Currently reading: British GP preview - Silverstone picture special
The Northamptonshire circuit is hosting the British Grand Prix for the 50th time this weekend, having first staged the race in 1948

Silverstone will host its 50th grand prix race on Sunday, joining Monaco, Monza, Nürburgring and Spa-Francorchamps as the only tracks to have staged a half-century of events.

The circuit hosted its first RAC International Grand Prix in 1948 and was the venue for the first-ever round of the Formula One World Championship in 1950.

The Northants track often shared the race with other circuits, with Aintree holding five races between 1955 and 1962, and Brands Hatch alternating with Silverstone between 1964 and 1986.

Since 1987, however, Silverstone has exclusively hosted the British Grand Prix, even stepping in to save the race when F1 commercial chief Bernie Ecclestone gave the grand prix contract to Donington Park, which then hit financial problems.

Silverstone's layout has changed considerably over the years, with the high-speed blast around the former airfield perimeter roads being replaced in the 1990s by a slower but more technical track.

Then, in 2010 and 2011, the circuit was completely revamped to bring the facility completely up to date with modern F1 standards.

British drivers who have won at Silverstone are: Peter Collins (1958), Jim Clark (1963, 1965, 1967), Sir Jackie Stewart (1969, 1971), James Hunt (1977), John Watson (1981), Nigel Mansell (1987, 1991, 1992), Damon Hill (1994), Johnny Herbert (1995), David Coulthard (1999, 2000) and Lewis Hamilton (2008).

See our picture gallery for highlights from each of Silverstone's 50 grands prix.

Get the latest car news, reviews and galleries from Autocar direct to your inbox every week. Enter your email address below:

Add a comment…