Aston Martin DB9 video review

The default player for use in the video section of the Drupal Autocar site.

Review 17 October 2012

The new Aston Martin DB9 gets styling cues from the Virage, and retains the 6.0-litre V12 but now in 510bhp tune. So has it moved on enough to justify its £132k price and rationalise the Aston range? Steve Sutcliffe finds out.

Join the debate

Comments
5

Even at................?

1 year 45 weeks ago

£132K it's still dear for what it is,£50K less gets you the same if not more performance,so i guess it's the interioryour paying for,oh, and the name.

Peter Cavellini.

"This car feels a million

1 year 45 weeks ago

"This car feels a million dollars, inside" - including the late-'90s Jag/Ford parts bin column stalks?

"£132K it's still dear for

1 year 45 weeks ago

"£132K it's still dear for what it is,£50K less gets you the same if not more performance" 

It is clear some people miss the point of the DB9 completely . 

All you have to do is ask yourself what sort of person would buy this car and why, then you have all the answers you will ever need to understand the DB9 and also why it's price is spot on.

If you can't afford the good value £132.000 DB9 then why not buy the expensive Jag, but it would be best to avoid eye contact with anyone driving a DB9.

No, don't buy the Jag, buy a used DB9 and save yourself any possible embarrassment or feelings of envy and inadequacy!

This revised DB9 is probably the classiest, most stylish automobile on the market, pure sophistication in a nutshell. It is so rare for a manufacture to get something so right.

The perfectly balanced Aston Martin.

 

 


 



Sputnik wrote "If you can't

1 year 45 weeks ago

Sputnik wrote

"If you can't afford the good value £132.000 DB9 then why not buy the expensive Jag, but it would be best to avoid eye contact with anyone driving a DB9.

No, don't buy the Jag, buy a used DB9 and save yourself any possible embarrassment or feelings of envy and inadequacy!"

 

I think that'a little harsh.  If I were in the position to be able to afford a 103K Jag XKR-S, I would be over the proverbial moon and thanking my good fortune, but I for one would not feel inadequate, embarrassed or have feelings of envy towards the driver of the DB9.  Both cars, in my opinion, are superb and yes the Aston does have a more elevated position/name in the hierarchy of cars.  If any person were to feel envy if a DB9 pulled up at the lights, then he or she would have bought the Aston in the first place

Absolutely

1 year 36 weeks ago

Awesome. I so want one of these and when my lotto numbers come up, this is where my money's going. All you could ever want from a sports car and the coolest car in the known galaxy.

Aussie Rob - a view from down under

Please register or login to post a comment.

Driven this week

  • BMW M4 convertible first drive review

    BMW M4 convertible first drive review

    First drive
    30 August 2014 11:02pm

    More visceral than the M4 coupé thanks to its more audible exhaust and the well-controlled swirl of air in the cabin, but its dynamics suffer slightly for the decapitation

  • Radical RXC

    Radical RXC

    Car review
    29 August 2014

    The Radical RXC offers one of the most extreme driving experiences available on public roads

  • Denza EV first drive review

    Denza first drive review

    First drive
    29 August 2014

    Daimler joint venture with BYD yields this four-door notchback for China, but it's not fast or refined enough to compete on European turf

  • Renault Twingo TCe 90 Dynamique first drive review

    Renault Twingo TCe 90 Dynamique first drive review

    First drive
    28 August 2014

    New city car is entertaining to drive and commendably spacious, although it lacks the refinement of the Volkswagen Up

  • Chevrolet Camaro SS 1LE first drive review

    Chevrolet Camaro SS 1LE first drive review

    First drive
    27 August 2014

    Fast, loud and brash, the race-inspired 1LE option package transforms the standard Chevrolet Camaro into a track-ready pony car

Latest videos