As the 2014 BTCC season approaches, we talk to each of the seven former champions competing this year. Today Jason Plato says the title challenge will be just as tough in 2014, despite the number of ex-champs
23 March 2014

Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship star Jason Plato says the competition will be no harder to win this season despite the fact that there will be seven title winners on the grid this season.

The MG6 racer, who took the championship in 2001 and 2010, thinks he will be right at the front of the pack this season after some upgrades to the Triple Eight Race Engineering-run car and its aerodynanmic bodywork.

He will go up against former champions Matt Neal, Gordon Shedden, Andrew Jordan, Fabrizio Giovanardi, Colin Turkington and Alain Menu, but he says he doesn’t fear any of them. 

“The British Touring Car Championship has never been easy to win for as long as I have taken part, even when there weren’t seven champions in it,” said Plato. “It is tough enough as it is, and I don’t think that it is going to get any harder this season.

“I am looking to having some great races with not just my old professional mates like Menu and Giovanardi but all the others. Everybody is going to be out there trying their hardest.”

Plato won eight races last term but finished third in the standings after some reliability problems with parts that were not related to the team.

Plato said: “Had it not been for our DNFs last season – and we had far too many of them – then we would have been in with a shout of the title at the end of the year. We let it get away. We lost wins though things going wrong on the car and it was from parts that weren’t built by us. This year is the last year of a three-year deal with MG and we are better prepared than we have ever been before. We will definitely be in with a chance.”

Plato will be looking to extend his record of victories. He is the most successful driver in the British Touring Car Championship in terms of overall race victories. He has 82 victories. The next most successful active driver is Matt Neal, with 52 race wins.

Our Verdict

MG 6 2011-2014

Can the MG Motor MG6, the company's first all-new car under Chinese ownership, hit its mark?

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Citroën C3 Aircross
    First Drive
    17 October 2017
    It's got funky looks and a charming interior, but it's another small SUV, and another dynamic miss. Numb steering is just one thing keeping it from class best
  • Skoda-Karoq 2.0 TDI 4x4
    First Drive
    16 October 2017
    Diesel version of Skoda’s junior SUV is unobtrusive and undemanding, but we’d still go for the silkier petrol version of the Karoq
  • Audi Q7 e-tron
    First Drive
    16 October 2017
    Expensive and flawed but this understated diesel-electric Audi Q7 has a lot to offer
  • Citroën C3
    First Drive
    16 October 2017
    Is the third gen Citroën C3 ‘fresh and different’ enough to take on its supermini rivals? We spend six months with one to find out
  • BMW X3
    First Drive
    15 October 2017
    A satisfying rework of the X3 that usefully improves its handling, cabin finish, space and connectivity to make this BMW a class front-runner again