Currently reading: Button wins Monaco Grand Prix
Brawn ace notches up another victory

Jenson Button led Brawn's second straight one-two finish, beating his team-mate Rubens Barrichello in the Monaco Grand Prix.

Ferrari showed improved form, taking third and fourth with Kimi Raikkonen and Felipe Massa.

Click here to read Alan Henry's blogs from the Formula One season

Click here for our free printable pdfs of every F1 circuit

Flawless starts from Button and Barrichello established the Brawn duo in first and second places by the opening corner, with Raikkonen fending off Vettel to hold on to third.

From there the race was enlived by a battle between Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull), Massa, Nico Rosberg (Williams) and Heikki Kovalainen (McLaren), which ended when the former crashed.

1. Button (Brawn GP-Mercedes) 1h40:44.2822. Barrichello (Brawn GP-Mercedes) +7.6663. Raikkonen (Ferrari) +13.4434. Massa (Ferrari) +15.1105. Webber (Red Bull-Renault) +15.7306. Rosberg (Williams-Toyota) +33.5867. Alonso (Renault) +37.8398. Bourdais (Toro Rosso-Ferrari) +1:03.1429. Fisichella (Force India-Mercedes) +1:05.04010. Glock (Toyota) +1 lap11. Heidfeld (BMW Sauber) +1 lap12. Hamilton (McLaren-Mercedes) +1 lap13. Trulli (Toyota) +1 lap14. Sutil (Force India-Mercedes) +1 lap15. Nakajima (Williams-Toyota) +2 laps

Fastest lap: Massa, 1:15.154

RetirementsKovalainen (McLaren-Mercedes)Kubica (BMW Sauber)Vettel (Red Bull-Renault)Piquet (Renault)Buemi (Toro Rosso-Ferrari)

Drivers' championship: 1. Button 512. Barrichello 353. Vettel 23 4. Webber 19.55. Trulli 14.56. Glock 127. Alonso 11 8. Raikkonen 99. Hamilton 9 10. Massa 8 11. Rosberg 7.5 12. Heidfeld 6 13. Kovalainen 4 14. Buemi 3 15. Bourdais 2

Constructors' championship: 1. Brawn GP-Mercedes 862. Red Bull-Renault 42.53. Toyota 26.54. Ferrari 175. McLaren-Mercedes 136. Renault 117. Williams-Toyota 7.58. BMW Sauber 69. Toro Rosso-Ferrari 5All timing unofficial

Add a comment…