Aston Martin DB9 video review

The default player for use in the video section of the Drupal Autocar site.

Review 17 October 2012

The new Aston Martin DB9 gets styling cues from the Virage, and retains the 6.0-litre V12 but now in 510bhp tune. So has it moved on enough to justify its £132k price and rationalise the Aston range? Steve Sutcliffe finds out.

Join the debate

Comments
5

Even at................?

1 year 45 weeks ago

£132K it's still dear for what it is,£50K less gets you the same if not more performance,so i guess it's the interioryour paying for,oh, and the name.

Peter Cavellini.

"This car feels a million

1 year 45 weeks ago

"This car feels a million dollars, inside" - including the late-'90s Jag/Ford parts bin column stalks?

"£132K it's still dear for

1 year 45 weeks ago

"£132K it's still dear for what it is,£50K less gets you the same if not more performance" 

It is clear some people miss the point of the DB9 completely . 

All you have to do is ask yourself what sort of person would buy this car and why, then you have all the answers you will ever need to understand the DB9 and also why it's price is spot on.

If you can't afford the good value £132.000 DB9 then why not buy the expensive Jag, but it would be best to avoid eye contact with anyone driving a DB9.

No, don't buy the Jag, buy a used DB9 and save yourself any possible embarrassment or feelings of envy and inadequacy!

This revised DB9 is probably the classiest, most stylish automobile on the market, pure sophistication in a nutshell. It is so rare for a manufacture to get something so right.

The perfectly balanced Aston Martin.

 

 


 



Sputnik wrote "If you can't

1 year 45 weeks ago

Sputnik wrote

"If you can't afford the good value £132.000 DB9 then why not buy the expensive Jag, but it would be best to avoid eye contact with anyone driving a DB9.

No, don't buy the Jag, buy a used DB9 and save yourself any possible embarrassment or feelings of envy and inadequacy!"

 

I think that'a little harsh.  If I were in the position to be able to afford a 103K Jag XKR-S, I would be over the proverbial moon and thanking my good fortune, but I for one would not feel inadequate, embarrassed or have feelings of envy towards the driver of the DB9.  Both cars, in my opinion, are superb and yes the Aston does have a more elevated position/name in the hierarchy of cars.  If any person were to feel envy if a DB9 pulled up at the lights, then he or she would have bought the Aston in the first place

Absolutely

1 year 36 weeks ago

Awesome. I so want one of these and when my lotto numbers come up, this is where my money's going. All you could ever want from a sports car and the coolest car in the known galaxy.

Aussie Rob - a view from down under

Please register or login to post a comment.

Driven this week

  • Audi TT coupe first drive review

    Audi TT coupe first drive review

    First drive
    2 September 2014 8:32pm

    In most powerful S form, the third-generation Audi TT possesses real dynamic capability and plenty of appeal as a classy premium coupé

  • Volkswagen Golf GTE first drive review

    Volkswagen Golf GTE first drive review

    First drive
    2 September 2014 2:53pm

    New GTE offers the best blend of economy and performance in the Golf range, but could do with more boot space and a lower price

  • BMW X4

    BMW X4

    Car review
    2 September 2014 2:45pm

    The X6 is a showroom hit. Does its smaller brother deserve to be?

  • Porsche Boxster GTS UK first drive review

    Porsche Boxster GTS UK first drive review

    First drive
    1 September 2014

    Go-faster Boxster renders the Boxster S entirely redundant, but not the slower but still sweet basic model

  • BMW M4 convertible first drive review

    BMW M4 convertible first drive review

    First drive
    30 August 2014

    More visceral than the M4 coupé thanks to more audible exhaust and well-controlled swirl of air in the cabin, but dynamics suffer slightly

Latest videos