Vauxhall Adam video review

The default player for use in the video section of the Drupal Autocar site.

Review 11 November 2012

The Vauxhall Adam is the latest rival to the Mini and Fiat 500. It's a completely original, non-retro design that is creative, well-equipped and cleverly placed in the market, but is it fun?

Join the debate

Comments
16

So Vauxhall have had years to

2 years 2 weeks ago

So Vauxhall have had years to study what it is that appeals to the buyer in this market segment and fluffs it on the whole, interior and spec aside that is. Sounds like another average Vauxhall to me. Wonder what royalties they pay Ford for the Mk1 KA rear styling? 

Driving a Picasso empties your wallet.

There appears to be two cars

2 years 1 week ago

There appears to be two cars in this video, the car has Vauxhall badges on the outside but an Opel badge on the steering wheel.

It's a car Jim, but not as we know it?

2 years 1 week ago

If all that's going to hold it back are it's road dynamics,then, to 90% of those who buy it,that won't matter,because, the silly trim name levels,the fake over paint,the gimmiky interior lights, will be enough to sell it.

Peter Cavellini.

Dear Lord it's hideous.

2 years 1 week ago

Dear Lord it's hideous.

No technical advance on a Corsa?

2 years 1 week ago

Although it has been around for a fair bit, the Corsa has always earned the favourable description "mature", implying that it at least had a measure of refinement and a reasonable ride.  From this video, it would appear that the Adam has made no advance in these aspects at all; it all being about bling and funny names and to hell with the basic technology.

Naff, vulgar, dynamically

2 years 1 week ago

Naff, vulgar, dynamically inept and noisy -  'celebrity' product endorsement ahoy...

 

PAA

A bunch of whiners

2 years 1 week ago

What's wrong with you people? Logging in just to give your negative comments cause you hate Vauxhall is pathetic. I've never owned a Vauxhall but to me this is a solid little car. It reminds me slightly of the A1 and of nothing else really, but give it a 140hp engine and some extra driving dynamics and it is great. My first choice would still be a Mini but among all others, this comes second. Good job Opel.

A bunch of whiners?? ...

2 years 1 week ago

@PAA ... This has nothing to do with hating Vauxhall/Opel ... We are simply pointing out that they have got the "Adam" completely and utterly wrong; something highlighted all to starkly with the parade of "premium" small cars at the start of the review, i.e. "the competition": the MINI, the 500, the A1 and the DS3 ...

They got the styling wrong, the mechanics wrong, the name wrong, the trim levels wrong, the trims themselves wrong (tacky Fablon holographic dashboard, cringe-inducing paint 'overrun' graphics, scattered "mood lighting" LEDs, etc.) ... Wrong, wrong, wrong!!!

Much as I take issue with 6th.replicant with regards the links with Essex (being an 'Essex lad' myself), I must sadly say that the "Adam" will appeal to the stereotypical of that county ...

 

PAA wrote: What's wrong with

2 years 1 week ago

PAA wrote:

What's wrong with you people? Logging in just to give your negative comments cause you hate Vauxhall is pathetic.

What's wrong with you? Logging on just to give negative comments on people giving negative comments. 

Looking at your post history, your last 9 posts stretching back over a 6 week period are all on or about Vauxhall. I suspect you may live in Luton and be a member of the Vauxhall Fan Club.

 

 

 

 

 

"They got the styling wrong,

2 years 1 week ago

"They got the styling wrong, the mechanics wrong, the name wrong, the trim levels wrong, the trims themselves wrong (tacky Fablon holographic dashboard, cringe-inducing paint 'overrun' graphics, scattered "mood lighting" LEDs, etc.) ... Wrong, wrong, wrong!!!"

woah...sweeping statements! I totally disagree. Styling; great. Mechanics; average. Trim and equipment are interesting..let's not forget that to get an LED roof you need to buy a Rolls-Royce. It's a cool little car. Trouble is it's far too late to the party. If this was out 3-4 years ago it would be a winner. Now it just looks like a wannabe. 

Please register or login to post a comment.

Driven this week

  • BMW 520d SE Saloon Auto review

    BMW 520d SE Saloon Auto review

    First drive
    25 November 2014 12:42pm

    Buying a 5-series was always a no-brainer, and this facelift has cemented its place at the top of the executive class

  • 2014 Alpina D4 Biturbo review

    2014 Alpina D4 Biturbo review

    First drive
    25 November 2014 10:58am

    Hot diesel coupé offers the potential of 0-60mph in 4.6sec and 53mpg economy

  • 2015 Audi RS Q3 review

    2015 Audi RS Q3 review

    First drive
    18 November 2014

    More of an expensive oddity than a range-topping performance SUV, and an ultimately unsatisfying oddity at that

  • 2015 Bentley Mulsanne Speed review

    2015 Bentley Mulsanne Speed review

    First drive
    18 November 2014

    The fastest luxury saloon in the world is also one of the very best

  • 2015 Fiat 500X review

    2015 Fiat 500X review

    First drive
    17 November 2014

    Decent styling, a well-judged interior and good practicality means Fiat's 500X is a worthy entrant on your compact crossover shortlist

Latest videos