From £26,090
Beefed-up twin-turbo diesel is the perfect complement to the new 3-series coupe.

Our Verdict

The BMW 3-series Coupe is stylish, recently updated and has an unrivalled blend of performance and economy

  • First Drive

    BMW 335i SE Coupe

    Can Munich's revised two-door stay on top of the pile?
  • First Drive

    BMW 335d SE coupe

    Beefed-up twin-turbo diesel is the perfect complement to the new 3-series coupe.
1 November 2006

Join the debate

Comments
16

3 December 2007

this is my desperate wanted. like it so much !!!


4 December 2007

I have one and it really is a flying machine. The only change I would make would be to fit normal tyres and a space saver. Runflats ruin the ride and handling on rougher British roads and if they get a puncture the stealers want over £300 to replace (we don't repair runflats Sir!).

Between 2000rpm and 4250rpm I have only been in a handful of cars which can overtake more quickly. None of them get close to my average 35mpg!

12 December 2007

And still people want silly gutless petrol engines in their cars.

Perhaps they drive them only on track days,when a petrol may be preferable,I would'nt know,I've not driven on a track since I grew up.

I do drive on roads however,and any serious road car,intended for journeys over 50 miles,will have a deisel engine,won't it.

robin

12 December 2007

I own a 335d M sport Touring which I have had chipped by DMS to about 340bhp.

This is the first diesel car that I have owned and I can honestly say that I don`t miss my Audi RS6 that I traded in for.

I reckon that this car must be doing 0-60 in about 5secs and 0-100 in about 12 or maybe less.

With over 500ft lbs of torque available the mid range performance is simply phenomenal for an oil burner and I get about 32mpg driving it pretty brisquely.

I actually had a bit of fun with an Audi RS4 the other day on a motorway somewhere in Europe and he only just had the edge on me between 70 and xxxmph!

I can`t think of a better car to own which combines practicality and a bit of fun, unless, of course, BMW would like to slot in a 400+ bhp V8 oil burner into a 5 series.

21 July 2009

from experience a 335 is far quicker, far better to drive and less of a 'company car' in my opinion as most fleets now provide the option of audis.

the A5 is better looking but I'd go for the 335 BMW all day long.

26 July 2009

I have to disagree.I have sold my 335se because of the appalling ride and inability to put the power down. These chipped tractors will be deathtraps in the winter unless an LSD is fitted and your RS4 will be a speck in the distance. As for Company car' well, the three series is the most popular company car so can't buy that.

8 August 2009

I completely disagree! I have just disposed of my Audi a5 3.0 tdi quattro and replaced it with a V8 engined Audi S5. Why? The diesel was superb and almost as rapid but it simply did nothing for me in terms of the emotional enjoyment of motoring. As a lover of cars, the sound and feel of an engine has always been a vital element for me. Initially, I felt the tdi could achieve that as the best sounding diesel I had ever heard. But after a year and 10,000 miles it began to leave me cold. Yes, I know the S5 drinks fuel by comparison but I think that cost is worth it. The engine is creamy and makes the best noise I have ever heard from a V8, as well as giving instant response and solid delivery throughout the power range which runs to 7500 rpm. Oh, and why an audi and not a 335i? Simple. As a previous dedicated disciple of BMW the arrival of Chris Bangle changed everything as he introduced a range of the ugliest cars I have ever seen (eg the 1 series which looks like a warthog on steroids, the 3 series saloon a bread bin which has been kicked around on a council estate etc). OK the coupe is to me the best looking but it is utterly bland compared to the Audi. And to cap it all, he turned their interiors into an environment you wouldn't expect to find on a vauxhall nova. Sure, they are probably still in extremis the best to drive (just) but, in the real world, most people wouldn't know the difference, so why miss out on the obvious advantage of 4 wheel drive?

8 August 2009

search at edmunds.com for more info!

17 August 2009

I really cant see the point in having a BMW, whatever the model. It does absolutely nothing for me. If I'm after a German make, The BMW isnt even on my list

8 September 2009

A friend of mine is only getting 7,000 miles out of his tyres on a 335d. BMW aren't interested in the problem yet he doesn't seem to drive it particularly hard. Do other owners have similar experiences?

Pages

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • First Drive
    22 December 2014
    Entry-level diesel MPV shares its three-cylinder engine with Mini but, due to long gearing, lacks the authoritative punch of a convincing premium product
  • Car review
    17 December 2014
    The replacement for the CL grand tourer has some big boots to fill
  • Mercedes-Benz CLS 350 AMG Line Shooting Brake review
    First Drive
    16 December 2014
    Elegant, alluring and with some welcome improvements, but not good enough to lead the class
  • First Drive
    15 December 2014
    Hushed, flexible and remarkable value for money. Arguably more fit-for-purpose than any other ‘S’.
  • 2015 Mazda CX-3 review
    First Drive
    12 December 2014
    The Mazda CX-3 has style and substance, and deserves consideration for anyone wanting a compact urban SUV. Here’s hoping Mazda gets the price and equipment right