Aston Martin DB9 video review

The default player for use in the video section of the Drupal Autocar site.

Review 17 October 2012

The new Aston Martin DB9 gets styling cues from the Virage, and retains the 6.0-litre V12 but now in 510bhp tune. So has it moved on enough to justify its £132k price and rationalise the Aston range? Steve Sutcliffe finds out.

Join the debate

Comments
5

Even at................?

1 year 40 weeks ago

£132K it's still dear for what it is,£50K less gets you the same if not more performance,so i guess it's the interioryour paying for,oh, and the name.

Peter Cavellini.

"This car feels a million

1 year 40 weeks ago

"This car feels a million dollars, inside" - including the late-'90s Jag/Ford parts bin column stalks?

"£132K it's still dear for

1 year 40 weeks ago

"£132K it's still dear for what it is,£50K less gets you the same if not more performance" 

It is clear some people miss the point of the DB9 completely . 

All you have to do is ask yourself what sort of person would buy this car and why, then you have all the answers you will ever need to understand the DB9 and also why it's price is spot on.

If you can't afford the good value £132.000 DB9 then why not buy the expensive Jag, but it would be best to avoid eye contact with anyone driving a DB9.

No, don't buy the Jag, buy a used DB9 and save yourself any possible embarrassment or feelings of envy and inadequacy!

This revised DB9 is probably the classiest, most stylish automobile on the market, pure sophistication in a nutshell. It is so rare for a manufacture to get something so right.

The perfectly balanced Aston Martin.

 

 


 



Sputnik wrote "If you can't

1 year 40 weeks ago

Sputnik wrote

"If you can't afford the good value £132.000 DB9 then why not buy the expensive Jag, but it would be best to avoid eye contact with anyone driving a DB9.

No, don't buy the Jag, buy a used DB9 and save yourself any possible embarrassment or feelings of envy and inadequacy!"

 

I think that'a little harsh.  If I were in the position to be able to afford a 103K Jag XKR-S, I would be over the proverbial moon and thanking my good fortune, but I for one would not feel inadequate, embarrassed or have feelings of envy towards the driver of the DB9.  Both cars, in my opinion, are superb and yes the Aston does have a more elevated position/name in the hierarchy of cars.  If any person were to feel envy if a DB9 pulled up at the lights, then he or she would have bought the Aston in the first place

Absolutely

1 year 31 weeks ago

Awesome. I so want one of these and when my lotto numbers come up, this is where my money's going. All you could ever want from a sports car and the coolest car in the known galaxy.

Aussie Rob - a view from down under

Please register or login to post a comment.

Driven this week

  • BMW M3

    BMW M3

    Car review
    28 July 2014 3:09pm

    You’d imagine that a higher roofline and four doors would hinder the M3 saloon’s capabilities compared to the M4 coupé, but you'd be wrong

  • Ford EcoSport 1.0 EcoBoost UK first drive review

    Ford EcoSport 1.0 EcoBoost UK first drive review

    First drive
    28 July 2014 2:48pm

    Ford’s Fiesta-on-stilts compact SUV is appealing, although it is less interesting to drive than it is to look at

  • Volkswagen Amarok Canyon first drive review

    Volkswagen Amarok Canyon first drive review

    First drive
    28 July 2014 9:16am

    Limited-edition Canyon version of Volkswagen's Amarok pick-up looks brutish, but remains a practical and well-equipped choice

  • Jaguar F-type R coupe

    Jaguar F-type R coupe

    Car review
    25 July 2014

    Most powerful Jaguar F-type coupé is sensational to drive, with even better driving dynamics than its convertible sibling

  • BMW X4 UK first drive review

    BMW X4 UK first drive review

    First drive
    25 July 2014

    The new X4 makes a more usable proposition for British roads than the larger X6, but this SUV lacks all-round ability

Latest videos