Currently reading: Former champion Colin Turkington joins BTCC grid
The 2009 champion becomes the seventh BTCC title-winner to sign up for the 2014 season

Colin Turkington will return to the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship this season, driving a BMW 125i M Sport racer.

Turkington, the 2009 BTCC winner, is the seventh series champion to sign-up for this year's championship. He will join reigning champion Andrew Jordan on the grid, along with former champions Jason Plato (2001, 2010), Matt Neal (2005, 2006 and 2011), Gordon Shedden (2012), Alain Menu (1997, 2000) and Fabrizio Giovanardi (2007, 2008).

Turkington will compete in an eBay Motors-backed 125i run by West Surrey Racing, and will be joined by team-mates Rob Collard and Nick Foster. The trio raced for the team last year, but were held back as they developed the BMW to the championship's NGTC regulations.

Team boss Dick Bennetts said: “It was a very new-look team and a brand new car last season and I was pleased with our progress. Considering the other top teams had run NGTC cars for at least a year, five wins was something that everyone should be proud of."

Turkington added: “I have a long relationship with WSR and we’ve experienced some great successes together in both the BTCC and WTCC." 

The first race of this year’s British Touring Car Championship takes place at Brands Hatch on March 29/30.

Add a comment…