Currently reading: John Surtees awarded the Segrave Trophy
Legendary Formula 1 and motorbike world champion commended for his outstanding career

John Surtees has been awarded the Segrave Trophy by the Royal Automobile Club.

The Formula 1 and motorbike world champion was awarded the trophy for his “outstanding career in two- and four-wheeled motorsport, including seven motorcycle world championship titles, culminating in the unique achievement of being the only man to win a motorcycle world championship and the Formula 1 World Championship.”

The recipient of the Segrave Trophy is selected by a panel of experts that includes leading figures from the automotive and aeronautical worlds. The Trophy was first awarded in 1930, in memory of Sir Henry Segrave, who was a leading fighter pilot, grand prix race winner and world speed record holder on land and water.

Surtees said: “I am honoured, as I approach the 50th anniversary of my Formula 1 World Championship title, to receive this prestigious trophy on behalf of not only myself but also the world of two- and four-wheeled motorsport.”

Past winners of the Segrave Trophy include Malcolm Campbell, Stirling Moss, Donald Campbell, Bruce McLaren, Jackie Stewart, Roger Clark, Barry Sheene, Mike Hailwood, Richard Noble, Nigel Mansell, Colin McRae, Damon Hill and Lewis Hamilton.


Join the debate

Add a comment…
ledbg 9 April 2014

nice post

Surtees is probably one of the most amazing drivers there has ever been and it's really great to hear that he's been awarded this trophy!
leebrothers01 6 May 2013

There are many awards

There are many awards provided for various wearing efforts these days, however one of the most popular of these is the FIFA Globe Cup. Yet what many individuals do not recognize is that the FIFA Globe Cup Award granted these days has only been existing since 1974. Before this time frame those countries that were champions of this particular sports occasion were provided with the Jules Rimet Award instead.

rogerthedodger 8 March 2013

John Surtees awarded the Segrave Trophy

If, when he got home, John Surtees muttered "and about time too" to his cat, he'd be quite right.

An unfarily underrated racer, driver, sportsman and gentleman.

Congratulations, and righlt derseved!