Nic Cackett
1 May 2012

What is it?

The business class 320d. The version we road tested in February is all well and good for the punters, but even as we lavished it with stars, BMW had this, the EfficientDynamics model, gently warming up in the trouser press for its corporate debut.

Despite looking for all the world like a regular 320d (there is no badging to distinguish the car from its stablemate) the ED is in fact a wheeled loophole intended to help its buyers circumvent as much of the government’s company car tax rules as possible.

It does this by playing the now-familiar technical trump card; output from the 2.0-litre diesel engine is reduced to 161bhp from 181bhp, the six-speed manual gearbox’s ratios have been lengthened, internal friction has been further reduced, ancillary power consumption has been revised and, most importantly, smaller 16-inch aerodynamic alloys have been fitter under the arches.

The result is a drop in CO2 emissions from an already impressive 120g/km to a positively tree-hugging 109g/km. Not only does this drop the ED into a lowly 15 per cent tax band under the latest rules, it also ensures that businesses which purchase outright will be able to write off 100 per cent of the cost against tax in the first year.

What’s it like?

Much as you’d expect; a BMW 320d with some of the starch taken out. Fortunately, there was such an excess of starch to begin with that there really isn’t much of a penalty to pay for the ED’s fiscal finesse.

The 20bhp reduction in power means that even in its Sport mode (BMW’s selectable Drive Performance Control comes as standard) there’s a marginal decline in top-end urgency, which translates into a half-a-second deficiency in the 0-62mph sprint.

Nevertheless, that still means that the ED is capable of breaking the tape in an athletic 8.0 seconds, and with the same 280lb ft of torque available from 1750rpm as before, the car very rarely (if ever) feels like a feeble low-emission special.

Indeed, it’s a measure of the model’s class-leading chassis credentials that nudging it into Sport remains a compelling option - one arguably bolstered by the new wheels, which with a more generous profile and no run-flat rubber, offer a further layer of polish to the 3-series’ already exemplary ride quality.

The same gently heightened sense of comfort is noticeable in the car’s default Eco Pro setting, where a remapped throttle and gearshift indicator help stretch the 320d’s claimed fuel economy from 61.4mpg to a best-in-segment 68.9mpg. (To put that in perspective, the VW Passat Bluemotion manages the same return, but only from a 1.6-litre diesel engine with just 104bhp.)

Should I buy one?

Yes, definitely. With unerring accuracy, BMW constructed an ideal (as it stands at the moment among its peers, virtually perfect) machine for fleet managers and tax-shy execs. They’ve even brought it to market at the same price as the 320d SE, and added the eight-speed automatic option which its customer base apparently craved.

However, if your pride and joy is not subject to company car rules, you should pause before jumping on the bandwagon. Certainly the drop in CO2 emissions is going to benefit you too, but only to the tune of £10 a year, and our long-term experience with the standard engine has already proven it capable of 60-plus mpg without the need to deduct any of its potential energy.

If it were our money on the line, we’d pony up an extra tenner for added thrust, prettier wheels and the quiet satisfaction of experiencing one of the decade’s finest at its undiluted best. But that’s just us.

BMW 320d EfficientDynamics

Price: £28,080; 0-62mph: 8.0 seconds; Top speed: 143mph; Economy: 68.9mpg; Co2: 109g/km; Kerbweight: 1490kg; Engine type, cc: 1995cc turbo diesel, four-cylinder; Power: 161bhp; Torque: 280lb ft; Gearbox: Six-speed manual

Read the What Car? verdict: BMW 320d EfficientDynamics

Join the debate

Comments
75

Re: BMW 320d ED

1 year 51 weeks ago

Nice colour. What's up with BMW, surely a press car should be silver, or black, or white..

Re: BMW 320d ED

1 year 51 weeks ago

This sounds an impressive addition with some cost benefits but I am interested to know whether in addition to the ride benefit, there is any noise benefit. Can't remember what the road test said for the cooking 320d but here's hoping.

Re: BMW 320d ED

1 year 51 weeks ago

Don't get me wrong, these figures are very impressive, but I was expecting an improvement over the last one.

Re: BMW 320d ED

1 year 51 weeks ago

Autocar wrote:
Much as you’d expect; a BMW 320d with some of the starch taken out. Fortunately, there was such an excess of starch to begin with that there really isn’t much of a penalty to pay for the ED’s fiscal finesse.
er, what?

Re: BMW 320d ED

1 year 51 weeks ago

Smaller wheels and proper tyres seem to be the most impressive bit here. I wonder how much of the CO2 improvement is down to them?

Re: BMW 320d ED

1 year 51 weeks ago

Clearly their marketing department have been listening to what their customers have been telling them and produced the ideal car.

Personally does little for me but if I were a rep covering the motorways of the UK, then I'd want one too.

 

 

It's all about the twisties........

Re: BMW 320d ED

1 year 51 weeks ago

".......to a best-in-segment 68.9mpg" in the real world it'll get no where near it.

One worrying fact in the review was the car now has less power and higher gear ratio's, these two facts, especially combined, usually only take away from the driving pleasure.

 

Hydrogen cars just went POP

Re: BMW 320d ED

1 year 51 weeks ago

Test drove the old model about a year ago when I was due to change but the lease cost was strangely very high ,was a nice drive though and and no drive train shudder even at low revs e.g 1500-1600rpm ,on spec though didn`t come close to the CC ,I definately would take another look though...

Re: BMW 320d ED

1 year 51 weeks ago

Autocar wrote:

What is it?

The business class 320d. The version we road tested in February is all well and good for the punters, but even as we lavished it with stars, BMW had this, the EfficientDynamics model, gently warming up in the trouser press for its corporate debut.

Despite looking for all the world like a regular 320d (there is no badging to distinguish the car from its stablemate) the ED is in fact a wheeled loophole intended to help its buyers circumvent as much of the governm...Read the full article

Middle management car justification,reduce the tax bits,and hey presto....a BMW for the image seekers.

Peter Cavellini.

jer

Re: BMW 320d ED

1 year 51 weeks ago

Great company car I like to sound of back to the future with the ride, wonder if the lower grip levels make for more entertainment? Having seen a few on the roads to my eyes it looks bland and similar to the last model at the rear and a 5 in profile. The new nose is marginally more distinctive but that's about it.

Please register or login to post a comment.

Our Verdict

BMW 3-series

The BMW 3-series' outstanding performance and handling complete a consummate all-rounder

Driven this week

  • Mercedes-Benz E-class E400 AMG Sport Plus coupe first drive review

    Mercedes-Benz E-class E400 AMG Sport Plus coupe first drive review

    First drive
    25 April 2014 12:02am

    Luxury rear-drive coupé aims to appeal to keener drivers with a 329bhp twin-turbo petrol V6 and a host of AMG upgrades

  • Peugeot 308 e-THP 130 first drive review

    Peugeot 308 e-THP 130 first drive review

    First drive
    23 April 2014

    New three-cylinder petrol performs well in the 308, adding extra appeal to this stylish and upmarket family hatch

  • Audi R8 e-tron

    Audi R8 e-tron

    Car review
    23 April 2014

    We test the prototype all-electric Audi R8 that's capable of 0-62mph in 4.2sec, with an optimum range of 124 miles and a charging time of less than one hour

  • 2014 Volkswagen Polo first drive review

    2014 Volkswagen Polo first drive review

    First drive
    22 April 2014

    Clever tech makes the Polo more economical, cleaner and safer, while new engines offer greater refinement but no more driving involvement

  • Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV

    Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV

    Car review
    17 April 2014

    Can this plug-in hybrid SUV do more than just cut your tax bill?