McLaren and Honda announced today that they will join forces in F1 again from 2015; here we celebrate their partnership from 1988-1992
16 May 2013

McLaren and Honda announced today that they will renew their partnership in Formula 1 from 2015.

The pair originally worked together from 1988 to 1992, shattering F1 records along the way. Here we celebrate every win in pictures.

The partnership began with a pole position by Ayrton Senna and victory by Alain Prost in the season-opening Brazilian Grand Prix in 1988, and ended at the 1992 Australian Grand Prix with a victory for Gerhard Berger.

Over the course of the five-year partnership McLaren and Honda started 80 grands prix, scored 55 pole positions (a 66 per cent strike rate), won 44 races (a 55 per cent win rate) and set 30 fastest laps.

Drivers of McLaren-Honda cars won four world championships (Ayrton Senna in 1988, 1990 and 1991 and Alain Prost in 1989) and the pairing notched up constructors' titles in 1988, 1989, 1990 and 1991.

During the course of the association McLaren and Honda also enjoyed three race-winning engine combinations: a 1.5-litre turbo V6, 3.5-litre naturally aspirated V10 and 3.5-litre naturally aspirated V12.

Our Verdict

McLaren MP4-12C Spider

The McLaren 12C Spider narrows the gap to the Ferrari 458 - particularly in drop-top form - to negligible

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

Join the debate


20 May 2013

One reason why I smoked Marlboro for 20 years. Alot of the Mclaren Honda vcitories were due to reliability being a key, when many competitors would frequently blow their engines and gearboxes.


Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week