Vauxhall Adam video review

The default player for use in the video section of the Drupal Autocar site.

Review 11 November 2012

The Vauxhall Adam is the latest rival to the Mini and Fiat 500. It's a completely original, non-retro design that is creative, well-equipped and cleverly placed in the market, but is it fun?

Join the debate

Comments
16

So Vauxhall have had years to

1 year 40 weeks ago

So Vauxhall have had years to study what it is that appeals to the buyer in this market segment and fluffs it on the whole, interior and spec aside that is. Sounds like another average Vauxhall to me. Wonder what royalties they pay Ford for the Mk1 KA rear styling? 

Driving a Picasso empties your wallet.

There appears to be two cars

1 year 40 weeks ago

There appears to be two cars in this video, the car has Vauxhall badges on the outside but an Opel badge on the steering wheel.

It's a car Jim, but not as we know it?

1 year 40 weeks ago

If all that's going to hold it back are it's road dynamics,then, to 90% of those who buy it,that won't matter,because, the silly trim name levels,the fake over paint,the gimmiky interior lights, will be enough to sell it.

Peter Cavellini.

Dear Lord it's hideous.

1 year 40 weeks ago

Dear Lord it's hideous.

No technical advance on a Corsa?

1 year 40 weeks ago

Although it has been around for a fair bit, the Corsa has always earned the favourable description "mature", implying that it at least had a measure of refinement and a reasonable ride.  From this video, it would appear that the Adam has made no advance in these aspects at all; it all being about bling and funny names and to hell with the basic technology.

Naff, vulgar, dynamically

1 year 40 weeks ago

Naff, vulgar, dynamically inept and noisy -  'celebrity' product endorsement ahoy...

 

PAA

A bunch of whiners

1 year 40 weeks ago

What's wrong with you people? Logging in just to give your negative comments cause you hate Vauxhall is pathetic. I've never owned a Vauxhall but to me this is a solid little car. It reminds me slightly of the A1 and of nothing else really, but give it a 140hp engine and some extra driving dynamics and it is great. My first choice would still be a Mini but among all others, this comes second. Good job Opel.

A bunch of whiners?? ...

1 year 40 weeks ago

@PAA ... This has nothing to do with hating Vauxhall/Opel ... We are simply pointing out that they have got the "Adam" completely and utterly wrong; something highlighted all to starkly with the parade of "premium" small cars at the start of the review, i.e. "the competition": the MINI, the 500, the A1 and the DS3 ...

They got the styling wrong, the mechanics wrong, the name wrong, the trim levels wrong, the trims themselves wrong (tacky Fablon holographic dashboard, cringe-inducing paint 'overrun' graphics, scattered "mood lighting" LEDs, etc.) ... Wrong, wrong, wrong!!!

Much as I take issue with 6th.replicant with regards the links with Essex (being an 'Essex lad' myself), I must sadly say that the "Adam" will appeal to the stereotypical of that county ...

 

PAA wrote: What's wrong with

1 year 39 weeks ago

PAA wrote:

What's wrong with you people? Logging in just to give your negative comments cause you hate Vauxhall is pathetic.

What's wrong with you? Logging on just to give negative comments on people giving negative comments. 

Looking at your post history, your last 9 posts stretching back over a 6 week period are all on or about Vauxhall. I suspect you may live in Luton and be a member of the Vauxhall Fan Club.

 

 

 

 

 

"They got the styling wrong,

1 year 39 weeks ago

"They got the styling wrong, the mechanics wrong, the name wrong, the trim levels wrong, the trims themselves wrong (tacky Fablon holographic dashboard, cringe-inducing paint 'overrun' graphics, scattered "mood lighting" LEDs, etc.) ... Wrong, wrong, wrong!!!"

woah...sweeping statements! I totally disagree. Styling; great. Mechanics; average. Trim and equipment are interesting..let's not forget that to get an LED roof you need to buy a Rolls-Royce. It's a cool little car. Trouble is it's far too late to the party. If this was out 3-4 years ago it would be a winner. Now it just looks like a wannabe. 

Please register or login to post a comment.

Driven this week

  • Citroen DS5 LS first drive review

    Citroen DS5 LS first drive review

    First drive
    20 August 2014 4:32pm

    Saloon version of Citroën's DS5 has been created to battle premium German rivals in China, but falls short

  • Ferrari 458 Speciale

    Ferrari 458 Speciale

    Car review
    20 August 2014 4:21pm

    Ferrari's last-word 458 brings unparalleled poise and purpose

  • Hyundai Genesis

    Hyundai Genesis

    Car review
    20 August 2014 8:26am

    The Korean firm has made progress in its quest to match executive saloons from Audi, Mercedes and BMW, but on this evidence there's still work to do

  • BMW X3 xDrive20d M Sport first drive review

    BMW X3 xDrive20d M Sport first drive review

    First drive
    20 August 2014 12:02am

    X3’s new 2.0-litre four-pot diesel has its merits, but bigger six-pot remains the more appealing choice

  • Mercedes-Benz C220 Bluetec Sport estate UK first drive review

    Mercedes-Benz C220 Bluetec Sport estate UK first drive review

    First drive
    19 August 2014

    Luxurious load-lugger offers generous amounts of room and only loses out to the BMW 3-series Touring on dynamic ability

Latest videos