 stars of the future were fighting it out for the Formula Ford Festival trophy at Brands Hatch in Kent.

See the hi-res Formula Ford Festival 2009 picsBlog: Following in Button's footsteps

Button won the title in 1998, while Brazil race winner Mark Webber also won the Festival in 1996. Other past winners have included Eddie Irvine, Anthony Davidson and Johnny Herbert.

Chrissy Palmer won this year’s Festival in a thrilling final, which was led in the early stages by Liroy Stuart. Stuart had started third, but led going into Paddock and looked to be on course for the victory.

But Palmer never let him get away and he finally got his man on the Cooper Straight on lap 13 when Stuart got out of line at Graham Hill bend. Stuart immediately grabbed the lead back, but ran wide out of Clearways and Palmer then stuck in a series of fastest laps to take the victory.

2009 Formula Ford title winner James Cole could only managed third place.

Twitter - follow autocar.co.ukSee all the latest Ford reviews, news and video

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Lexus LC500
    Car review
    20 October 2017
    Futuristic Lexus LC coupé mixes the latest technology with an old-school atmospheric V8
  • Maserati Levante S GranSport
    First Drive
    20 October 2017
    Get ready to trade in your diesels: Maserati’s luxury SUV finally gets the engine it’s always needed
  • Jaguar XF Sportbrake TDV6
    First Drive
    19 October 2017
    The handsome Jaguar XF Sportbrake exhibits all the hallmarks that makes the saloon great, and with the silky smooth diesel V6 makes it a compelling choice
  • Volkswagen T-Roc TDI
    First Drive
    19 October 2017
    Volkswagen's new compact crossover has the looks, the engineering and the build quality to be a resounding success, but not with this diesel engine
  • BMW M550i
    First Drive
    19 October 2017
    The all-paw M550i is a fast, effortless mile-muncher, but there's a reason why it won't be sold in the UK