Vauxhall Adam video review

The default player for use in the video section of the Drupal Autocar site.

Review 11 November 2012

The Vauxhall Adam is the latest rival to the Mini and Fiat 500. It's a completely original, non-retro design that is creative, well-equipped and cleverly placed in the market, but is it fun?

Join the debate

Comments
16

One car or Two cars?

1 year 47 weeks ago

When I observed the car. It seemed that in the inside the logo was an Opel logo and in the outside it was a Vauxhall logo. I think they specially tested two cars to see what the differences are between the two cars. 

Negative....

2 years 1 week ago

I cant imagine it would be that terrible to drive. I have driven a lot of cars over the years, And can not say I was overly fussed with the current fiesta. I drive corsas at work and find them perfectly acceptable to drive.

Probably not two cars. As it

2 years 5 days ago

Probably not two cars. As it will be a press car, they will have vauxhall badging on them for the mags pictures. However, I suspect they will have forgotten about the interior.

As for the car itself, I really like the styling, I like the interior, the stereo sounds like somethnig that should have been available in every car a few years ago, and I find the paint colour names funny. I don't like the name of the car or the specs, but I doubt that will hold it back too much.

Shame it seems a let down in the engines/handling, the should have spent a little more time making this a MINI rival in that dept, rather than the 500. I can imagine cost will be the biggest factor there, which seems a little short sighted.

-----

10 years of Smart ownership over, sensible car mode activated

Forget about Vauxhall

2 years 4 days ago

Seems like a lot of fuss from the readership over very little! There hasn't been a "Vauxhall" car for a very long time, and this isn't one either - so get over it, the badges are irrelevant and merely there for marketing purposes.  The GM division of Opel designs its' products without reference to Vauxhall, who simply have to sell the products it is offered. This is a soundly engineered small car with a nod towards the younger buyer, which is basically what the Corsa was. When was the last time that GM/Opel small to mid-range products were noted for their brio, driving characteristics and delicacy of control and response? No I can't remember either!  But that doesn't mean the Adam won't sell satisfactorily. It's an averagely aspirational car aimed at the averagely aspirational market - with a whiff of GM's take on "youth" culture and a visual nod toward the current trend of high-waisted plumped-out body shapes. It should do very well in today's marketplace...

Just don't get it

2 years 3 days ago

What is the point of this car ? – especially when the advertising spend on the Corsa is so high at the moment – there is so much overlap.  Much prefer Audi's A1 anyway.

It looks great, clean and

1 year 41 weeks ago

It looks great, clean and modern. Smile A different, unique design with pretty much no "face" which is good. Smile

Please register or login to post a comment.

Driven this week

  • 2015 Audi RS Q3 review

    2015 Audi RS Q3 review

    First drive
    18 November 2014

    More of an expensive oddity than a range-topping performance SUV, and an ultimately unsatisfying oddity at that

  • 2015 Bentley Mulsanne Speed review

    2015 Bentley Mulsanne Speed review

    First drive
    18 November 2014

    The fastest luxury saloon in the world is also one of the very best

  • 2015 Fiat 500X review

    2015 Fiat 500X review

    First drive
    17 November 2014

    Decent styling, a well-judged interior and good practicality means Fiat's 500X is a worthy entrant on your compact crossover shortlist

  • 2015 Hyundai i20 review

    2015 Hyundai i20 review

    First drive
    17 November 2014

    The new i20 is a very spacious, well-kitted and keenly priced addition to this competitive segment, but it’s let down by weak engines

  • 2014 Porsche 911 Carrera 4 GTS PDK review

    2014 Porsche 911 Carrera 4 GTS PDK review

    First drive
    14 November 2014

    This sporty 911 Carrera plugs the gap between the standard Carrera S and the hardcore GT3 successfully

Latest videos