Gary Lord
11 January 2013

What is it?

The Passat is the consummate estate. When Volkswagen signed off the seventh-generation car in 2011, we were happy to give it a worthy four stars and second billing to the Mondeo. The reason the Ford takes top honours for us is that it offers more of a driving experience than the smooth-riding Volkswagen.

Little has happened since, apart from VW introducing this Highline spec (for both estates and saloons) in place of SE, which bows out as the Passat’s best-selling trim option.

What is it like?

However, VW believes that it can entice more patrons to the range with the new Highline since it will be more generously equipped than the SE. Included as standard is a touchscreen sat-nav, 17-inch alloy wheels, front and rear parking sensors, dual-zone climate control and DAB plus Bluetooth connectivity. VW says that the extras work out to be worth £1680, but the new Highline commands just £500 over the SE.

For a car of its size and weight, the diesel BlueMotion Technology offers pretty remarkable economy. However, the new Mazda 6, with its SkyActiv tech, could well equal or better the VW’s impressive ecological credentials when it’s road tested in the UK early this year. The Japanese car also promises to be dynamically more entertaining than the Passat.

Should I buy one?

Clearly, VW knows how to build sporty cars, but the priority with its practical estate is to ensure that it’s a refined and comfortable cruiser. The welcome extra kit in the new Highline model just makes it an even more comfortable place in which to cocoon yourself on Britain’s broken roads.

Volkswagen Passat Highline 2.0 TDI 140 DSG estate

Price £26,045; Top speed 131mph; 0-62mph 9.8sec; Economy 54.3mpg (combined); CO2 135g/km; Kerb weight 1601kg; Engine 4 cyls, 1968cc, turbodiesel; Power 138bhp at 4200rpm; Torque 236lb ft at 1750rpm; Gearbox 6-spd dual-clutch auto

Join the debate

Comments
10

jer

Smooth riding

1 year 33 weeks ago

Counts for a lot, maybe a reason these sell despite being so boring to look at. What Car did a long term comparison between and SE and the Hyundai I40 tourer. What struck me was the Passat using target prices and like for like spec was about 4k more than the i40. I suppose VW also noticed something and hence the highline! Me I'd take a Superb estate.

TS7

A Touran in 5 (or 2) seat

1 year 33 weeks ago

A Touran in 5 (or 2) seat mode makes as good an estate compared to the smaller engined Passats.

Why's the car being tested a

1 year 33 weeks ago

Why's the car being tested a 60-reg?

Great Cars

1 year 33 weeks ago

I've always been quite impressed with the pre-facelift version whenver I've been inside one and this looks to move the game forward. The 2.0 TDI 140 is at its best with the DSG transmission IMO, very nice match. Shame VW are no longer including Leather though as that used to be the main feauture of the Highline but now appears to be a pricey option. 

The Passat is a great car,

1 year 33 weeks ago

The Passat is a great car, well put together and the Diesel models offer amazing fuel consumption...

TS7 wrote: A Touran in 5 (or

1 year 33 weeks ago

TS7 wrote:

A Touran in 5 (or 2) seat mode makes as good an estate compared to the smaller engined Passats.

Agreed, my wife drives a 2012 Touran, better value for money as well.

It annoys me that VW tried to fob this off as Passat 7, when all it is is a facelift, not much really changed.

 

First Drive

1 year 32 weeks ago

Volkswagen have always come up with unqiue easy drive cars and amazing features that always impress me regarding their astehtic sense about manufacturing new cars. However, i would still not been be able to buy this becuase its beyond my pocket. However, once it will be launched and prices will go down, i will surely think about buying it but when it comes to Volkswagen vehicles, prices decrease seldom!!

Christina A. John is an automotive and transportation expert who is familiar for writing best articles about auto carriers. She works with AutoTransportDepot.com

I like it and I will buy one

1 year 27 weeks ago

I like it and I will buy one for sure. wedding speeches

this vw is a stunner

1 year 26 weeks ago

unlike some of the polos and lupos which have not lived up to expectations the passat with car mats should definitely hit the mark. Its interior will be clean as with all volkswagens i would expect.

it looks nice, but the

1 year 14 weeks ago

All the great maid of honor speeches have something in common and this is the template and the structure they all follow. In this article I’ll describe you 4 of the most important tips

Please register or login to post a comment.

Our Verdict

The VW Passat is a competent family car - but does it show any flair?

Driven this week

  • Porsche Boxster GTS UK first drive review

    Porsche Boxster GTS UK first drive review

    First drive
    1 September 2014 10:16am

    Go-faster Boxster renders the Boxster S entirely redundant, but not the slower but still sweet basic model

  • BMW M4 convertible first drive review

    BMW M4 convertible first drive review

    First drive
    30 August 2014

    More visceral than the M4 coupé thanks to more audible exhaust and well-controlled swirl of air in the cabin, but dynamics suffer slightly

  • Radical RXC

    Radical RXC

    Car review
    29 August 2014

    The Radical RXC offers one of the most extreme driving experiences available on public roads

  • Denza EV first drive review

    Denza first drive review

    First drive
    29 August 2014

    Daimler joint venture with BYD yields this four-door notchback for China, but it's not fast or refined enough to compete on European turf

  • Renault Twingo TCe 90 Dynamique first drive review

    Renault Twingo TCe 90 Dynamique first drive review

    First drive
    28 August 2014

    New city car is entertaining to drive and commendably spacious, although it lacks the refinement of the Volkswagen Up